We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Twin Islands to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Twin Islands
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   539 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
wv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

I have read the bad reviews. Some people always have to whine. We have stayed there the last two trips down and we enjoy the place. We did have difficulty with the fireplace staying on the last time we were there but maintenance showed up within 5 minutes. The room was clean. The jacuzzi was clean. The place is quiet except for the wonderful sound of the river right out the back door. It is an older place, I remember it being there when I was a kid.
The staff are all great. When spring arrives, and we get the bike moving we will be staying again, We could also enjoy Breakfast at the Atrium at the Crossroads Best Western with a discount. We have started eating breakfast there instead of the "Big Favorite" up town. The breakfast at the Atrium is better and we have never had to stand in line for an hour(that is just plain stupid).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    169
    114
    48
    32
See reviews for
192
215
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel three times over the past few years and plan on staying here again. I've read some of the negative reviews, and I have never experienced any of those problems! The hotel is very close to the aquarium, so you are within easy walking distance to everything in Gatlinburg! The pirate ship playground is wonderful if you have small children! The only negative thing I could really say about this hotel is that the rooms are not very large, but they are clean! It is a older hotel, but that is part of the charm of the place! The way the hotel is arranged, it is very quiet at night even though you are in town! The grounds are beautiful, with lots of flowers, and listening to the river and watching the ducks are a real treat!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We researched hotels in Gatlinburg pretty thoroughly and thought we had picked one that had decent reviews. This hotel is badly in need of an updating. We were given a "jacuzzi suite" (which we didn't ask for) which was nothing more than an added on room at the back of the building witha jacuzzi tub and really bad ceramic tile flooring. Also loved the cobwebs hanging from the corner of the ceiling. Can you guess we didn't use the jacuzzi? The room also needed a good cleaning - maybe a little vacuuming in the corners would have been nice. I hated to walk across the carpeting without socks. Wiping the back splash on the bathroom sinks would help too. I thought it looked dirty and wiped it with a piece of wet tissue - filthy. Good points for the hotel - good shower and towels, 2 separate sink areas and a decent bed. Location wasn't bad but it was a walk to get to the really busy main downtown area. If you want to go to the Aquarium it was right next door. One other important point - we booked online months in advance since we knew it would be a busy time. We picked up one of those discount hotel books at the visitor center and found an ad for the hotel at $30 less if you just walked in. Of course they wouldn't give us that price and said the hotel was at capacity so there were no rooms. Funny how they had the "vacancy" sign lit the whole time we were there!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed in the “family Apartment” with family friends (4 adults, 3 kiddos). 2 Bedrooms, 3 beds, a sofa bed (I think), Living room, Full Kitchen, & dining area. ONLY 1 BATHROOM!!!!!! The furnishings were dated, bedrooms were cramped, living area sat 4 or 5 at most, the dining table was wobbly, the ceiling angles caused many a headache, etc… Did I mention only 1 bathroom??? This was clearly an attic space that was converted to an apartment. I don’t mind dated, however the staff “sold” this family apartment as more than it is! You pay a premium for the location. Save some money rent a roomy cabin & pay to park in Gatlinburg!! You’ll be happy you did!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

The first room we were assigned was nice enough with two queen beds, then we walked over to the window. That's when my husband noticed movement on the floor. There were at least a dozen large black ants on top of watermelon seeds. When I went closer, they all scattered and went under the bed...giant YUCK. So if there are watermelon seeds in the middle of the floor, how could they have vacuumed?? We were then assigne a room in another old, old section of the hotel. Very small, musty and the window air conditioner could not get the room cool. The beds were only doubles. When we complained, nothing was done....no price reduction and they said they were out or rooms with queen beds. I didn't even want to be in this hotel after the ant incident but it was too late in the day. Thank goodness it was only for one night!!! I will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

I usually read reviews before I book an unknown hotel and was nervous about this one. Stayed 2 nights on "Honeymoon Island" in a king roon wiith a whirlpool. Yes, this is an older hotel. Yes, it could use some updating but I haven't seen a hotel in one of these towns that didn't. Within walking distance of a lot of stuff including the cheap (price) trolley. We will stay here again and won't complain about the low water level in the river like a previous poster did..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed at Twin Islands for two nights on vacation last summer to tour the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Thankfully, we spent most of our time at the park. The room smelled musty and although appeared clean, the smell made it feel dirty. Having a patio outside our door was nice, but the water level was so low that the "creek" was really just a bunch of stones, although my kids did like the ducks that wandered the property. The outdoor pool was small, but adequate enough for my kids. Even had a shallow toddler pool. The staff was friendly. All in all, it was an average hotel. You could walk to all of the attractions in Gatlinburg from the hotel. If you just want a place to sleep while you explore the park, this one is okay, but as we explored the town, seems like there would have been nicer places to stay. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Twin Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Address: 539 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Twin Islands 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the stunning Great Smoky Mountains National Park, your Gatlinburg hotel offers a great location as well as the best amenities. Enjoy a playground on the property, ideal for families traveling with kids. The Little Pigeon River runs completely around the property, with a river walk on site. The concrete walk around the river is ideal for a romantic evening stroll or to instantly get in touch with nature. A picnic area with grills completes this picture of perfection, and is a big reason why this Gatlinburg hotel is a favorite in the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Twin Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Twin Islands Hotel Gatlinburg
Best Western Hotel Gatlinburg
Best Western Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Twin Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.