We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Save Saved
You added Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel to your Saves list
421 Laurel Road West, P.O. Box 728, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Highland, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We keep coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our 7th or 8th stay at Carr's and we have not stayed anywhere else since we found it. Most of the people we talked to have also stayed there numerous times. We stayed in a cottage with a balcony overlooking the stream for the 4th time. This time we stayed in one of the two story cottages. We liked it better because the bedroom was streamside so you could open the windows and listen to the stream below. It was so relaxing and I can't remember the last time I slept so well. I really enjoy getiing up early and having coffee on the balcony waiting for the daylight. I went to the office each morning to use the wifi before we went to the park. We spent early afternoon at the pool and late afternoons/early evenings at the picnic area by the stream.

We enjoy staying here because the location is close enough to walk downtown yet you are isolated from the sounds of it. Lack of shampoos, hair dryers, maid service, and wifi in the rooms is not an inconvenience for us. We can bring our own supplies and don't mind taking out the trash, exchanging our linens at the laundry room, or walking to the office for wifi. If cutting on those services can help keep the price right we are all for it.

Room Tip: Carr's has many dfferent accommodations including motel units, cabins, cottages, apartments. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    75
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
120
76
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I started going to Carr's several years ago during fall break...a little couple's getaway...first time we left our two teenage boys at home, the second time we took them and they loved it too...even teens need some quiet time. Pleasantly surprised, booked from reviews online. We were looking for quiet, peaceful getaway and we got it. Loved the fireplace and room by the stream. Family owned which is rare these days, nothing fancy but who needs glitz and glam when all we were craving was rest and to "unplug" from all our activities. Roasted marshmallows in the fire pit by the stream which has plenty of seating. Coffee at the desk. We drove to downtown each night for supper and then came back and relaxed by the fireplace. Hope to visit again next month. Wouldn't stay any place else. A true hidden treasure.

Room Tip: Choose a room by the stream with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordsville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

All I can say is I wished I would have found this place years ago. We will return. Great place to take your family! If you want to relax by the creek or just in your room, you will not be disappointed. It sort of feels like a resort of yesteryear but in a good way! We had a 2 bedroom cottage and didn't have to ask for anything more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Simple (like maid service on request, otherwise you take out your own trash & carry your towels to the laundry room :D ) but the best, absolutely! Far enough from the crazy of beautiful downtown Gatlinburg that you feel like you're out in the woods, but a couple hundred yards from a trolley stop that will take you wherever you need to go. The staff are great (they brew fresh coffee in the office every morning, and they remember my family every time we show up). It's not sleek and fancy, but frankly, in the mountains, we want cozy and comfy and clean. Right on a stream bank, complete with picnic tables and even grills (and close to a nice grocery, should you want to cook out!)

Room Tip: our fave rooms are the ones that overlook the stream (note--"second floor" rooms actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took a little last minute honeymoon trip to Gatlinburg. It was hard to find a place to stay a week before we wanted to go, but luckily they had a few available.
We stayed in a cute motel room overlooking the stream. For the price it was perfect! It was a short walk to downtown (we went back and forth at least twice a day.) They have a trolley, but we just walked. Staff was helpful and friendly. The bed was comfortable and it was nice having our own balcony.

My husband loved it and said he would rather stay there than any chain hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I had heard about Carr's from a friend and decided that would be our vacation spot this year. With a newborn and 3 adults we absolutely loved the cottage 3! Whole house to ourself at a perfect bargain!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were impressed the minute we drove up. Quaint, quiet, charming. A home away from home. Our kitchen was supplied with dishes, utensils, a microwave, toaster and toaster oven. We had plenty of towels. Carr's does not offer maid service unless requested, for us this was great because we do not like someone coming into our room unless we ask. The staff was friendly and it encouraged us that this was a 3rd generation business. The cottages sit on the edge of a river where there were plenty of sitting areas, grills and a covered bridge that you could easily access your way to downtown Gatlinburg. Warm friendly guest that you easily can start up a conversation with, these guest have been coming for over 30 years. A nice clean pool with adjacent hot tub. A great place for a family, older kids can walk the campus without fear of getting into trouble or hurt.Oh and the price was great we paid for two nights with the third night 1/2 price. Surely going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

Address: 421 Laurel Road West, P.O. Box 728, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Carr`s Northside Cottages And Motel
Carr`s Northside Cottages Hotel Gatlinburg
Carrs Northside Hotel
Carrs Northside Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.