We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Big Kahuna - Gatlinburg TN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gatlinburg Falls Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gatlinburg Falls Resort
Save
You added Gatlinburg Falls Resort to your Saves list
1 Cheshire Court, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
KETTERING
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Big Kahuna - Gatlinburg TN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We rented this 9 bedroom cabin for our wedding, there were 21 of us there in total. We had a fabulous time, and were so very impressed with the cabin and the staff and friendliness of Gatlinburg Falls Resort. We had a few minor problems with the cabin the first day, but the maintenance crew took care of it in a timely, professional manner. Nothing major (stopped up drain, couldn't get the remotes for the TV to work), but they were prompt in addressing our concerns. I have stayed in a cabin in Gatlinburg at least a dozen times before, and always used the same cabin rental place (Mt. Laural Chalet - which I would also recommend). We were amazed at the condition of the Big Kahunna, which was clean and looked just like the pictures on the website. I would definately recommend renting this cabin to anyone, and look forward to going back to rent from them again. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    385
    133
    132
    192
See reviews for
939
437
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked this cabin on a whim when my husband and I decided we needed a break from work. This cabin was exactly what we were looking for. We booked this cabin based on the pictures on the website and it was exactly as described. I was a little nervous after reading reviews but could not have been more pleased with the service and state of the cabin. We arrived 20 minutes early and were still able to check in without any waiting. The cabin was clean and tidy. The only "messy" part was that there were some cobwebs on the balconies...no big deal, it is a cabin after all.

I would recommend that larger parties bring extra towels, toiletries, garbage bags, and dish soap. Since it was just the two of us there wasn't much of a problem but if you are staying a long time or there are a lot of you, make sure you bring this stuff along.

We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Trust the descriptions online. If it says mountain view, that is what you will get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our group of 16 stayed here from september 21-24. While im sure its hard to keep some things from getting dirty/ ruined with such large groups staying there, I really thought the cabin wasnt very clean. My first night there I noticed the cobb webbs in the bathroom, how dusty the tv cabinet was, and how much stuff was on the carpet like the vacuum had not been passed. There was also considerable mildew in the shower, this doesnt need to be scrubbed guys spraying tilex or bleach would have rectified this. While we enjoyed our long weekend, and we saw bears every night, several of us were disappointed in the cleanliness of the cabin. And also not many towels were provided, thank goodness for the washer and dryer on site we did laundry every night so we could have clean towels. The also was not enough toilet paper, garbage bags, and no broom was supplied in the event maybe a glass was broken. I would probably stay here again with a large group, but I would prefer we try someones elses cabins instead.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatlinburgCabins, Front Office Manager at Gatlinburg Falls Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We at Gatlinburg Falls Resort are saddened to hear of your experience. We take great pride in being one of the cleanest resorts in the area. We do apologize about the cobwebs. With the amount of rainfall we have been receiving as well as living on the border of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, spiders sometimes become a nuisance. We had added that to our inspection list to be routinely checked. During your stay we have no documention that there was any cleaning issues. Without things being reported we are unable to correct them. In the reservation agreement, agreed upon at the time of your online booking, it states that guests are supplied with a starter supply of toilet paper, paper towels, and dish detergent and that it is up to the guest to replenish these items once they run out. We strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, therefore minimizing any unnecessary interruptions. If any of our guests require extra linens or supplies, we are more than happy to supply them once requested. We appreciate your feedback, as we feel that it not only helps us better ourselves as a company, but can help us better our relationships with our guests. We encourage you to give us another opportunity in the future in order to show you our standards exceed what you have previously experienced. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This past weekend my family stayed with Gatlinburg Falls in the cabin, King of the Hill. Although we have stayed before and had good experiences the quality of our cabin during this stay, along with the lack of customer service, will force us to find a new lodging company.

We had multiple issues with our cabin – the carpet was filthy and in obvious need of being updated. There were stains and rips everywhere and in one spot the metal piece connecting the carpet to the tile was broken and sticking straight in the air causing, not only, a tripping hazard, but a place where someone could be cut. The filthy carpet is causing a musty, dirty smell throughout the cabin. There were light bulbs in the downstairs bedroom/bathroom that did not work. The sink and dishwasher were eaten up with fruit flies which made cooking extremely difficult. The ceiling above the kitchen leaks water from the air-conditioning unit and soaked the tile, carpet, and ruined the food we had sitting on the counter. Fortunately, it wasn’t our cell phones, or laptops, sitting there that would have been ruined. We couldn’t run the upstairs ac because it would cause the ceiling to leak all over the place, so the upstairs guests had no air. We never found a remote to control the downstairs TV and had to buy batteries to get the other remotes to work. There were problems with one of the shower heads and one of the drains, and a lack of toilet paper. The hot tub was also a problem as it was either too hot or too cold to use. We called customer service for maintenance twice, but were never able to get assistance. I also emailed a letter to customer service and once again got NO response.

I’m not sure what has changed with the resort, but I don’t feel this is the standard, or quality, that Gatlinburg Falls represents. At this point, though, if this is the new standard of Gatlinburg Falls cabins our money will be spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatlinburgCabins, Front Office Manager at Gatlinburg Falls Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for bringing this to management's attention. We at Gatlinburg Falls Resort regret to hear of the underwhelming experience one of our long time guests has had. We did receive your email on 09/17. We show that a return email was sent out on 09/24. We sincerely apologize for the delay in the response to that email. That was unexecptable on our part and being addressed with the office staff. We do strive to make each visit better than your last, as we look to build relationships that last forever. Since your departure we have conducted a full inspection of the problems you have reported. We are deep cleaning the carpets to address the musty smell and stained areas. The HVAC unit in question has also been serviced and the leak repaired. I apologize this could not have been completed during your stay. Unfortunately from time to time, our staff is not able to correct certain issues and an outside vendor must be called. We are in the process to able to complete most of the repairs in-house and not go through a third party so we better can we serve the guest in a more timely fashion. Again we are saddened to hear of the issues you experienced. We do appreciate your feedback, as we feel that it not only helps us better ourselves as a company, but can help us better our relationships with our guests. As a repeat customer, we encourage you to give us another opportunity on your next future stay in the Smoky Mountains. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were a party of eight (4 couples). There was a hot tub on the deck, pool table and video games in the lower level.
Great floor plan, good view, very spacious.
Helpful hints:
Cabin 758 great cabin however needed mattress pads on all the beds, bedding was not great. Living room carpet needed clean. Needed dish towels. Lots of annoying small flying gnats.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We brought a group of fifteen college students and four adults to stay in the Mountaintop Mansion cabin. It was at the very top of the resort, so the view was amazing. I would recommend you know exactly where tithe cabin is and reserve based off what view you want. They are up front on the website as to which cabins have the best views and ours did not disappoint. If you are staying in the lower part of the resort, you would have a wooded view, but not a mountain view (FYI).

The cabin was clean and everything worked. The only note I have is that it might seem crowded if you actually maxed out the capacity it says on the website. That counts people sleeping on every couch, etc. Our group of 21 (including two kids) was perfect for this cabin. You might squeeze in a few more children, but adults would likely be on couch beds and futons.

The resort is very well maintained and the staff was attentive. Only negative is there was no direct line to the office. You have to wait through an answering system and then wait on hold before you get someone. The front door would not open and probably waited 15 minutes on hold to get the office staff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Amazing Views cabin Sept. 9-13. Being a little concerned after reading reviews, my husband and I were soooo happy with this cabin. It was clean as a whistle, great ammenities, everything was new and worked perfect! I couldn't wait to give this cabin a great review as I had seen none that were specific to this cabin. The owner clearly cares and takes good care of it. I said several times throughout our vacation that we must have had the best cabin there! It was the highest on the mountain besides the two large 9 room cabins. Best view of all. Felt totally private up there too! Check-in was easy, friendly and directions to the lodge for checkin were correct. Would stay there again in a heart beat if ever in the area. Close to EVERYTHING. We even had a bear walk up to our cabin the last night we were there:) He was friendly though! Don't hesitate if thinking of booking this cabin, it's gorgeous, and plenty of room!! We loved the Amish rocking chairs, also. Need those for our house!

Room Tip: Ask for the cabins highest up, I could see some below had absolutely no view at all. We picked this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gatlinburg Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatlinburg Falls Resort

Address: 1 Cheshire Court, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 450
Also Known As:
Gatlinburg Falls Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gatlinburg Falls Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.