We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Greystone Lodge On the River

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greystone Lodge On the River
Save
You added Greystone Lodge On the River to your Saves list
559 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights Save 20%
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Frankfort, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have stayed here in the past but never again. Hotel is getting old and does not have wifi in the rooms. Upon arrival we found the room to be less than satisfactory. Multiple dead bugs in the bed and in the mattress. The room in general was unclean. Upon letting the front know they said this was there only room. We won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    136
    87
    43
    39
See reviews for
122
146
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellbrook, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent the weekend at Gatlinburg at the Greystone Lodge. This hotel looked okay on line but was NOT great. dead worm in the bathroom, hair in the tub, no internet in the rooms, gap between the door and the door frame where you could feel the cold air rushing in. The first day, I pulled the bedspread up on the bed just to make the room look tidy and when we got back from our day of hiking, housekeeping had been there and replaced the towels but I guess they thought the bed was made good enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is very convenient to downtown Gatlinburg. The trolley is right across the street. We went for the chili cookoff and walked right from the hotel. Clean, large room with balcony on the stream. Only con I would have is that there is no wi-fi in rooms and even in lobby where there is , I couldn't get on. The breakfast is so so. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Okay, this isn't the greatest place I've ever stayed but it isn't the worst. The positive. It was very quiet. We were on the 5th floor looking over the creek. The balcony was a pleasant place to sit morning or evening and watch the ducks. We were just steps away from the trolley so that was convent. After days of hiking the mountains and the city streets, the beds were comfy to sleep on. The breakfast, while very limited, was filling enough to last until lunch. The TV covered the stations I wanted to watch. The room was clean. the desk staff was polite and very helpful. The negative. The parking sucked. We were there a week and only got to park close to our room once. No wifi in the rooms. What is up with that??? You had to go to the lobby. The shower is EXTREMELY inadequate! Way under pressure and it dribbled out of the hard. The towels were rough but we had plenty of them. The hallways were dark, dingy, and musty.
All in all, knowing what I know now I would recommend this place and I would go back.

Room Tip: Go for the 5th floor and on the creek!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I loved it. I was very impressed with the cleanliness and size of the rooms. We did order a room with a fireplace but when we arrived they informed us that they did not turn the gas on until November, so that was a little disappointing (we stayed October 26 & 27). We did not have the breakfast so I cannot comment on that. The location was perfect. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paden City, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I gave this hotel one more try, I wish I hadn't. The rooms are okay but our room had no microwave and the frig sat on the floor. One day our room was never made up. We had to call the desk for fresh towels. The continental breakfast is minimal, we ate breakfast out most the time. The parking garage for floors 2 thru 5 is convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

So...the hotel is ok, but far from great. The rooms are moderate but clean, the place is maintained but certainly not heavily polished. The rooms over the creek are decent enough but the rooms on the backside of the hotel are kinda blah. Parking is a pain and accessibility is first come first served so if you have a handicap that limits your motion you're probably better served elsewhere. There is no Internet access at this hotel (save for in the lobby); they don't even have Ethernet jacks in the rooms. On the plus side, if you have a Verizon 4G LTE capable device, there is a good strong signal (4 bars in a room on the back of the hotel). Breakfast buffet is continental plus biscuits and gravy, so nothing special there either. We found a ladybug on the refrigerator when we got here; it looked like it had been dead a while.

The biggest selling point for the rooms is location, location, location. This hotel shares a parking area with the Ripley's Aquarium and is right in the lower heart of Gatlinburg. For placement, you can't get much better as everything is within walking distance and you don't need to pay extra for a place to park.

The price for our room was mid-range; $115 on the weeknight and $140ish Friday and Saturday. Our room had a king sized bed, balcony facing over the garage in back, gas fireplace, and pull out sofa. The room is very narrow.

Will we return...? Probably not.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greystone Lodge On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Lodge On the River

Address: 559 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 257
Also Known As:
Greystone Lodge At The Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel At The Aquarium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greystone Lodge On the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.