We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Gatlinburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hogg's Pub & Grub

Hogg's Pub & Grub
170 Glades Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
(865) 325-1551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 173 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Great American & Mexican Food - ​Friendly Service - Lunch & Drink Specials Live Music Venue​s - Open Mic Nights - Full Bar ​- Large HDTVs w/Sports Smoke Free Inside​ - Warm Pub Atmosphere - Happy Hour Specials Outdoor Seating - Free Ample Parking - Pool Table - Corn Hole - Dart Boards
Muncie
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Gatlinburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had the MOST amazing dinner here. Some of the best food I've had in a long time, and the place was almost empty. It is just a short drive from the main strip in Gatlinburg on Glades Road, part of the arts and crafts community. Anyway, our server was David, who recommended several things, one being the cottage pie. It was AMAZING! I can't say enough about how good it was. We also had the pretzel with beer cheese, and that was great too! David was an excellent waiter, and made it even more enjoyable. We sat at an outside table, had a few beers and drinks, and thoroughly enjoyed the evening. It was hands down the best restaurant we ate at in Gatlinburg. Stay away from all the chain restaurants and try this place. I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We loved the pizza! It was huge, it had plenty of cheese, a great big, soft crust, and awesome flavor! The potato skins and draft beer were also great. The waiter was very friendly although it took us quite a long time to get the food. (We were there when it was not busy, so I would hate to see the service time when it does get busy.) There were plenty of TVs playing various sports and the staff was happy to change the TV closest to us to the NASCAR race. There was plenty of outdoor seating and a sign which welcomed pets as long as they stayed outside in the pet friendly area. I also saw customers playing cornhole outside. This is definitely a bar atmosphere, which we enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Service slow but food hot and good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our server was more concerned about here register than the customers. Many stood up and waved over at her. She was so upset about her register she did not even see customers that were waiting for over 10 minutes to place an order.
We accepted her apology but she could have had another server cover for her. They would not help us since we were not in there area.
One consolation is that our food was excellent.
Better service would have resulted in a better overall score of 4.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Indiana
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

When we arrived for lunch there was only one couple sitting. We were a party of 7, we had to wait for a long while to get our food. We had hamburgers, hot wings, fries etc. Not one this was great just average bar food. The atmosphere was nice. The service was very bad, no refills the whole time we were there. The waitress even said she felt like she was slacking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After touring the Arts and Crafts Community we stopped here for lunch. It was quiet then, just a couple of people in the bar and a couple in the restaurant area. The staff is patient and friendly. Everything was clean, including the bathrooms. Our burgers, Philly cheese steak, and buffalo chicken sandwich were all good. It was a hot day and we enjoyed sitting back in the a/c and watching the big screen in front of us. Nothing was spectacular about this place but they do a good job here and we would come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hogg's Pub & Grub also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Hogg's Pub & Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hogg's Pub & Grub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.