We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greystone Lodge On the River

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greystone Lodge On the River
Save
You added Greystone Lodge On the River to your Saves list
559 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights Save 20%
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
N.Alabama
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2006

We stayed here this past weekend. The rooms were very clean. Smelled good. The tv was very small for the price we paid for the room. Loved the patio with chairs. Housekeeping does very good job. We would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Very clean rooms
  • Disliked — Small tv
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    135
    86
    43
    39
See reviews for
121
146
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, IN
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

I stayed at the Greystone only a month prior to this trip. This time I took two teenagers and my daughter for a little girls weekend. We got the double bed room. It was just as nice as the King Suite we had last time. The room was still big enough for my two year old to stretch her legs and have a little fun while it rained. I am definitely a returning customer!!

  • Liked — Nice and clean
  • Disliked — No indoor pool?
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

The Good. The location, Covered Parking
The Bad. The odor in the smoking rooms. Why any hotel still offers smoking rooms is a mystery to me. Seems like they could book their place quicker if all rooms were non smoking. We took the smoking because that was all that was left. We only stayed one night instead of two.
The Ugly. The room carpet, chairs, bed blankets. This place needs some work.

In reviewing other hotels for Gatlinburg, it appears no one is a clear winner. Seems every place is just average. Gatlinburg has lost its charm.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

My wife, stepdaughter and I stayed 4 nights at Greystone. Our 4th floor room was nice, but somewhat far from the pool. Everything is easily reached by walking or catching a trolley to our destinations. After we arrived, we never drove our own vehicle again until we left. Pool was nice, but a little warm for July. But was maintained every morning. The breakfast supplied by the hotel helped ease the pain of the room price, as breakfast would have been at least $25 for the three of us at any restaurant. We had a nice view of the river below and even walked in the creek one day. Avoid some things like Splash Mountain, if you can. $36 per and its usually packed and the rides are few. Ripley's Haunted house was lame and so was Guiness World records museum. Hope this helps someone.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenn
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

Arriving late after driving through a bad storm, we arrived to find the Greystone staff had given us a two person king room instead of the four-person two bed room we had requested. These things happen. The desk clerk offered us a smoking room in another building we'd have to drive to that had two beds. However, we had two children with us and didn't want them in a smoking room. When we explained this to the clerk, she informed us that we could take the room offered to us or check out. Twice. Following us to the door. At which point I asked to talk to the manager. We never did get to, stayed the night in the room with a cot. The morning crew was pleasant and gave us a room change, but acted as if afraid they'd say the wrong thing. Neither room had vents in the bathroom, but the second had mold. Add this to the fact that when we stayed here a month ago, I left an outfit in the closed cupboard they use for hangups(admitted my forgetfulness), but housekeeping said it was never turned in, although I'd called the second day after our stay. Hmmm. Needless to say, we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

we stayed at greystone one night on a whim. the first room which was creekside overlooked the creek and parking lot and you had to enter through a dark parking garage. and that room was very far from the pool. we requested a room on the ground level near the pool because we have a 3 yr old who loves to swim. we switched rooms with no problem. one drawback was there were no refridgerator or microwaves in the rooms. we got a refidgerator on request but had to pay around nine dollars extra for it. this should be a necessity in all hotels now days...fridges and microwaves, especially for people with children. we stay in pigeon forge and gatlinburg quite a bit and i have to say this is one of the best pools. very big. there is a kid pool connected to the big pool and the big pool is L shaped and 8 feet in the deepest part which was cool. the first room we had the toilet wouldnt flush, but the second room we got did, not great but way better. there were ducks on the lawn outside our balcony and a creek. i took my son to the aquarium which is right there, around 6 thirty pm, while my husband napped. it wasnt crowded so that was nice. there is a mexican restaurant right next door we wanted to eat at but it was too packed and they closed at 10 pm and there was a thirty min wait. if you eat there go before 4 pm. very crowded. so we ate subway right across the street. there is a wendy's and quiznos right there too. and the mountain mall and village are right across the street. the location is just great. i problably would stay here again, mainly because the location and pool. oh and the breakfast was good, buscuits and gravy was good, apples, bagels and cream cheese, juices, cereal, coffee, donut holes. we ate good enough to fill us up for a good part of the day. ok, that's all folks.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

The Greystone lodge is situated between the Ripley's Aquarium and the Best Western - and the price for a basic room was around $40 less per night than at Best Western. Our room had 2 queen beds and 1 bathroom- cozy but clean and very convenient if you plan to walk around town.
The swimming pool was clean and we had a great time. Greystone lodge is an excellent value and I would definently consider staying here in the future. (Bonus: Snack machines and drink machines handy to swimming pool!)

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greystone Lodge On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Lodge On the River

Address: 559 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 257
Also Known As:
Greystone Lodge At The Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel At The Aquarium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greystone Lodge On the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.