We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnson's Inn

Save Saved
You added Johnson's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Johnson's Inn
242 Bishop Lane, PO Box 392, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
3-Nites 50% Off lastnight
Ranked #30 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Acworth, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here March 2013 we stayed in room 210. We were pleased with our stay at Johnson's Inn only a couple of things would have made our stay better. The rooms are of out date, the decor needs to be updated, could use new tv's and the internet service was POOR.
Otherwise room where clean and fresh towels were replaced daily. I WOULD stay here again location is very good and price is fair.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    54
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
71
63
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the two room condos with a kitchen (#2004). The room was extremely clean and well decorated. If you plan on cooking you may need a few things. There was a small skillet and a few small pots and pans. Plenty of silverware, plates and glasses. There was one 9x13 casserole dish but no cookie sheets or pizza pans. Geno's pizza is really good and they deliver to your room. I can only say one thing negative. The Internet is so slow it was like dial up if it worked at all. You are about 1 1/2 - 2 blocks from the Main Street.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjbgatlinburgtn, Manager at Johnson's Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed the condominium. I will look into getting more pans for the units. I have also contacted our internet guru and he is coming to check out the wireless connection to see what the problem is with the speed. This in not something we normally have complaints about. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

i have read some of the reviews and they are somewhat critical. The only thing bad I can say about the room is it needs updated. Don't get me wrong, everything in the room was in good shape and didn't give off a run down vibe at all. The TV was not a flat screen, however if you go on vacation to watch TV, your hopeless already. The office was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable...the shower rocked. It is a block away from the main drag. You can also cut through on the shop walk-way by the Irish heritage store and it takes you right to the Pancake Pantry...which is awesome. But that is another review.

Room Tip: We stayed in the four story tower section of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjbgatlinburgtn, Manager at Johnson's Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We are trying to up date our rooms as quickly as we can but we do keep cleanliness as our top priority. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My Wife AND I Stayed the last week of Feb 2013,We had a 2 Room Suite,I was really impressed with the Suite and the Location was Great.We Parked the Car,and walked everywhere,so much to do in Gatlinburg,and Johnsons Inn is right in the middle of it all.We are already planning our trip next year,but this time for a Week,and will be staying here again.The Suite was very spacious,clean,and very quite.The Owners and Staff was very kind and helpful on giving tips on places to eat ,and where the awesome shopping venues are located.I have been blessed to been to 22 diffrent States and have stayed in alot of upscale resorts,and paid alot more also,but Johnsons Inn,Wins hands down.I want to Thank Them All for an awesome Memory with My Wife,this was our favorite 2 week road trip that started at your property.The Renners

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are awesome for older couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjbgatlinburgtn, Manager at Johnson's Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are so pleased that you found everything to your liking at Johnson's Inn. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was a great place to stay. The rooms were very clean and very spacious. This hotel was just a short distance away from the main drag and had a very nice view of the mountains. The beds were big and comfortable and the pillows were soft and fluffy (not the flat ones you usually find in the hotel rooms). For the price, cleanliness and space, this place really can't be beat. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed at Johnson's Inn several times. Each time we stay, we wind up asking ourselves, "why did we stay here again?" The answer is always the same: location and convenience. It is right off the strip and located in the heart of the city. The rooms are generally clean, but desperately need a renovation. The decor is outdated and old. In addition, the beds are low to the ground and uncomfortable. If you need a place to stay in Gatlinburg and you don't mind an old room with few amenities, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great location. Room was very clean. Carpet looked almost new. The rest of the room needs major updating. A few of the small details would make this a really good place to stay. Second time we've stayed here. Clean and location are BIG!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnson's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson's Inn

Address: 242 Bishop Lane, PO Box 392, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#30 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally family owned and operated quaint motel only steps away from the main street of Gatlinburg. We offer mountain hospitality and affordable rates for clean, quiet rooms that are accessible to all that Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains have to offer. Come sit in our garden by the stream , easily walk downtown to shops and restaurants or spend the day in the national park. We offer standard motel rooms, deluxe rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Johnson's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson`s Hotel Gatlinburg
Johnsons Hotel Gatlinburg
Johnsons Motel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnson's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.