We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbrier Restaurant

Greenbrier Restaurant
370 Newman Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5049
865-436-6318
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 174 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Harrison
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Having been to Gatlinburg many times this was our first visit to Greenbrier. First off, if the roads are slick this restaurant is located up a very steep, curvy hill. Historic log cabin, intimate atmosphere. The wait staff was super welcoming and attentive.

Hubby had the 10oz Prime Rib and I had the Stuffed Tilapia.We both had salads since the dressings are made in house. Plated food was visually unappealing. I thought the Prime Rib was bland and my Tilapia had an off taste. Plus, I've never understood why moderate to higher priced establishments offer whipped butter blend for potatoes, bread- yuk.

Again nothing was awful but we will not be returning. Oh YES on Tuesdays they offer a BOGO Free if you pay with CASH. This was a nice savings.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    83
    45
    39
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Georgia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Valentine's Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We love the greenbrier restaurant! It has a great history as well as great atmosphere. I especially love the prime rib! Quaint restaurant with delicious food and great view!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great meal after Skiing all day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

After a long day of skiing, my friend and I decided to find a place to eat. We talked to a lady on the Ski Patrol who was a local, that recommended the Greenbriar. Because of all the snow, we were the only ones there. We were treated to fantastic beer and Bloody Mary's at the bar. We ate prime rib sandwiches and french onion soup. Food was great, and we felt like we were at an old Smoky Lodge from the 1930's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great atmosphere and friendly staff. We had a wonderful early Valentines Day dinner. The lobster was the best I have had since moving to East Tennessee 17 years ago...yes that's right. I moved here from California and I know what lobster should taste like. Great place to eat...expect to pay for what you get, but it is worth it!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Worth driving to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a bit off the main drag but well worth finding. The food and service were very good, and the situation, with the forest just outside was quite special.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenbrier Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Greenbrier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbrier Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.