We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peddler Steakhouse

The Peddler Steakhouse
820 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
8654365794
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 174 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Nestled in the Great Smoky Mountains we specialize in great steaks and wholesome, flavorful food. Serving naturally aged steaks cut to your specification at your table and grilled over real Tennessee hickory charcoal, our menu also offers fresh trout and chicken. All entrees include our generous, fresh salad bar, and be sure to save room for our delectable desserts.
London, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Still the one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Last ate here over 20 years ago, loved it then and still do. Arrived around 8 pm and were quickly seated in the last table overlooking the river. Have eaten here several times years ago and never managed to snag these most wanted tables. My hand cut steak was melt in your mouth. They still include a large salad bar with your meal. The restaurant was not very busy and some of the items were not as fresh as I expected, but this was probably because of a slow night as staff were constantly replenishing. What more can you say about a great restaurant that has been a hit for over 20 years.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    218
    128
    77
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great food but a little pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I like this restaurant but it is a little pricy. Great salad bar and I've never had a bad steak here, I like the rib eyes. Drinks, alcohol, will really increase your tab. Service is good and so is the atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We called ahead, and so did not have to wait even though it was a busy evening when we visited. We were seated at a table by the window, overlooking the river which was definitely a nice touch! The salad bar was good, though nothing "special" - Ruby Tuesday's also does a good salad bar. The food was very good - nothing mind blowing but definitely nothing to complain about. We definitely enjoyed our meal with the Peddler and would probably go back if we visit Gatlinburg again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hometown, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Five-stars *****”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Absolutely the best! The salad bar is to die for. The service, presentation, ambiance, etc. was all top notch. We would make the two hour trip just to experience a great meal as often as possible.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The best restaurant for dining in Gatlinburg! We weren't sure as there are mixed reviews on trip advisor, but so glad we went. The steak was so good, we had a ribeye and the prime rib. The ambiance was lovely.. We sat at a table by the river. Above all was the service.. Do "call ahead" seating as they are booked. They sat us within 20 minutes. They don't take reservations. We went right to the salad bar which has a great selection and then the steak chef came to our table so we could see the ribeye and strip choices and mine was custom cut. Nice menu selections of steak and seafood. This is a dining establishment so expect to pay more. But we thought it was worth it! Enjoy!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peddler Steakhouse also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to The Peddler Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peddler Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.