We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and Relax in Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
421 Laurel Road West, P.O. Box 728, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Greenfield, IN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rest and Relax in Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I've been staying at Carr's for about 40 yrs. This is a family owned property with many types of lodging available. It is quiet and relaxing. If you want high prices and fancy buildings go somewhere else. If you want a great mom and pop place off the main street, come to Carr's. The property is great for a family vacation or a honeymoon retreat. We most recently rented the 1-room log cabin for our 30th. It was wonderful. We enjoyed the fireplace every evening. The mountain stream is only a few steps away from the front porch swing. What a relaxing sound. The main shopping area of Gburg is a short walk. The National Park is on the other end of town. There is a full service grocery store a short distance up the street. There are times when you just need to get back to the mountains. I highly recommend Carr's. They've been serving travelers for many years, they must be doing it right. I know they are.

Room Tip: For a treat, try a room next to the mountain stream
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    74
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
117
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our 7th or 8th stay at Carr's and we have not stayed anywhere else since we found it. Most of the people we talked to have also stayed there numerous times. We stayed in a cottage with a balcony overlooking the stream for the 4th time. This time we stayed in one of the two story cottages. We liked it better because the bedroom was streamside so you could open the windows and listen to the stream below. It was so relaxing and I can't remember the last time I slept so well. I really enjoy getiing up early and having coffee on the balcony waiting for the daylight. I went to the office each morning to use the wifi before we went to the park. We spent early afternoon at the pool and late afternoons/early evenings at the picnic area by the stream.

We enjoy staying here because the location is close enough to walk downtown yet you are isolated from the sounds of it. Lack of shampoos, hair dryers, maid service, and wifi in the rooms is not an inconvenience for us. We can bring our own supplies and don't mind taking out the trash, exchanging our linens at the laundry room, or walking to the office for wifi. If cutting on those services can help keep the price right we are all for it.

Room Tip: Carr's has many dfferent accommodations including motel units, cabins, cottages, apartments. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I started going to Carr's several years ago during fall break...a little couple's getaway...first time we left our two teenage boys at home, the second time we took them and they loved it too...even teens need some quiet time. Pleasantly surprised, booked from reviews online. We were looking for quiet, peaceful getaway and we got it. Loved the fireplace and room by the stream. Family owned which is rare these days, nothing fancy but who needs glitz and glam when all we were craving was rest and to "unplug" from all our activities. Roasted marshmallows in the fire pit by the stream which has plenty of seating. Coffee at the desk. We drove to downtown each night for supper and then came back and relaxed by the fireplace. Hope to visit again next month. Wouldn't stay any place else. A true hidden treasure.

Room Tip: Choose a room by the stream with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordsville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

All I can say is I wished I would have found this place years ago. We will return. Great place to take your family! If you want to relax by the creek or just in your room, you will not be disappointed. It sort of feels like a resort of yesteryear but in a good way! We had a 2 bedroom cottage and didn't have to ask for anything more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Simple (like maid service on request, otherwise you take out your own trash & carry your towels to the laundry room :D ) but the best, absolutely! Far enough from the crazy of beautiful downtown Gatlinburg that you feel like you're out in the woods, but a couple hundred yards from a trolley stop that will take you wherever you need to go. The staff are great (they brew fresh coffee in the office every morning, and they remember my family every time we show up). It's not sleek and fancy, but frankly, in the mountains, we want cozy and comfy and clean. Right on a stream bank, complete with picnic tables and even grills (and close to a nice grocery, should you want to cook out!)

Room Tip: our fave rooms are the ones that overlook the stream (note--"second floor" rooms actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took a little last minute honeymoon trip to Gatlinburg. It was hard to find a place to stay a week before we wanted to go, but luckily they had a few available.
We stayed in a cute motel room overlooking the stream. For the price it was perfect! It was a short walk to downtown (we went back and forth at least twice a day.) They have a trolley, but we just walked. Staff was helpful and friendly. The bed was comfortable and it was nice having our own balcony.

My husband loved it and said he would rather stay there than any chain hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I had heard about Carr's from a friend and decided that would be our vacation spot this year. With a newborn and 3 adults we absolutely loved the cottage 3! Whole house to ourself at a perfect bargain!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

Address: 421 Laurel Road West, P.O. Box 728, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#12 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Carr`s Northside Cottages Hotel Gatlinburg
Carr`s Northside Cottages And Motel
Carrs Northside Hotel
Carrs Northside Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel to your Saves list