We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kingwood Inn to your Saves list
Kingwood Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   117 Bishop Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Surfside Bch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed here and Love it. Great location. Mary and all the staff were wonderful. I would recommend this place to anyone. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    37
    13
    12
    10
See reviews for
41
45
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed at the Kingwood Inn for 4 nights. Kingwood Inn is a nice hotel, close to downtown Gatlinburg, yet tucked away. The rooms were quite spacious and nice. The only thing I missed was that the bathroom was small. The owners Mary and her son are very nice and helpful.

The average price given on Tripadvisor is not correct though. I guess they have not updated it for a while. It is lot more expensive than what the price shown in Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington KY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We have never stayed in this hotel before and took a chance based on word of mouth. Glad we did! This was a great weekend trip. The hotel owners and staff were wonderful. Very welcoming from the moment I made reservation until we left on our last day. Rooms are very efficient. Not spectacular but perfect for a small family who wants to experience downtown Gatlinburg. The only downfall was a small bathroom. But the hotel has been kept up very well. (its a little older). The pool was very clean. Towels and pool toys were provided by the owners. We got to know both the staff and fellow guests. There was no breakfast included, but donuts and coffee were offered to us. Everyone was welcoming and friendly. Great atmosphere that added to the hospitality of the Smokies. Set off from the busy street, the nature was quiet and peaceful. The location was in perfect walking distance to downtown. You can cut through The Village shops which makes the walk a bit shorter. Even with a 7 year old we had no troubles getting around! Definitely will be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This was a very clean motel with very reasonable rates. The owners and the other lady at the front desk were so nice and friendly. It was far enough away from all the noise and yet close enough to walk to downtown Gatlinburg. There was also a trolley pickup at the motel. We will definitely stay here everytime we visit Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We have stayed at The Kingwood for several years. The motel is very old but is clean. I love staying there but will be anxious to see what the prices will be later this year. The new owners are doing a lot of nice things but I think they will try to charge too much for this motel. This is not a 3 + star hotel and therefore I will NOT pay 3 star prices. Hope they continue to keep the going prices as the other hotels in their area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We had 2 rooms, one with 2 queen beds and one with 2 queens and a kitchenette. Both rooms were very big and very clean. The staff were very friendly and very understanding when we had to cut our trip short. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Kingwood Inn is the best value in Gatlinburg -- if not the entire South. For under $200 a week, I had a large, well-equipped room, complete with fireplace, within walking distance of downtown. The staff, including Mary (the owner) and her son, could not have been more accommodating or helpful. There is a large pool and plenty of room to sit outside and enjoy the mountain air. Located at the end of the street on Bishop Lane, the hotel site is peaceful though only a couple of blocks from the restaurants and shopping on the nearby Parkway. An excellent value by any measure. I will certainly return again. --George Angell

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingwood Inn

Address: 117 Bishop Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kingwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Kingwood inn, you'll feel at ease in our tastefully decorated rooms with individually controlled heat/air conditioning. King and Queen size beds are available. All units with color extended basic cable TV, refrigerators and telephones. Rooms with kitchenettes or wood-burning fireplaces are also available. A launderette is located on the grounds for your convenience. All rooms are just steps away from Kingwood's sparkling, heated, 40-foot swimming pool with kiddie pool and sundeck. Also have Cabins Rentals on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Kingwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingwood Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.