We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Huff's

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jack Huff's
Save Saved
You added Jack Huff's to your Saves list
204 Cherokee Orchard Road, Pob 865, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Hixson, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My mother booked us at Jack Huff's for 3 nights this past week. It was her, me and my 2 teenagers. If you're looking for the newest, most posh accommodations, then this is not for you. But if you're looking for fantastic location, large clean rooms, and friendly staff for a decent price, this is definitely for you.

We arrived at 11:30, and our room was ready. Our room had 2 queen beds, flat screen TV, microwave & mini fridge. Also two sinks (one in the bathroom and one just outside of it), a recliner (!), and a personal balcony overlooking Gatlinburg. Not to mention the usual table, dresser, chairs. We were on the 3rd floor, and there is an elevator for all floors. The room was plenty large enough for a blow up mattress bed for my son. A couple of portable cribs would fit easily if you needed them.

The location is perfect. Just up from traffic light 6, on Cherokee Orchard Rd., we were very few minutes away from The Village shopping area, aquarium, restaurants, trolley stops, and everything on the strip. It was so nice to be able to come back and relax on the balcony. We didn't use the car at all except to go into the Smokies or Pigeon Forge.

My kids loved the pool. There's no diving board, but there is a fun tunnel slide. There's also a sectioned off part of the pool that is only 1 1/2 feet deep, so you can be in the pool with little ones. it's hard to describe but really cool. If my kids were small I'd love this feature.

The only complaint I have is the lighting. Instead of individual small lights to read by, over each bed there is one overhead fluorescent light that is the width of the bed. When others are trying to sleep, it's impossible to read because of the brightness. I ended up improvising with a flashlight, but it wasn't much fun. Also, the fan in the bathroom didn't work, so whenever someone took a shower the entire bathroom and everything in it was covered in steam. There's a window in there that you can open but I didn't want to risk anyone walking by to look in.

Overall, we had a great time and loved the experience. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    72
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
122
112
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taylorsville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is in the right location. One-half block from main strip. Leave your car at hotel and walk to all main attractions in Gatlinburgh. Quiet, very clean, comfortable rooms. Excellent value. No breakfast bar. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My daughter and I just got back from Gatlinburg, Tn. We stayed at another hotel before checking in at Jack Huff's. I was kinda worried what we would find being an old motor lodge. WOW! This was the best! The room was clean ( walked around in my white socks and they did NOT get dirty), we had 2 sinks ( hey with women in the room thats a BIG plus), everything was in walking distance ( you must visit the Village if you stay here), the people at the front desk....AWESOME( one would have found me a job if I didn't want to leave hehehe), flat screen TV, microwave, fridge, etc. I could go on and on about this place. Believe me I WILL BE BACK!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Festus, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We were on our way back from Orlando Florida and decided to stop off in Gatlinburg for four days. We loved the hotel, Great location right in the heart of everything in Gatlinburg. We plan on coming back next year and will definitely stay here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at Jack Huff's during our visit to the Smoky Mountains. It is close enough to the town of Gatlinburg that we could walk to restaurants and shops which made it very convenient. The Smoky Mountain park entrance was not too far away so that was also a plus.

Although the motel did not have a restaurant they do have a small room with coffee available in the morning.

The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Cute place! We didn't have to get in the car at all since the hotel is centrally located to all restaurants, attractions and shopping. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel, you might want to look elsewhere, but if you're looking for a reasonably priced room in a clean hotel, this is the perfect place. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I selected Jack Huff's based on the positive ratings on TripAdvisor. My family was extremely happy with our experience. I generally hate staying in hotels because they never feel clean. Jack Huff's is the cleanest place that I have ever stayed in. It may not be the most upscale property in Gatlinburg, but it is extremely comfortable. Our room was large and well-equipped with a refrigerator and a microwave. Our 5-year-old son loved the balcony! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The property is conveniently located near "The Village" and other attractions. We also liked the price compared to other properties. Clean, well-equipped, friendly staff, great location and a moderate price... What else could you ask for?

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jack Huff's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack Huff's

Address: 204 Cherokee Orchard Road, Pob 865, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location can't be beat. Conveniently located just a half block from downtown adjacent to "The Village" and the "Famous Pancake Pantry". One block from Ripley's Aquarium. A Gatlinburg tradition since 1960, and still owned by Jack's family. We offer free High Speed Wireless Internet, refrigerators, microwaves, lazy boy recliners, jacuzzi tubs, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards. Enjoy our outdoor heated pool with a slide and children's wading pool, and our two indoor hot tubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jack Huff`s Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Jack Huffs Hotel
Jack Huffs Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Huff's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.