We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon

Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon
705 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4912
865-436-9998
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 174 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Severn, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrific”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to Alamo. The steak was great and the salad was terrific. Mark our wait staff was attentive and very friendly. We highly recommend this steakhouse .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    255
    136
    94
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Mwal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place for beef and this was fantastic. I had a hamburger with no bun and it was more than I could eat but delicious. My husband had the ribeye and it too was excellent. I had read the Hersey bar dessert as delicious and had planned to have it but was too full. We also also had the fried cheese sticks and they are the biggest ones I have seen.I would absolutely recommend the Gatlinburg location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome steaks and salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our first experience at the Alamo. We first recieved rolls and our salad. Me and my husband just looked down and back up at each other. It was beautiful. It tasted as fresh as it looked. We were enjoying the salad so much we forgot about the steaks. They were next to arrive. PERFECT! One of the best steaks ever. A little pricey but no more than we usually spend at Longhorn. You get what you pay for. We also liked the fact that it was a little way from all the traffic downtown. A very pleasant expreience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things about my experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our hotel had recommended The Peddler Steakhouse restaurant for dinner and then we were in one of the shops in downtown Gatlinburg and the clerk suggested The Alamo. It was a Friday night and we didn't have to wait. We were shown to a table that was in a busy walkway but it was never disruptive.

We started with hot bread and soft butter. I ordered the caesar salad and it was wonderful - large and had chunks of parmesan cheese on it. I ordered the smallest filet and my husband ordered the largest ribeye. We both LOVED our steaks. Mine was tender enough to cut with a fork. They oak fire their steaks and it sets them apart. I have eaten at many fancy restaurants and have not had many steaks that tasted this good.

Excellent baked potato loaded with cheese and bacon.

Didn't have any room left for dessert.

One of the best parts of our experience was our waiter, Dan. He was so attentive and polite. Answered all of my questions, made suggestions, and checked on us often.

If you're in Gatlinburg, don't miss an opportunity to eat here. It's not on the main strip but is less than 1 mile from the main road and well worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Everything at Alamo is freshly made there from the salad dressings to the oak smoky steaks. Wait staff is mature and customer oriented.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Steakhouse & Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.