We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Buckberry Creek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   961 Campbell Lead Road, PO Box 410, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Fall Family Wknd 10/10-12
Ranked #2 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The best part of this room was the balcony with a view toward the mountains. We sat out and watched the sunset. The suite was spacious and comfortable, although the TV was small and dated. The lodge is a bit out of the way, but it feels well-removed from the bustle of Gatlinburg. Nice common room in the lodge.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony looking out toward the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    421
    103
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
140
293
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Several rooms/suites have a view of an overgrown berm, some tv remotes don't work, horrible location for enjoyment of local sites. Restaurant food overpriced and subpar...carrot shreds in Gazpacho? Soup portion that barely covers the bottom of the bowl. Pasta sauce (filled with carrot shreds) tasted an awful lot like the soup. Allot an hour and a half minimum for dinner. Continental breakfast is equivalent to that of an Econolodge.
Skip this place...you can do much better.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBL37738, Owner at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I would like to answer these comments specifically:
Most all of our suites have mountain views. There are a couple on the garden level that do look out onto the natural topography (of an incline) with mountain views above. Then there are some that have partially wooded/partially mountain views. Our Lodge is in the natural environment. As the owners, we did not clear the mountainside to create unobstructed views, but left the land as original as possible with curves and vegetation.
All TV remotes usually work, unless batteries go out, just like at home. Guests just need to make sure they are using the bedroom TV remote on the bedroom TV, and the living room TV remote on the living room TV.
Our guests enjoy the location (as you can read in the other reviews). We are less than 2 miles up the mountain from downtown Gatlinburg, away from the crowds and noise, but very easy in and out to get to the National Park or down to Pigeon Forge. Most of our guests want to be away from the tourist strip and enjoy the Park surroundings.
Our restaurant is highly rated, and enjoyed by thousands of guests. It is one the few fine dining venues in our area. When we host special packages that include a tasting menu, we are giving our guests a dining experience that allows them smaller portions of multiple courses to fully enjoy a full, well-rounded, and diverse meal. We hope that our guests will enjoy a long leisurely dinner; where they purposely will not be rushed out of their seats to accommodate an over-booked schedule. And yes, our menu changes daily and will include chef inspired creations, not typical brand store fare.
Other hotels rarely have fresh baked pastries including scones in their free breakfast offerings.

It is so rare when we have a guest that looks at life as a glass half empty after leaving our lodge; where we go above and beyond to try to please them, especially when one of the owners get involved. But in this case after 4 moves, we still could not please.

If you are hoping for a unique and original place to stay when in the Smokies, where you will be treated like a guest in the old style of accommodation, relaxation, serenity, and in sync with the natural environment; we hope you will consider staying with us. If you enjoy a vacation experience without the pressures of crowds, time, and the cookie-cutter hotel experience; then we hope you, also, will consider staying with us. If this doesn’t sound like your ideal getaway, then you might want to ‘skip this place’ after all. But, we hope you will consider the value of what we offer that no one else in our vicinity does: a family owned and operated independent 4-diamond hotel, a beautifully designed and appointed lodge, with quality service, natural environment and panoramic views, and luxury accommodation and dining - all on the top of a mountain adjacent to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights with our two girls, 12 and 6. It was a real convenience to have the full kitchen and the fireplace was a big hit. We had beautiful views and my little one cried when we had to leave. She wanted to move there. It is very close to the bustle of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge but allows for you to get away from the neon of both places. The free breakfast options are limited but you can pay for a full breakfast with eggs, etc. Regardless, it is nice to be able to just walk to the main dining hall for a few pastries, granola, mild and juice.

Room Tip: Only the third floor units in our building had 'real' fireplaces. The others had gas firepl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Totally loved this resort - it felt isolated, quiet, peaceful but was quite close to everything and the crowds of people who visit the area. We had a gallery suite - had room for all 5 of us - ( 3 kids)_ plenty of space for our weeks worth of luggage - and a kitchenette - for making picnic food for hiking. We loved making fires, hiking the small trail at the resort - and eating, relaxing by the stream. We ate dinner in the resturaunt 3 times - great each time. Breakfast was only cereal, fruit, and danish, but fine. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Would happily return for a visit.

Room Tip: likes the higher floor - but depends if you want to see trees only - or other hotels and lights in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We didn't stay on property, just ate dinner there and it was THE best dinner in Gatlinburg! Zac was a great server. Not only did he serve us, he entertained us, informed us, took our picture, and generally did everything he could to make our dinner special. The staff was extremely pleasant and acommodating from the time we got in the parking lot to the time we left. And the food was outstanding! It truly was a 5 star quality dinner. The drive up was beautiful, as it really is UP the mountain. The view was perfect. We will definitely be going back and recommending this to everyone.

Room Tip: Get an early reservation so you can either sit outside or sit by the window to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Gatlinburg is all fun but at some point it is nice to come back to some sanity. This is the place..... The owner (Buddy) is involved and such a nice person and the staff is great too. They accomodate you any way they can. The food and dining room are great which is a BIG step above downtown Gatlinburg. Love the vibe of the place! Fireplaces in the rooms, great detail to the little things, and a special feel that can't be explained in this posting. I would come back to Gatlinburg just for this place which is saying a lot since I am not from even close to this area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The accomodations were excellent with a great view. The food was the best I have found in Gatlinburg. The grandkids enjoyed the fire and short hike to the creek and outdoor pavilion. The bonus was arriving through Townsend, Metcalf Bottoms and the bypass and avoiding the traffic of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge altogether but still just five minutes downhill to Gatlinburg.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. The upper building seemed to have the best view of Mount LeConte.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, PO Box 410, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting our rustically, elegant lodge is like stepping back in time, yet with all the modern amenities. Pristine Smoky Mountain views are the focal point of most our 40 luxuriously, individually appointed suites. Each suite offers a fireplace, balcony, cable TV and DVD, queen sleeper sofa, full kitchen, and large bathroom with a whirlpool soaking tub. While staying at our mountain retreat you could easily spend your days enjoying our walking trails, napping in the hammock by Buckberry Creek and enjoying the delicious fare of our restaurant - and never need venture beyond our driveway. And if you are looking to explore our incredible natural surroundings - hiking, fishing, skiing, fine arts and crafts and scenic drives are just minutes away. We'll even pack you a lunch...If you are staying with us on business or just want to let others know about our Great Camp of the Smokies, we provide free WiFi throughout the Lodge. The Lodge at Buckberry Creek offers an unrivaled experience in the Smokies! Winter. Spring. Summer. Fall. Come see for yourself... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.