We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Gatlinburg's hidden jewels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Italian Cafe & Pizzeria

Best Italian Cafe & Pizzeria
968 Pkwy Ste 9, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3137
8654304090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 180 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Braselton, Georgia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of Gatlinburg's hidden jewels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you can find the original Best Italian - tucked in the Elk's Plaza - and ask to sit out on the patio (weather permitting) you will enjoy the best Gatlinburg has to offer. First, the patio is just wonderful in the day or night. During the day, the large umbrellas over the table and ample shade keeps the area comfortable even in July and August. The little creek that runs between the patio and the hotel next door is charming. At night, the strings of lights offer good light without being obnoxious. Also, from across the creek you may be entertained by a family of racoons begging for food scraps. They are very hard to ignore.
Second, the food is very good. Much, much better than the average fare you find in Gatlinburg. The pizza's are excellent; the chicken or eggplant parmigean is very good. The service can be a little slow when the place is hopping, but still better than most places in Gatlinburg.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    277
    101
    88
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carthage, Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Italian in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

On our yearly trip to Gattlinberg we eat here or The Peddler and usually both. Excellent food great service and garlic rolls to die for.Parking a little rough, but we always stay within walking distance, also helps walking off the large portions. Try it you'll like it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Land, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The name of the restaurant tells it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This truly is the best, the pizza is outstanding, the calzones are so big that two people will have leftovers.....fresh ingredients make this a definite stop while vacationing in Gatlinburg!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A tradition to stop at in Gatlingburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

On my first night in Gatlinburg Downtown I went into this place and when you first go in it immediately puts in mind that you just walked into a bar or tavern that's dimly lit and is definatly a college hang out for the busy weekends. The menu is not overwhelming like some restraunts and the first time I got the lasagna. One order of lasagna can feed 2 people easily. The most recent time I went I went simple with spaghetti and meatballs and my friend got pasta with white clam sauce and again, both these portions could easily feed 2 people... Amazing !! The prices are reasonable for the sizes and the homemade garlic and Parmesan rolls are awesome . The only negative thing in the visit was that the clam sauce is very thin which in itself is fine but was a little soupy in all the pasta, so much that you could pour the juice and fill a separate glass but they served it with fresh hard clams and still tasted great. If you like Italian food this needs to be on your vacation stop.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Alabama
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Still the BEST ITALIAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I love this restaurant and I've reviewed it before. There are now two locations but we continue to go to this on a side street because there is parking. If you want to park go a little early or go for lunch. Everything is good and you will be full before you dinner comes with their wonderful butter dipped, Parmesan topped rolls. There's not a ton of atmosphere and the restaurant is a little old, but the food is just delicious!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Italian Cafe & Pizzeria also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Best Italian Cafe & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Italian Cafe & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.