We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Town Village Inn, Gatlinburg, TN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gatlinburg Town Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gatlinburg Town Village to your Saves list
Gatlinburg Town Village
515 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Scottsboro, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at Town Village Inn, Gatlinburg, TN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently stayed at Summer Bay Town Village Inn in Gatlinburg, and from the reviews we read, we were concerned that we might not be able to stay there. I called the motel and talked with the front desk clerk, and she tried to relieve my anxieties. She was correct in her representation. We found the three nights there to be very enjoyable. The staff, (the desk clerks, house keeping, and maintenance personnel) were very friendly and helpful. When we got there, we checked the room out, and the only thing we saw that we needed was more towels. I called the front desk and asked for more. The desk clerk said she would see that we got some but it might be a little while because they were very busy checking everyone in, but in less than five minutes, the maid showed up with more towels. The TV was coming in and out, so we called the desk again and told them about the TV. They said they would have maintenance to check it. Very shortly, the maintenance man came by and said that there was something wrong with the cable and that Charter was working on it. It was nothing wrong with the motel's TV. We called back later, and they said that the cable people were still working on it. The next morning we talked with the Charter Cable guys, and they said the problem should be fixed within an hour, and it was. This was the only problem we encountered, and it was not the motel's fault or Charter's; things just tear up sometimes. We found the room to be very clean. It was not luxurious by any means, but it was fine. The maids came in and cleaned every day and left a very adequate number of clean towels. We were there once when the maid came in, and she did a great job of cleaning and was very friendly and accommodating. My husband chatted with the desk clerks often when he went to sit in the rocking chairs out front, and they were very nice. It was a great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Well, let me start with something positive. The location is the best part about this hotel and the hotel staff we very nice and helpful. These two things are the only reason I gave this hotel 3 stars. Beyond that I'd be hard-pressed to give it two.

We are actually owners at Summer Bay in Orlando, and have been for more than 10 years, but we were asked to come to Gatlinburg for an "Owners Update", and we all know that means they want us to upgrade. (We did not upgrade) Of course, we were given an incentive and that was fine. The problem was where they put us....at the Town Village. With being owners you would have thought they would have put us at the Resort if they wanted us to spend more money.

This is how it went. We arrived late, around 8:00 p.m. I had called, as instructed, and let them know we would arrive late so that wasn't a problem. The woman at the desk was great. Actually, everyone we came in contact with was very nice and helpful. We were given rooms on the second floor. Got our bags out of the car and went to the elevator and it was "OUT OF ORDER". There was caution tape all around it. We were there for 4 days and it stayed "OUT OF ORDER" the entire time and we never saw anyone attempting any repairs. So we walked up the stairs. There is carpet outdoors in front of all the rooms that is beyond NASTY. They'd be better off pulling up all the carpet and just having concrete outside. That would be easier to maintain. Got to our room and opened the door. The room was huge but it smelled terribly of moisture. I never felt comfortable walking in bare feet in the room. There was a gas fireplace in the room, which was really nice, so we used it to try and dry out the room. Of course, it only worked when the fireplace was on. The decor is rather outdated but not appalling. There was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room. The bathroom was only semi-clean. I ended up wiping down the counters and other areas that were dusty and dirty. There were plenty of towels which we were grateful for. Since this is a "hotel" and not a condo, one would expect to have the room serviced. You know, bed made, clean towels, etc. Well, we came out of our room the next morning and there was someone with housekeeping at another room and she asked us if we were doing OK or if we "needed" anything and we said no, that we were fine. Well, that was her queue that she didn't need to do anything to our room, so she didn't. The next day we found clean towels in our room but the bed was never touched the entire time we were there.

Like I said, the best part about this place is the location, and the people that work there. We could basically walk anywhere we wanted from the hotel. After the first day we did drive down to the end of the street and park because we were able to get back to our car easily and drop off packages from our shopping venture. Even with all of the convenience, I'm sorry to say, we probably wouldn't go back to this hotel. We will go back to Gatlinburg!

Room Tip: I'm not sure I can give any tips for a good room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I was scared after reading the reviews, but it wasn't too bad. We booked through the Armed Forces Vacation Club which was an easy process. Our room was located in the motel-style building at the end but that provided privacy for us and the other 2 families. They were in end units with a separate bedroom and large fridge. We had a studio with small fridge in the dinette area. The studio is plenty large for a couple but not so much if there is a 3rd/4th person sleeping on the pull-out couch. We had to rearrange the couch and that gave us a lot more room. There were no amenities in our building but we were able to walk down the street about 1/2 block to the other property and use the pool and fitness room there. The fitness room had 1 bike and 1 treadmill and one of those "total gym"-type pieces of equipment. Pretty sad actually. We didn't use the pool but it is kept locked during closed hours. The location is great. It's about 1/2 mile down the street to the main shopping street but about a 3 mile walk back up the street :-) . Plus, just behind the street is an entrance to the national park. It's a 10-15 min drive to Pigeon Forge and the shows/attractions over there.

Room Tip: Find out which building the room is in. The motel style building is good for groups who may be a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We recently stayed at the Gatlinburg Townsquare Summer Bay Resort using an Interval Int. exchange.
I have been using timeshare exchanges for over 10 years and this was the worst experience I have
ever had. The front desk/check in staff were the most rude and unhelpful front desk I have ever encountered.
Specifically, Becky has no business dealing with the public and has no people skills.
The parking facility is totally unacceptable, especially for anyone handicapped. Out of more than 150 spots
there are only 6 hndcp. spots and 2 of them arn't even close to the elevators. All of the parking spots
are so narrow, you cannot get in and out if cars are parked on both sides.
We were in a 2 bdr.unit and the living room TV had bad speakers with lots of static, kitchen stove burners
not working, shower drips all the time, and clothesdryer was so noisey that we could not hear TV or
carry on a conversation. We also kept getting bit if any bare skin was exposed while sitting on the
couch and we never saw any bedbugs but we think there must be mites or something on the couch
or carpet. I think my biggest complaint was the lack of concern and who cares attitude of any staff
person we had contact with. There must be terrible upper management at this resort and it was the
most unfriendly customer service I have ever experienced at a timeshare. I would never recommend
this place to anyone and if you want a pleasant stay this is not the place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We were enticed to go to Galinburg on a Summer Bay promotion for 5 days 4 nights. When we arrived our room was old and smelled horribly musty so I asked if that was the only room choice we had. The check in clerk was nice and suggested another room. We found that the heater in that room didn't work, so asked for a third try. We finally accepted the 3rd room which was quite small and only had one chair. Everything was very old, carpets stained, wallpaper loose, furniture chipped, only one chair, burn hole in the sheet and comforter. This place reminded me of a very old Super 8 but didn't have the continental breakfast or free wifi...or parking that a Super 8 would have. Town Village only had 6 nearby parking spaces! When we asked to use a computer that was in the lobby, we were almost yelled at and told the only computers for public use were in the Business Center at Town Square and we would be charged by the minute for their use. There is no way Summer Bay could have sold us anything after these accommodations! Gatlinburg is ALL about tourists, except parking. Heavy traffic on the main drag all day and none of the shops had any parking available. There are trolleys. I guess that's their answer to traffic and parking. Great Smoky National Park was beautiful and has many wonderful hiking trails.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seneca, mo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

So many problems to list...this is a run-down hotel trying to pretend it's a resort:
1) Upon our arrival, very first thing was to get locked in the room because the deadbolt got stuck; also the TV remote was broken and only 3 channels came in on the cable; maintenance did take care of these - but.....don't they check these things?
2) studio unit is very poorly designed - A/C blows right on you - it was miserable; to sleep 4 would have taken significant furniture rearrangement;
3) spider-infested bed - it was pretty bad;
4) they only provided 2 pillows (for a unit which "sleeps 4") and then acted like it was an outrageous request for 2 more pillows - then brought us pillows which reaked of mustiness and dust; we then asked for fresh pillow cases and those ALSO were stinky of dust / not freshly washed;
5) fireplace didn't work - had maintenance out at least 5 times, the minute they leave it would shut down - maintenance staff were really trying to be helpful though, and usually did show up immediately;
6) WORST was the filthy disgusting pool - both at the Town Village (with dirt on the bottom - this was not stormy weather so no excuse) and especially at the "nicer" resort Gatlinburg Town Square - which is where they send you for all the amenities - a block down the street - that hot tub was putrid, reaked of something rotten and was not useable! What a disgrace. The girls in the office had joked that the bear likes to use the hot tub - yes, I'm afraid so - certainly smelled like it - and it was NOT a potty-trained bear!
7) girls in the office gave bad directions several times; assigned us a room where we're "sure to see the big bear every night at the trash bin just off our patio" - they must have been thinking of the other building where there was a trash bin (they didn't know how to read the map of their own "resort")
8) Several other minor issues: stove not level (difficult to cook on); view from patio was of the busy street and a parking lot; ugly looking motel property around the back.

On the plus side, the location isn't too bad just 1/4 mile off the main drag, and the laundry facility was very good with huge machines and no maintenance problems.

We stayed at some fabulous resorts with our timeshare; this is NOT one of them. Recommend you stay away from this AND from the Town Village which already shows maintenance problems (whatever you do, stay away from that hot tub - should've called the health department).
Happy travels!

Room Tip: Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Had storms during week they did not keep up with cleaning up around pool area, one girl was cleaning the pool out herself! They do not provide bathroom or kitchen supplies...The studio room is designed terrible...A/C blows right on you when trying to sleep. Can't see the TV while sitting on couch, had to rearrange the room to watch TV and ended up sleeping at the foot of the bed because of A/C blowing on you. The A/C blows up in the curtain. The location is pretty good, close to town. The area is nice, and so is the staff, activities person is very nice.

Room Tip: Would recommend, is close to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gatlinburg Town Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatlinburg Town Village

Address: 515 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gatlinburg Town Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatlinburg Town Village Hotel Gatlinburg
Town Village Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gatlinburg Town Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.