We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Hemlock Street, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great location, walk 1/2 mile to the downtown shops; decent price; pet/dog friendly; nice pool and hot tub. Some reviews for this hotel are not so good; we found it to be a good place and an even better value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    96
    55
    34
    37
See reviews for
141
118
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I'll keep this briefer than most of my reviews. Our room was excellent. Clean and roomy with comfortable bed. It's not the Hilton, but you know that when you book it. It's a great stay for a great value. It's in good proximity to all that's happening in Gatlinburg but put your walking shoes on as it's not right in the middle of the strip. We knew that as well when we booked it so not knocking it. Just know that before you book. Breakfast was served, small continental but ok. Lots of the king suite rooms have a different theme. Ours was like a Samurai/Asian theme. I really don't care about stuff like that, but other people may. Friendly staff. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Beautiful kept grounds, room was nice and clean, pool was cleaned every morning, front desk provided excellent customer service, Breakfast was very good and plentiful, Our room had full kitchen and that was very clean, they even provided pots and pans and utensils and flatware, bed was comfortable. Hotel is in walking distance to all the fun downtown, we walked to everything didn't need to use our car!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in room 411 this weekend and it was very clean. No animal smells or odors.We had a very pleasant stay with no complaints. Very friendly staff and owner. The breakfast was free and saved us money from going out. The pool was clean and best of all the hotel is animal friendly. There is enough parking so I don't understand these bad reviews that I read. I would stay here again and the price was right. For those that wish to stay on the strip or next to the aquarium then pay the price to do so. I will plan several more weekend getaways there.

Thanks,

Jim

Room Tip: Stay in room # 411
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I got 2 adjoining rooms for myself and spouse as well as 3 teens. Paid $60 for the night then when I called to see about staying another night, they tried to change the price to $89 even after I'd already checked in. Finally got that settled. Rooms are old and dated but appeared fairly clean. Location is a long walk to where all the shops and restaurants are. Pool closes at 9:00 (awfully early in the summer months). Elevator was possibly the slowest one I've ever encountered; we were on the 6th floor and the kids would walk down the stairs faster than we could take the elevator. My spouses bed and mine were fine but the teens complained that theirs were rock hard and uncomfortable. I spoke with 3 other families at various times while waiting for the elevator and they all had problems with their rooms smelling of pet urine (Red Roof Inns do allow pets) and hard mattresses. One lady said her husband was a police officer and he had his crime scene blacklight in the car so they used it to check the cleanliness of their room since she was afraid of bedbugs...she was on her way to the lobby to get her money back and leave. I didn't want to know what the black light showed. Eww. The breakfast was nice with waffles and all the other normal stuff. This is a mixed review because of what I heard from other guests and also the need for a major remodel to update the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff City, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

On 6/23/12 I stayed at this hotel with my family. It was a HORRIBLE experience!! The wifi didn't work which my husband needed for his job, there was sawdust all over our floor and bathroom in our room, the pillows were harder than bricks, the air didn't work, and worst of all I awoke in the middle of the night to roaches yes I said roaches crawling on me!! I was mortified!! Needless to say we didn't eat there complimentary breakfast and left ASAP! Corporate needs to step in and fix the issues in this hotel!! They have lost me as a customer!!!! It was just an all around horrible experience!!

Room Tip: Stay at own risk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We booked a 2 queen suite fireplace room for two adults and two small children. Upon arrival we were told their pack and play was unavailable "they only have one".. not a huge problem. However, we get up to our room and it has a musty old aroma, green doors, brown dirty dirty carpet, dirty old brown bedspreads and NO fireplace. We call down to the desk to have the man tell us we are only missing a fireplace and its summer so why do we need one?? Well because we paid for that room, How irritating! He refused to change our rooms insisting we didn't need the fireplace and ontop of it they charged my credit card twice!!! We have backaches from the hard beds and rock hard pillows, parking is horrible and its not close enough to the strip to walk pushing a stroller. Altogether just a horrible place and experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg

Address: 401 Hemlock Street, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg. We are right across " Gatlinburg Mountain Coaster" and also 1.5 Mile near to Great Smoky Mountain National Park, the busiest of all national parks with over 9 million visitors each year. The park offers endless outdoor activities such as downhill snow skiing, class IV whitewater rafting, golf, hiking options from 600 miles of trails, and fishing in hundreds of miles of streams. Relax at Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg while you're enjoying all Gatlinburg's restaurants, family fun museums (such as Ripley's Believe It or Not and Hollywood Star Car Museum), Dollywood Amusement Park, Splash Country, Dixie Stampede, and many, many other great attractions, fun for young and old. Year round events and concerts combine to make Gatlinburg a true entertainment destination in the beauty of the Smoky Mountains. Come enjoy Gatlinburg and Red Roof Gatlinburg Aquarium's southern hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg - Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Red Roof Inn And Suites Gatlinburg - Aquarium
Wildwood Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.