We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Within Walking Distance of Gatlinburg Downtown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Hemlock Street, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Within Walking Distance of Gatlinburg Downtown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was a solid value for the price. It is located on city walk "2" in downtown Gatlinburg. You can literally walk into town in just 25 min. and not have to worry about overpriced parking. Furthermore, there is a the Gatlinburg FREE shuttle bus to utilize should you tire. The rooms are one of the largest available through the Red Roof properties. Super idea for a family of four as kids don't get in the way. Something unheard of during vacation hotel hopping.

Breakfast is offered and is accompanied by waffles, biscuits and gravy, cereals and such. The first breakfast I encountered that lasts till 10:00 am! Great for those who are not up at the crack of dawn.

Rooms are a bit old and don't match site pictures. Not on the regular rate anyway. Possibly the suites offer a bit more luxury. Could not get over the musty "old building smell" that seemed to permeate everything even the walkways. Did ask the management about this and they said they have been having quite a bit of rain lately. I'm not sure if this is the case.

Another patron suggested a can of Febreeze as they were having the same issues.

Also, this is not the typical FREE pet stay at the Red Roof advertised. I was shocked to see another pet fee included in my check out bill. They allow ONE pet UNDER 75lb.

Great views from the balcony!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_740, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you Valerie for choosing to stay with us and post your review. I appreciate that you enjoyed are large rooms & close proximity to Gatlinburg-Downtown . We are in process of updating are property. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    75
    42
    27
    34
See reviews for
115
94
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

well every red roof inn I stayed at was fully upgrade red roof inn said all rooms all hotels by 2013 summer and winter all properties but this is one probably was just bought so new beds I just got here at 4.00 pm today and I thought it was going to be a nightmare from the reviews I was nervous and from the pics but I asked the guy first he said all new beds carpet clean I don't understand because some review said watch the spongy carpet what spongy carpet now all mountains hotels have a lot of moisture and every ones room we talked had that mildew smell typical for mountains what my mom said everybody says just go down the street go by Febreeze u will be all good.

the bad part there putting a new roof on the property
2nd the elevator needs to have a deep cleaning it looks like they just bought this place
3rd the furniture is like 1990s or 80s but everything else is okay I would stay here again but when fully upgraded

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_740, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us . We are upgrading are property as you said.Since last two months it is raining heavily & we are not able to keep up with , so is the delay in completing the New roof. We are looking forward to see you here when lot of up- gradation is done.Thank's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well we decided to go down to Gatlinburg for a small stay for winterfest.We arrived late so we went to check in,the desk clerk was a little rude but still.Then we went to our room,the room was like a 70's theme but still very clean it also had a nice fireplace.Beds were OK,then we went to breakfast and it was good,and then we checked out so all in all another nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_740, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for taking time & letting us know your experience during you stay with us. I sorry for the behavior of the front desk, we will train them better to serve better. I appreciate that you found rest of your stay satisfied . Thank you and comeback and see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the 4th of July holiday. Based on the pictures on the website and the reviews here being inconsistent about whether or not the hotel was in good condition, we decided to take a chance. When we arrived, the room smelled like pet urine and cigarette smoke. The walls were stained, and the ceiling was peeling. The bathroom sink and tub had chipped enamel which was not only dirty, but unsafe. The included breakfast was a waffle maker, biscuits & gravy, or cereal (the containers were empty while we were in there). The room did have a new mattress - but it was odd that the mattress was the only update in the room.

Unfortunately, other hotels in Gatlinburg were sold out for the holiday, so we did stay at the Red Roof for the first night of our four-night trip. However, we spent that time searching and calling other hotels to find somewhere else to stay for the rest of the weekend. We checked out immediately the next morning and moved to the Fairfield Inn & Suites. It was $10 more per night and was significantly cleaner with better amenities. I highly recommend it.

I know Red Roof is going through a brand upgrade and renovation. Either this hotel hasn't been touched yet or they aren't really doing anything significant to improve the brand. I will not be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_740, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality you anticipated. I understand from your review that you were not satisfied with your stay with us . Let me tell you that we are upgrading our property . Part of upgrading we have installed new 40" LED TV & Mattresses in all the rooms, we are half way through putting new roof & more to come.
Again, thank you very much for your review and we sincerely hope that you will provide us a future opportunity to regain your confidence while visiting our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Red Roof Inn is tucked away on a side street off the main Parkway in Gatlinburg. Surrounded on three sides by forest. A steep hill, leads to a very small front parking lot. The lone ADA parking spot in front, is next to the office, which is completely separate from the rest of the hotel. Check-in was fine, staff was friendly, Office has a coffee area, and a computer with printer in one corner. Elevators are off to the side of the office, as well as the rusty luggage carts. We had requested a Superior King room and were pleasantly surprised when we were given a Egyptian "themed" room with a King bed. The room itself was very spacious, and had a wrap-around balcony over looking the parking lot. Bed was new, pillow-top, very comfortable. New, 42" LED TV, although kinda oddly, had HD channels, yet wasn't hooked up with HD cables. Room also had a microwave, AC unit, mini-fridge(that didn't work very well & had a broken knob), two sinks. Bathroom was ok. Toilet had a odd counter on the back of it that didn't let the seat go all the way back. Marble shower/tub, broken hair dryer, good water pressure. Bedroom decor was of the Egyptian/Persian theme. Different throws on the wall, faux silk fabric wrapping the walls, wicker chairs, various themed vases and floor items. Plush carpet. Room doesn't have ethernet ports, just Wi-Fi. About the Wi-Fi. In all my years of travelling this was by far, the worst Wi-Fi I have EVER used. Dial-up type speed, and kept going out every few minutes, never had signal for more than ten minutes. At one point, had to hijack the Days Inn across the rivers Wi-Fi and it lasted about a half hour. For the most part, my smartphones 3G network was faster and more reliable. When I called to ask why the internet was so bad, the woman at the front desk said it was " the clouds" that made it so unreliable, only problem was in was sunny, not a cloud in the sky. Also, the parking was atrocious, We have an ADA placard and there was only one space within reasonable distance from our room, and it was either full or had a car permanently parked in the loading zone that made access from the side, impossible. Last thing, the biggest thing that is responsible for this low score, is that upon cleaning our room up for check out. We noticed there were blood stains on the mattress, yes blood stains. Just ruined the entire room for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_740, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am very sorry that you had such a bad experience during your stay with us. Good or bad, we still like to hear from our guests about how we performed. In your case, not well at all. Please accept our apologies and know that we have sufficient ADA parking on fourth floor. Stain on box spring are of coffee stains may be spilled by previous guest , which we are taking care of it . There is always need for improvement in the property which we are doing it from time to time.Thank you for your comments. Again, I do apologize
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

After a short conversation with a desk clerk I learned that The Red Roof Inn bought the property and are in the process of renovating. You can see the changes they have made. We had a standard room with a fireplace (which we did not need as it was summer). The room was much roomier than most and every room has a balcony. Our room was clean and the carpet looked almost new. The beds were comfortable and the shower had clearly recently been redone. We used a roll away and although not perfect, it was in much better condition than some others we have seen. We were not charged for the roll-away. I would give 5 stars but some areas still need attention (I know they are working on it). The enamel on the sink was chipping away and some of the furniture is dated. The breakfast area could use some AC and renovation. The pool area was clean but the white pool furniture needs a good cleaning. There were a couple of areas like an old koi pond that needed attention. The desk staff was super nice. I noticed that the hotel is pet friendly... I don't know if any pets had ever been in our room; if they had we couldn't tell. The hotel is a good walking distance from the main attractions but the trollies run frequently. I personally liked the offset location for some peace and quiet after a day on the strip. I wish I had photos to share but totally forgot to take them while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_740, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we're so glad that you enjoyed their stay with us. We have ongoing
renovation going on to make sure our guest get a comfortable stay with us now and in future . We look forward to your next stay with us & give us five star.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I booked this room about a month in advance, and were able to save around $20 by paying in advance. We wanted a pet-friendly hotel, within walking distance of the main strip, and hopefully with a continental breakfast. This hotel provided all of the above, as well as a very friendly and helpful staff. The room itself was outdated, but more importantly, it was clean, quiet, and spacious. We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night, and would certainly stay again. Price was reasonable too. If you complain about the walk to downtown, then you are not doing your due diligence to check its location on the map. If you don't want to walk, the trolley is only a 30 second walk away. We planned on walking, so that was no issue for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_740, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank You Kylee Manet for taking time to review us & choosing us for your stay in Red Roof Gatlinburg . This year we have put New Mattresses & 40' LED TV and more upgrade coming soon . Hopefully we will see you soon when you are back in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg

Address: 401 Hemlock Street, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Gatlinburg Aquarium is located near Great Smoky Mountain National Park, the busiest of all national parks with over 9 million visitors each year. The park offers endless outdoor activities such as downhill snow skiing, class IV whitewater rafting, golf, hiking options from 600 miles of trails, and fishing in hundreds of miles of streams. Relax at Red Roof Gatlinburg Aquarium while you’re enjoying all Gatlinburg’s restaurants, family fun museums (such as Ripley’s Believe It or Not and Hollywood Star Car Museum), Dollywood Amusement Park, Splash Country, Dixie Stampede, and many, many other great attractions, fun for young and old. Year round events and concerts combine to make Gatlinburg a true entertainment destination in the beauty of the Smoky Mountains. Come enjoy Gatlinburg and Red Roof Gatlinburg Aquarium’s southern hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn And Suites Gatlinburg - Aquarium
Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg - Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Wildwood Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.