We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay - will return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnson's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Johnson's Inn to your Saves list
Johnson's Inn
242 Bishop Lane, PO Box 392, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off All Rooms
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Corydon,Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay - will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed last August 2012 for our second honeymoon. We enjoyed the little walk away from the main strip. The rooms were clean and affordable. Will return this year!! The service was very nice and polite enjoyed the whole stay. We was only going to stay for 2 nights and extended our stay for an additional night.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    61
    42
    19
    7
See reviews for
78
68
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is one of the places I love to stay in Gatlinburg. The staff is very friendly and attentive to any need you have during your stay...from the owners, to the front desk staff, to the housekeepers. Don't expect anything fancy, this is a small local family-owned place very close to the strip in Gatlinburg. The rooms are very clean and well maintained and the black-bear lamps add a bit of 'smoky mountain' charm to the room. The location is amazing, just a block from the main strip area of Gatlinburg and lots of shopping and restaurants. Again, this place isn't fancy, but it is very clean and the friendliness of the staff is amazing. Highly recommend check them out!

Room Tip: Request a room in the "new section" and request on of the rooms on either end....they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with the room. More than we expected and clean. The bathroom needed a quick touch up but that was handled with a phone call. We ended up having to leave a day early due to an emergency and they were nice enough to refund us a night. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy City, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was a nice little hotel just a block away from downtown Gatlinburg. My husband and I just stayed there last Saturday night. We rented a king sized handicapped room, which we did not realize until we got there (must have checked the wrong box on our reservation, because it clearly said that on the website. oops). It was a very clean, spacious room. The television was dated, but we didn't really have a need for the tv except to watch the late breaking news on the boston bombing. By the way, if you do need a handicapped accessible room, this one has plenty of space and bars, etc in the large bath. We did wake up to no hot water, as did many of the guests. The staff did all they could, but a part was needed that could not be purchased locally. We were comped for the inconvenience. Which was more than I expected. Thank you for such a nice stay. We will recommend your hotel.

Room Tip: The office is closed at night. If you plan to come up a day early but won't be there until late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We typically do cabins but our spring break trip was extremely last minute and this was the only place available. So this was our first time ever staying in a hotel, no offense especially a cheap one because I am a bit of a germ-a-phobe. That being said, the room (207) was pretty clean though I wish they would have used a vacuum attachment to clean up against the walls. The room was very small and I really did not like the fact that the mini fridge was in the bath area (really just the sink asWIFI was HORRIBLY SLOW and the TV was one of the old school kids bedroom TV's. We were there with our 6&5 y/o so we were just happy it had Disney and Nick. They balcony was nice for the kids to spread out a bit. The beds were hard but surprisingly comfy though the pillows and blankets were lacking. I am glad I brought my own. There was a heater in the bathroom which was a nice surprise. I wish they were a little more updated though. The best thing was the location. We were able to park our car and walk everywhere we needed. It is right off the strip and the village but it is still VERY quiet! Overall I would recommend staying there for anyone who is looking for convenience. Oh it was supposed to be a non smoking room BUT I think someone in the room next to us was smoking because I would occasionally catch strong whiffs of it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here March 2013 we stayed in room 210. We were pleased with our stay at Johnson's Inn only a couple of things would have made our stay better. The rooms are of out date, the decor needs to be updated, could use new tv's and the internet service was POOR.
Otherwise room where clean and fresh towels were replaced daily. I WOULD stay here again location is very good and price is fair.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the two room condos with a kitchen (#2004). The room was extremely clean and well decorated. If you plan on cooking you may need a few things. There was a small skillet and a few small pots and pans. Plenty of silverware, plates and glasses. There was one 9x13 casserole dish but no cookie sheets or pizza pans. Geno's pizza is really good and they deliver to your room. I can only say one thing negative. The Internet is so slow it was like dial up if it worked at all. You are about 1 1/2 - 2 blocks from the Main Street.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjbgatlinburgtn, Manager at Johnson's Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed the condominium. I will look into getting more pans for the units. I have also contacted our internet guru and he is coming to check out the wireless connection to see what the problem is with the speed. This in not something we normally have complaints about. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnson's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson's Inn

Address: 242 Bishop Lane, PO Box 392, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally family owned and operated quaint motel only steps away from the main street of Gatlinburg. We offer mountain hospitality and affordable rates for clean, quiet rooms that are accessible to all that Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains have to offer. Come sit in our garden by the stream , easily walk downtown to shops and restaurants or spend the day in the national park. We offer standard motel rooms, deluxe rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Johnson's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson`s Hotel Gatlinburg
Johnsons Hotel Gatlinburg
Johnsons Motel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnson's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.