We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for price n location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River Edge Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added River Edge Motor Lodge to your Saves list
River Edge Motor Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   655 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Only for price n location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is old showing its age. Only good thing about it is price n location. The balcony is NOT over the river its across the street facing that way. There is a breakfast but we wouldn't recommend it. Maybe as lite snack.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
I am sorry you was unhappy with your stay. Nowhere do we state we are on the river. If you were told that by a booking service we are not affiliated with them in what they tell you. We would like for you to please come back and stay with us due to we are going to be making several different improvements in 2014. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    86
    45
    28
    46
See reviews for
108
101
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed at the River Edge last weekend and was taken care of very well. I paid a very reasonable rate on Priceline and wasn't given any attitude about that from the desk staff. Check in took just a moment. The room was ready, even though I got there exactly at 3:00 pm.

The room itself was very clean. I didn't see any dust. The bathroom and balcony were also better than presentable. The sheets were so soft and comfy. The TV was a CRT model, not flat, and I don't care. I can watch TV at home.

Things that are awesome about the room I stayed in: Sink inside the bathroom and one by the outer door to the room. Dimmable lights by the sink. Gas fireplace. Private-ish balcony. 2 minute walk to the parkway. Better view than most rooms in the area. Super-soft sheets. Quality wifi connection.

Things that weren't as awesome: I was there early in the week, but it looks like parking would be tight in busier times. The free soaps seem a little too cheap. The shower head made noise. These things wouldn't keep me from staying here again.

Room Tip: The rooms are all pretty similar, with exterior corridors around the rear and balconies facing the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at River Edge Motor Lodge and also for the time to write a review. We just wanted to let you know that we are in the process of some updates. Please give us another opportunity to make you happy. Just let us know that you are a repeat customer when you call in with your reservation to receive a discount. We are also going to be installing flat screen TV's and improving our breakfast, Starting in January 2014, to continue our improvements. Thank you for the compliments on the staff for we try to be as friendly and helpful as we can be.You can also check out our new e-concierge page on our website for valuable information
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was our second time this year staying at Rivers Edge Motor Lodge. The room that we had on our stay in June, was sub-par at best, see previous review. However that was far from the case this time, it was evident after talking to the manager that they're making changes, and for the better. We stayed this time in August, and noticed they had all NEW bedding, very comfortable and inviting. This time we stayed in room 102, and for the price, it was amazing. Kudos to HK as the room was very clean, much cleaner than the room we had in June. My advice is to try it out, the price is right, so you don't have much too loose. Will be back here during our NEXT trip to the Smokies! Very impressed!

Room Tip: Ask for room 102 with Fireplace, very nice! (I believe it was 102, it was two or three rooms up from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at River Edge Motor Lodge and also for the time to write a review. We just wanted to let you know that we are in the process of some updates. Please give us another opportunity to make you happy. Just let us know that you are a repeat customer when you call in with your reservation to receive a discount. We are also going to be installing flat screen TV's starting in January 2014, to continue our improvements. You can also check out our new e-concierge page on our website for valuable information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

After reading some of the reviews I was not sure about this place, it turned out to be a very clean place . The beds were wonderful very comfy. The staff were great very friendly and helpful. the breakfast was ok . The only thing is the parking when we came back from shopping we had to park on the street which I didn't like. I will stay there again .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at River Edge Motor Lodge and also for the time to write a review. We just wanted to let you know that we are in the process of some updates. Please give us another opportunity to make you happy. We be adding to our breakfast starting in 2014, to continue our improvements. Thank you for the compliments on our staff for we try to continue to be friendly and helpful. You can also check out our new e-concierge page on our website for valuable information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I just went to Gatlinburg for a little getaway. We arrived around 8:00 pm on a Sunday night and had already booked our reservations on line. We were checked in quickly by Steven, and treated very kindly. We loved our King sized room with a fireplace and king size bed as well as a balcony. The room was very clean and well arranged. The bed was the most comfortable mattress we have ever slept on. at the continental breakfast we were greeted and helped by Jessica, she was very kind and sweet. We were very impressed with all accommodations and the great price we received on line. We would definitely stay again!!!!!!!! Its very conveniently located as well. Was within walking distance of points of interest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for River Edge Motor Lodge. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We understand the sentimental values to you and hope to help you build more special memories. We are doing some improvements, so give us a call and lets start planning your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at River Edge. It was a pleasent experience and we plan to stay again. The rooms were very clean, and they all have private balconies. The beds were comfy, and our room also had a microwave and a mini-fridge. The hotel is obviously older, but they have done a fairly good job keeping it in shape. The breakfast is only so-so, but you have a huge selction of dining options within easy walking distance. The hotel is very convieniently located near the heart of downtown Gatlinburg. Not the fanciest hotel in town, but a great value if you want a clean, comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Spend the extra couple bucks and get a fireplace room, very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at River Edge Motor Lodge and also for the time to write a review. We just wanted to let you know that we are in the process of some updates. Please give us another opportunity to make you happy. Just let us know that you are a repeat customer when you call in with your reservation to receive a discount. We are also going to be installing flat screen TV's and improving our breakfast. Starting in January 2014, to continue our improvements. You can also check out our new e-concierge page on our website for valuable information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside Park, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for a quick trip to do some hiking in the national park. Room was large but very, very dated. Fixtures old, toilet stopped up, shower controls not dependable...water would run burning hot then ice cold. Looks like someone has tried to update a little (all the tables in the room has granite tops but looked like old furniture) Didn't see bugs but the carpet looked and felt very dirty. It is very convenient to all the downtown attractions and did have a refrigerator and microwave. It's not so bad that I didn't want to stay there but there are so many other lovely little hotels in Gatlinburg that are way better. Probably won't go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aba665, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
I'm sorry you was not satisfied with your stay. We would like the chance to make it up to you with your next stay. We are doing improvements starting in January 2014. We will be installing flat screen televisions and making improvements to our breakfast. I do apologize that your room was not up to par as far as cleaning. That issue has been addressed and a better job has been done. Thank you and hope you give us another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Edge Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Edge Motor Lodge

Address: 655 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Edge Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your River Edge Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Edge Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
River Edge Hotel
River Edge Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Edge Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.