We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel to your Saves list
Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
421 Laurel Road West, P.O. Box 728, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Citronelle, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I try to visit the Gatlinburg area every year -- usually in October. However, this year we went during the Christmas Holidays. We didn't make reservations ahead of time. When we arrived we noticed a group of Cabins/Cottages along a rushing brook. They were charming from the outside and so convenient to Downtown Gatlinburg. We made a U-Turn to inquire about availability. The office was nestled in the middle of the cottages and a little hard to locate but once we found it the experience was fantastic. The rates were so reasonable and our cabin was clean and comfortable. We had a balcony that overlooked the rushing water and could have sat for hours watching the water tumble over the rocks. We had a gas fireplace and full kitchen. We would definitely recommend this property and definitely plan on staying there again. My only suggestion would be to maybe decorate during the Christmas Holiday's --- We actually stayed there Christmas Eve and Christmas Night and the only thing I missed about being away from home on Christmas was my tree and Christmas Lights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    85
    38
    8
    6
See reviews for
135
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We were in Gatlinburg in the end of December til the first of January. We had a wonderful stay at Carr's.

The staff was friendly, helpful, and prompt. We had some issues with our toilet one night and they sent someone immediately to fix it.

The room was not huge, nor the appliances state of the art, but it was cozy and very clean. Not a single hint of bugs, mildew, or dust. Furniture, appliances, and paint were well maintained.

This hotel does not advertise wifi, but we stayed in room 19A (right above the office) and had perfect internet connection the whole time. And were even able to stream movies on our laptop.

I saw when we were looking in to this hotel that some people complained about the comfort of the bed and I can see what they were talking about (the mattress is quite firm), but we slept very well every night and it was not an issue for us.

Carr's is located off traffic light 3. The center of town is around traffic light 6 (about 1-1.5 miles) We walked to town (to Ober, restaurants, attractions, and bars) at least twice a day with no problems at all. We had no reason to drive the entire time we were there.

Lastly, the price is amazing considering all you get and compared to similarly located places. It was a great deal!

We had an excellent stay and will stay again next time we are in Gatlinburg! Thanks Carr's! :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent our honeymoon in Gatlinburg 38 years ago and have made return trips almost every year since. Carr's has been a favorite place to stay for many reasons. The staff has always been accommodating and helpful. The location is close to downtown without being in a crowded area. It is across a creek from Hwy. 321, so it is quieter. There is a nice breakfast place (Flapjacks) just up the street within walking distance. We had a favorite motel room we reserved for years until my husband found this little log cabin on the property (see picture). There is a large room with bed, jacuzzi, and recliners in front of a fireplace. An addition to the original cabin provides a small bathroom with shower and a tiny kitchen area (small refrigerator, microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot and sink). A beautiful snow arrived on our second morning and the cabin looked lovely. On a previous visit, it was warm enough to enjoy the porch swing and to eat outside at the table.

Room Tip: Carr's has many choices; we have stayed in a motel room, a chalet off site and this cute log cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkins
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

It is a little bit country/backwoods, but, so worth the price. We got a room that was the size of an apartment. It had two bedrooms with a livingroom/kitchen and a fireplace. It was a full kitchen and there was plenty of moving around room. It is close to downtown Gatlinburg, so it is esay access to fun!
The price is below what you would pay for most motels/hotels in the area. It is worth trying.

Room Tip: Choose the apartment size/full kitchen rooms, they are much better than the average, double bedded r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you want to feel like you are in the mountains then Carr's is a good choice. You are off the road and somewhat secluded. There is a stream that runs thru the property and a covered bridge that crosses the creek. If you are looking for a place that is family friendly this is your place. If you are looking for 5 star luxury, go elsewhere, but if you are looking for a quiet, restful place, Carr's is a good fit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Me and my husband spent the weekend here at Carrs. The price was affordable for our budget. Our cottage was very clean and comfortable. we had great service they were helpful and courteous. We will stay here again and highly recommend the stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

So we took a spontaneous trip to Gatlinburg this past weekend to look at the leaves, and luckily we found Carr's. Carr's is not located on the main strip but not a far walk from it, about 3 blocks. Which was fine with me. Now this is by no means a brand new place but again that's fine with me, our room was very clean, older but I liked it. For the price you can't beat it. We had a small kitchenette, a porch with a table , right by the stream, comfortable bed, and decent size bathroom. There was also a charcoal grill right by the porch outside of our room. The service checking in and out was great. Very nice people. My only negative to our stay at Carr's was our neighbors in the complex beside us, but Carr's couldn't help that and you will have noisy neighbors about anywhere. They have great prices on their rooms, they have a lot to choose from, cabins, apartment type rooms, regular hotel type rooms...we will defiantly stay here again! Thank you Carr's for a great stay!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

Address: 421 Laurel Road West, P.O. Box 728, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#12 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carr`s Northside Cottages And Motel
Carr`s Northside Cottages Hotel Gatlinburg
Carrs Northside Hotel
Carrs Northside Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.