We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seating for large parties available” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherokee Grill

Cherokee Grill
1002 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3106
+1 865-436-4287
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 157 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chattanooga
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seating for large parties available”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

My small party of 3 visited the restaurant on a beautiful October Friday night and were able to be seated in a reasonable amount of time. We noticed some very large groups were being served while there. We wanted a light meal and ordered sandwiches. They were excellent with obviously quality ingredients. I want to go back when I'm hungrier to try an entree.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    849
    379
    138
    58
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The atmosphere in this restaurant is very nice and kind of romantic. The food was good albeit a bit pricey (but everything in Gatlinburg is expensive). The service was very good. My only complaint was when we were being seated and were brought to a table, we asked for a booth and the host didn't seem amused by our requst at all. He did seat us at one, but did not utter another word after we asked. Sorry to put you out, dude. Its not like they were packed or anything. Would go back though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, TN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wanted a nice place for an anniversary dinner in a town noted for its amusement attractions and fast food. This restaurant was very nice. They don't take reservations and it can get crowded, but they do allow call ahead seating. It was not crowded when we got there, but we ate early. We both had the 7 oz sirloins and the meat was melt in your mouth, excellent. Mine was ordered medium, but came medium rare. It didn't really matter when the steak is that good. House salad was a cut above too coming with both cheese and bacon on it. Cheese grits were great. Dessert was an apple cobbler with ice cream, enough to feed two. The atmosphere is nice and is quiet which is a pleasant break from the pace outside. Our waiter was attentive and very nice. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not our favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ate here on a Monday night. Service was very good. Food was average. I was expecting better after looking at the reviews on Tripadvisor. Bread was tough. Cesar dressing was not good. Mashed potatoes were runny (for lack of a better word) although flavorful. Could have been an off night, but would expect better for the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
“Excellent Choice! Don't leave Gatlinburg without eating here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Seven couples with very different taste buds were totally satisfied with our varied food choices from fried catfish, fried or rotisserie chicken and BBQ ribs to prime rib, Cherokee Grill oysters, Maryland crab cake, smoked trout, and seafood salad! The food was off the chain, simple delicious!! Everyone was pleased. The appetizers and side items blew us away with shrimp bruschetta, chicken tortizza, creamy mac & cheese with spinach and Blue cheese grits! My personal favorite was the Cherokee Grill Oysters baked and served on the half shell with ham, lump crab meat, capers, spinach, topped with bread crumbs! OMG!! I could have eaten 2 orders by myself. This restaurant was recommended by a local woman who drove us down on the trolley. Hats off to her. Cozy atmosphere, excellent service, bar area for sports enthusiasts and a large rotisserie grill for public viewing featuring prime rib, chickens, etc. Reasonable costs and more than adequate portions. Courteous and knowledgeable servers

This is definitely a hot spot to visit! Don't leave Gatlinburg without trying their cuisine. It will be an memorable experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherokee Grill also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Cherokee Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherokee Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.