We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to stay in the smokey mountains!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Buckberry Creek to your Saves list
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   961 Campbell Lead Road, PO Box 410, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF + $20 meal credit
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
1 review
“The best way to stay in the smokey mountains!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Thank you so much for making my 30th birthday so memorable! We are visiting from south africa and were delighted to find such a gem of a place. Nothing was to much to ask, the feel and look of the rooms and lodge was beautiful and rustic and they treated us like royalty. The prices were also very reasonable. There gourmet restaurant was also a welcome break from all the road trip fast foods. A must for anybody!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    107
    32
    14
    11
See reviews for
143
311
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Indiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This lodge is absolutely stunning: The views are gorgeous, our room was perfect, and the staff was phenomenal. The location is just a 5 minute drive up the mountain from Gatlinburg shops but it feels like a different world up there. Serene and beautiful! The style is reminiscent of lodges built long ago but completely clean and modern. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My partner and I booked 2 nights at this Lodge. We were both surprised at how beautiful it was. Better than the photos even! Its like an old style forest lodge only many attentions to details like pine cones set in fireplaces and lots of birch bark on every surface. Who ever designed and built this place did an excellent job. It's really amazing. One of the most beautiful hotels I've ever stayed at.

Views/Food-
The views are something else as well. We ate breakfast and had dinner on the deck with sweeping view of the mountains! Amazing. Provided breakfast is very basic. Dinner is too expensive for what you get. $32 entrees? A $12 piece of cake for dessert? I think not. Bring your own food or plan on the long trip down the mountain for meals. The rooms are fully equipped with everything to cook with.

Rooms -
The rooms were very nice. Had a beautiful porch for sitting and amazing views. Fluffy bathrobes added a nice touch. Lots of Tazo teas were provided as well. There was firewood in the fireplace with some fire starter and a lighter each night! We made a fire and really enjoyed that. Overall quite nice. The TV's however are old!!! What? No flat screen TV's? This is 2013 not 1990! and the reception was terrible.

The MAJOR downside! No WiFi! The room we were in had NO WiFi signal. I called the front desk and the maintenance man showed up and said he would reset the router. He said he didn't know anything about those "new fangled" devices. This is 2013 isn't it? As it turns out, its not the router. It's the fact that the WiFi was not installed properly and there is NO Way for the signal to reach our room. I went to the front desk and they were disinterested about the issue. WiFi is NOT a luxury. It is a NECESSITY in this day and age. I would expect this at a Motel 6 and certainly at any so-called luxury lodge. If the toilette wasn't working they would fix it. Fix your WiFi issues!

I am giving them an AVERAGE on service because of the WiFi issue. Service means saying "I will find out what the problem is and the resolution and get back to you" not "We've had issues, I don't know what to say". Duh

WiFi issues aside. A nice place. Just don't plan on doing business or watching movies on your iPad or computer in the rooms! There is NO WiFi!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed our Lodge and appreciated the design and views. We consider ourselves lucky to work in such an environment and be able to share it with our guests.
As to your technological suggestions...TVs are currently being replaced. And, as part of an upgrade to come at the first of the year, the cable TV will be improved.
Our current WiFi does in fact reach ever guest room. But, we have finally been offered modern-era internet speeds and connections up here on the mountain! We have been waiting for this to be available so we can get the internet access updated for our guests. Look for significant changes during the first quarter of 2014 in both speed, access, and bandwidth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Location is phenomenal. Quiet and serene, but still convenient to downtown Gatlinburg. The grounds are gorgeous. I could have stayed there forever.

The rooms are very nice. Comfortable and rustic feeling with all the modern amenities. We loved waking up in the morning and having out coffee on our own private deck while watching the sun rise over the mountains. Just amazing.

The food was delicious. We ended up having dinner there every might of out stay, instead of in town. And what an amazing view from the back patio where we were seated.

I can't say enough about the staff. Exceptionally friendly and helpful. Went out of their way to make our stay special. Treated us like we were the only guests there.

We'll stay here every time we go back to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This lodge is so beautiful and the proprietor Buddy and his partner Jeannie really care about customer service. Enjoy the smoky mountains with picturesque views from your private balcony. This is close enough to enjoy Gatlinburg without being in that commercialism. The inn serves an adequate continental breakfast, but if you want a truly wonderful experience dine there for dinner. The food is amazing and the setting is so romantic. Our room was so cozy with two rooms-- sitting area and kitchen, and then king size bedroom. The decor is so very tastefully done. I never saw a bear in the smoky mountains & dissappointed as I was Buddy placed a real stuffed bear cub at my table for dinner, along with making sure when we checked out in the morning at 6 a.m. coffee would be ready for us. You can't go wrong at this inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were on an overnight anniversary trip. Had read of a car show in Pigeon Forge area that weekend and wanted to avoid all that traffic. So I started looking for someplace between Townsend and Gatlinburg. Had never heard of the Lodge at Buckberry Creek before. I liked it because of its proximity to the park entrance. The pictures online were appealing, but I did think the room rate a little pricey. However, considering the location, the beauty of the property and the convenience of a nice restaurant a few steps away, I now consider it more of a value. The room was clean. Loved the set up of the bathroom area. The room we stayed in could use a newer TV. The TV reception left a lot to be desired, but then how much are you going to use it? If you get a chance, have dinner outside on the porch! Beautiful view!! Food was very good and the staff very helpful. The outside pavilion is a short hike from the lodge. Worth the trip!! We will certainly go again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just got back from a weekend visit to Buckberry and we loved our time there. Pulling onto the property we were amazed with the views and the surroundings are all so well thought-out. It has the coolest atmosphere and we both felt like we were somewhere really special from the minute we pulled up to the main lodge to check in. Our suite was fantastic. We stayed in "LeConte" and the view was panoramic and AWESOME. We had a really comfortable king sized bed, jacuzzi tub, full kitchen, and an incredible balcony overlooking the mountain-scape with big cozy chairs. The details are REALLY well thought out and so very well done, from the artwork to the leather key tassels, to the overstuffed couch, to the screen door to the balcony so we could get fresh air all morning. We lit a real fire with the wood they provide in our fireplace at night and drank coffee on our private balcony overlooking the Smokies in the morning.
The property is also incredible. We hiked down to the pavilion which is in a secluded spot in the woods, next to the beautiful Buckberry creek, and it has a gorgeous big fireplace with rockers, blankets, etc. When we got there a Buckberry staff person asked what time we wanted to be picked up to be driven back to the Lodge, and told us to just call up to the Lodge from the house phone if we needed water, a bottle of wine, anything!
It is a great balance of luxury and comfort and we felt rejuvenated after a quick visit. Really cool, authentic place. Never been anywhere quite like it. Will definitely go back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: AWESOME view from the "LeConte" suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, PO Box 410, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#7 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting our rustically, elegant lodge is like stepping back in time, yet with all the modern amenities. Pristine Smoky Mountain views are the focal point of most our 40 luxuriously, individually appointed suites. Each suite offers a fireplace, balcony, cable TV and DVD, queen sleeper sofa, full kitchen, and large bathroom with a whirlpool soaking tub. While staying at our mountain retreat you could easily spend your days enjoying our walking trails, napping in the hammock by Buckberry Creek and enjoying the delicious fare of our restaurant - and never need venture beyond our driveway. And if you are looking to explore our incredible natural surroundings - hiking, fishing, skiing, fine arts and crafts and scenic drives are just minutes away. We'll even pack you a lunch...If you are staying with us on business or just want to let others know about our Great Camp of the Smokies, we provide free WiFi throughout the Lodge. The Lodge at Buckberry Creek offers an unrivaled experience in the Smokies! Winter. Spring. Summer. Fall. Come see for yourself... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.