We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for a romantic spot?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Buckberry Creek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   961 Campbell Lead Road, PO Box 410, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book 2 Get 3rd FREE
Ranked #1 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Chapel Hill
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Looking for a romantic spot?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Lodge at Buckberry Creek is both elegant and laid back at the same time. You can actually spend your time in the mountains near the national park and skip Gatlinburg entirely if you want. They are right off the bypass between Pigeon Forge and the national park, so it is pretty easy to get to.

They have three types of rooms, all of which are nice. We find the middle choice to be just right, the basic lodge room is a little small and the big room is more than you need. The rooms have great walk in showers and a nice balcony. Any of the buildings except for #1 has great views, #1 looks at the trees.

The rooms are really nice, but the restaurant is the part that keeps us coming back. The deck outside is wonderful, with views toward Mt. LeConte and the Great Smoky Mountains. The food isn't inexpensive, but it is worth the splurge. You won't be disappointed, we've been going up here for years and have yet to have a bad meal. Breakfast on the deck is nice as you watch the mist rise over the mountains. The deck is covered so it really doesn't matter if the sun is out or if it is raining. We've had some of better meals out there on a rainy evening with the candles burning. Another nice aspect of the restaurant, you can get dressed up or go in your shorts, no one cares. Do what works for you, the staff treats everyone the same.

This is a great place for couples to go and get away for some quiet time. The folks who run the place are very accommodating and attentive. This is one of our favorite spots and you might want to give it a try. Don't let the crowds in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge keep you away, this is a wonderful oasis high up on the ridge.

Room Tip: If you want a great view ask for a room in a building other than #1. Get a room on the top floor if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    95
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
124
277
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We do not care for the touristy town of Gatlinburg but wanted to be close driving distance to all attractions. This is a beautiful lodge where every room has a mountain view. It's in a great location just outside of town. I would have been perfectly content spending our entire vacation sitting on the balcony of our room enjoying the view. It's nice that all rooms are suites. Well decorated, clean and reasonably priced. The lodge has an amazing restaurant also. We only ate breakfast there but it was amazing. Service was a little lackluster but accommodations made up for it. We would definitely return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were extremely happy staying 3 nights here. The suite was comfortable, clean and very nice. The view from our balcony was spectacular. The breakfast were wonderful. Friendly staff and owner. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I did not want to stay in the touristy trap town of Gatlinburg hotels but wanted the convenience of being close to the entrance to the national park and restaurants, etc. This lodge is gorgeous. We felt secluded but were really only a mile or so away from everything. The lodge is well run and our room and view were great. The food at the onsite restaurant was excellent. Service and attention to detail are at a premium at this lodge. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, MA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

To be honest, as we drove into town via 441 from the Smoky Mountain National Park and saw the frenetic mayhem that is Gatlinburg, we felt like we made a bit of a mistake for a quick overnight in the Smokies. But, when we got away from the main drag and reached the Lodge we were really blown away. Beautiful setting, comfortable and nicely appointed rooms, and friendly folks. We never went back into Gatlinburg...

The Good:
-- The lodge's location overlooking Mt. Le Conte and environs is beautiful. Looked like a great view from any room.
-- The main lodge/dining area was really a cool spot to hang out. Made you feel like you were in your own personal hunting/fishing lodge
-- The complimentary continental breakfast was definitely an upgrade over the chain hotels' attempt at free "breakfast"
-- The folks who run this place are extremely friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Helen who made sure the on-property hiking trail was open and cleared of yellowjackets so we could make the hike (see below)
-- Fun hiking trail that takes you down to the creek where there is a pavilion and fire pit. Very cool area to hang out.
-- The room. Wow. Comfortable rustic furniture and other nice touches made it feel very lodge-like. Huge tile shower with bench. All very new feeling. Small kitchen allowed us to make dinner and enjoy it from our private deck.
-- Dinner menu looked very good and an upgrade over choices in town (at least it looked that way to us -- we made our own dinner)

The not-so-good:
-- Wi-Fi was giving us all kinds of aggravation. We could connect at main desk but not in our room.
-- Pull out bed in room was not the most comfortable thing, really.

The kids had a good time but I can see this also as a really nice retreat for couples. In mid-July (mid-week) it was a peaceful place. If we are ever in the area again, this is where we would stay without doubt. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A beautiful location and welcoming staff; food was great and the rooms were comfortable and well kept. I liked the efficiency kitchens for meals. Fabulous views and so quiet. I had no idea what Gatlinburg or surrounding areas were like and the bypass was closed so I beeped and creeped through Gatlinburg for 45 minutes to get 10 lights to the turn for the Lodge. I have no idea why anyone would go there for anything, other than a place to sleep, when the woods are so close by. Highly recommend the lodge and the staff

our group had a dinner down by the river (the pavillion?) which was really fun.

Room Tip: main area is in the middle; you can be down a short hill or up the hill or on same level. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a great time and can honestly NOT say a bad word about the lodge. Our room (5305) had a direct view of Mt. Le Conte and the valley where the tram runs. They have an area down by the creek that has a pavilion to use at any time. it is a 1/2 mile walk to the creek and you can call the front desk and they will pick you up and drive you back to your room. We will be back.

Room Tip: 5305 has the best views, except for the one room on the fourth floor in an adjacent building. It al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, PO Box 410, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#4 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting our rustically, elegant lodge is like stepping back in time, yet with all the modern amenities. Pristine Smoky Mountain views are the focal point of most our 40 luxuriously, individually appointed suites. Each suite offers a fireplace, balcony, cable TV and DVD, queen sleeper sofa, full kitchen, and large bathroom with a whirlpool soaking tub. While staying at our mountain retreat you could easily spend your days enjoying our walking trails, napping in the hammock by Buckberry Creek and enjoying the delicious fare of our restaurant - and never need venture beyond our driveway. And if you are looking to explore our incredible natural surroundings - hiking, fishing, skiing, fine arts and crafts and scenic drives are just minutes away. We'll even pack you a lunch...If you are staying with us on business or just want to let others know about our Great Camp of the Smokies, we provide free WiFi throughout the Lodge. The Lodge at Buckberry Creek offers an unrivaled experience in the Smokies! Winter. Spring. Summer. Fall. Come see for yourself... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.