We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Twin Islands to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Twin Islands
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   539 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
ST, Anthony Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not much choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You really don't have much choice where to stay and all the hotels in the area are about the same. The beds were ok, had refrigerator. the staff was friendly could only stay there three nights as the room was booked for someone else later, This was the norm in the area we spent a week and stayed in three hotels you have to call ahead far in advance to book for a whole stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    169
    114
    48
    32
See reviews for
192
216
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in a king-sized bed room on the river. The room was awesome. The service at the front desk was impeccable! The hot breakfast was extremely good and much better than most hotels we have stayed at. The hotel is located right at the aquarium and it is within walking distance of several worthwhile things to do. The bed was extremely comfortable. The a/c-heat actually kept the room extremely comfortable the whole night. We never ran out of hot water in the shower, which was awesome! Overall an excellent hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Stay on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We've been staying at the Best Western Twin Islands for over 10 years and are never disappointed with our stay. To be honest, this place is an OLD hotel, and has never been updated to my knowledge, so if that sort of thing bothers you--look somewhere else. However, the rooms are clean, comfortable, and you really can't ask for a better location--they are right in the center of Gatlinburg and within easy walking distance to Ripley's Aquarium, restaurants, and shopping. This year my sister, niece, and I "upgraded" ourselves into one of the cottage rooms that has a separate living/dining area. We were in the "Bears Den" and we were on the ground floor right on the river. We checked in on Sunday, March 24--and we arrived at 1:45 hoping to be able to check in at 2pm. However, we were delayed by about 15 minutes since the previous guests had left late and decided to kick a hole in one of the bed room walls. It was a small hole, and the staff were VERY apologetic about it. We were just wanting to get settled, so we told them to not worry about it. The beds were 2 doubles, and very comfortable. The bathroom was a standard hotel bathroom--but it was nice to have 2 separate sinks--on in the dressing area and one in the bathroom. The kitchen was nice and small, and we really did not use it as much as we thought we would--none of us felt like cooking much after each day's activities. The kitchen is stocked with all the basics, but do check for a can opener. While this room was a perfect size for 2 adults and a small child, I do not see it being comfortable for more than 4 people--especially if they are adults. It was nice to let the 3 year old take a nap and the adults could be in the next room and talk/watch tv/ whatever without worrying about disturbing her. What was really a deal maker for this place is the lovely playground with very nice equipment: there were several swing sets and slides along with a neat little pirate ship/fort that the 3 year old loved playing in when the weather allowed for it. The cable was standard--let's face it, you aren't going to be watching tv that much--but I can say the internet was touch and go for us. It could be that our cottage was extremely far from the main desk area, so we just were not getting that good of a signal--my laptop worked better than my sister's did. It's fast enough to get you surfing the net, but you can forget about trying to play games. Besides the staff being super friendly and helpful (they got me a few extra blankets when I happened to mention I was cold) they also refunded our last nights stay--since I came down with a bad cold and we had to leave a day earlier than planned. For that reason alone, we will be returning to Best Western Twin Islands.

Room Tip: Definitely try one of the cottages! It's worth the small upgrade price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here in March as a late Winter/early Spring vacation. The service is great and the rooms are great for a very reasonable price. There were only two complaints; breakfast was good but not great and definitely not worth rushing around in the morning for, and the wi-fi was AWFUL! My 3G in the mountains was better. Overall, I would reccomend to anyone staying in Gatlinburg. It's close to the shops and is great place to park and just walk to all the shops and food on the main strip. Also, a super short drive if you are looking to head into the mountains. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Easter. Very spacious room. Did not try buffet. We would stay here again. Easy check in and check out! The location is great and easy to get anywhere!
The room are nothing fancy, but very clean. We had a problem with the cable stations and within 5 minutes the maintenance guy was there! Very friendly staff!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed for two night getaway. The hotel is older, as are most in this price range. The room, though clearly older, was clean and nicely made up. The king bed was quite comfortable. What really annoyed me were the low ceilings, lack of natural light, and the industrial feel of the bathroom. We had a ground floor room in Duck's Landing. There were a few ducks, not enough to be annoying. The river was very pretty but the building on the other side was a bit dilapidated ad several stories tall. It felt claustrophobic and no doubt contributed to the darkness in the room. More about that....there were two wide and short windows, one in front and one in back. One pane on each window was filled in with plywood painted black. I have no idea why. There was a picture window and door at the back but it still felt very closed in. Slightly depressing. On a positive not, the hotel is in an excellent location, right in the middle of all the action. The breakfast was pretty good..scrambled eggs, muffins, waffles, cereals, fruit, etc. Coffee not great? The staff was nice enough. It seemed like all the maids walked around with cigarettes hanging out of their mouths but I guess that is irrelevant. If I ever go back to Gatlinburg I will probably try a newer hotel and pay a little more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haubstadt, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel has a great location, just north of main strip in Gatlinburg. We were able to walk to most places (even the Air Tram) from our hotel with our 6 and 7 year old. The hotel itself has great ammenities, including a free breakfast with a few warm items and your usual continental items as well. The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable, however our room did look aged and needed a bit of TLC. The door stuck when opening and closing, and the toilet did not flush right. Easy things to fix. One of the really nice things about this hotel is that for us, we did not hear ANY noise from neighbors through the night, even though the state FFA convention was in town the same week we were there. The walls are brick, and I wonder if this had something to do with it. All the staff we encountered was great, and very friendly. The only issue we really had was the wear and tear the room looked like it had. It was colder when we went, so the kids did not get to use the outside areas much, but the river was great to walk along, and my kids were dying to play on the playground and swim in the pool!

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms have patios on the river. It was nice to be right there and not have to go down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Twin Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Twin Islands

Address: 539 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Twin Islands 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the stunning Great Smoky Mountains National Park, your Gatlinburg hotel offers a great location as well as the best amenities. Enjoy a playground on the property, ideal for families traveling with kids. The Little Pigeon River runs completely around the property, with a river walk on site. The concrete walk around the river is ideal for a romantic evening stroll or to instantly get in touch with nature. A picnic area with grills completes this picture of perfection, and is a big reason why this Gatlinburg hotel is a favorite in the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Twin Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Twin Islands Hotel Gatlinburg
Best Western Hotel Gatlinburg
Best Western Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Twin Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.