We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, handy, comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Heritage Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Heritage Inn
575 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 86 hotels in Gatlinburg
Jackson, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, handy, comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

It's not the Ritz by a long shot, but we don't take a trip just to stay in a fancy room. It had everything we needed, pet friendly, clean, comfortable, everything worked, and it was very close to the convention center where I had business there. Didn't break the bank to stay there. I felt like we got a real bargain. Going back again in 2 weeks on business and we're staying there again. As long as I am getting clean, comfortable accommodations, I could care less whether it's "fancy" or not.

Room Tip: The Rondettes are pet-friendly if you have a family and need more room. We stayed in a regular room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
24
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minster, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Taking a short trip on a budget, we returned to this hotel for our 2nd visit (we stayed here over the 4th of July last year) As usual we found our room clean and ready for our arrival. The rooms are outdated and could use a face lift but they keep it clean and you cant beat the price or the location. The only thing we were very disappointed in was the pool nor the hot tub were up and running. The pool is still closed as it needed repairs and we were told by the male in the office they would not open the hot tub fearing someone would fall in the unfilled pool. They did make it up to us on the nightly rate.

Room Tip: The handicap rooms on ground floor have huge bathrooms. The end rooms have their own balcony with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family has stayed at Mountain Heritage Inn for many years and on many occasions. We haven't, however, stayed in the Rondettes since 1994 until now. The Rondettes are perfectly round, free standing units beside the main hotel structure. They are equipped with two bedrooms, two full baths, a living area with a queen sofa-sleeper, recliner, gas logs, central a/c, and a fully equipped kitchen. Out front is a full deck with charcoal grill, table and chairs.
Mind you this is in the middle of town on River Road, but is somewhat secluded, relatively private, and very quiet. There is easy walking access to the Parkway as well.
Our stay was fantastic with four adults and four kids. The place was spotless clean and was like home away from home.
In eighteen years, these structures have stood test of time with obvious great care, which the same can be said for the entire facility at Mountain Heritage Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

First time staying at this property. This location has rooms and individual cabins they call Rondettes. Decided to go with one of the cabins. Very old and outdated but clean. Beds were kind of hard. Furniture very outdated but you can't best the location. Would not be somewhere I would return to year after year.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

For well over 20 years I have been traveling to Gatlinburg, Tennessee to attend the Smoky Mountain Gift Show located at the entrance of the great Smoky Mountains. I have stayed in just about every hotel, motel, cottage, Inn, bungalow, and room in town. About 10 years ago, we were told about the Mountain Heritage Inn, located at 575 River Road, Gatlinburg, Tennessee.

The proprietors are real nice folks, (Hello Louise) who understand a traveler and are ready to help when something comes up. The Inn is located in the heart of Gatlinburg making everything within walking distance. The room rates are very affordable. This exact cottage, room 127, is $74.99 per night. Before you say that other establishments offer lower rates, take a look at what you get for this price.

First, the cottage is a stand alone structure. It does not share any walls with other rooms. This offers enormous privacy. It has a nice little front porch with old fashioned rocking chairs and a grill for cooking burgers or hot dogs. A quick right turn from the room and you find the pathway to the Parkway, the main road of Gatlinburg and the convention center.

Inside the cabin, there is a spacious kitchen with round table and chairs, a mini stove, full sized refrigerator, microwave, kitchen sink, counter, cupboards, toaster, dishes and utensils. Everything needed to have a cooked meal in your room.

Moving along, the bathroom was large and clean with all lights working. (I absolutely hate when lights are burned out) The sink counter was large to hold all my toiletries and a large mirror to help in shaving. The shower and tub surround was sturdy and the water pressure strong.

As you enter the main living area, the heater and air conditioner is located on the right side of the wall. Amazingly, it was very quiet compared to other floor units. A comfortable recliner to watch TV in and a work desk with lamp plus several drawers for your clothes.

On the far right side of the room, a gas fireplace sits. It’s very easy to use, merely turn the switch, set the timer and sit back and prepare to get toasty. To the left of the fireplace is the 25 inch TV set with a good channel lineup. Below the TV is a dresser for clothes.

But wait, there’s more. There’s a hot tub in the room. After a long day of work at the show, a nice relaxing soak does the body good.

Lastly, a king sized bed with a firm comfortable mattress with clean sheets and covers. Plenty of fluffy pillows to sleep soundly.

Before we get to the photo gallery of the cottage, let me tell you one quick story about one of my trips to Gatlinburg. We had gotten a late start and with the drive time roughly 10 hours, we were going to get in town quite late. I called ahead to Louise and explained the situation, that we would not be there by 6pm, but more likely around 11pm. With the office closing at 6pm, Louise said that she would tape our keys to our doors and in the morning come in and register.

Sure enough, our keys were on our room doors. Try that at another hotel.

There you have it, the cottage at the Mountain Heritage Inn. At $74.99 it’s a pretty good bargain for what you get.

Now onto the gallery.

Room Tip: Cabin 127 which was critiqued is a stand alone and adds extra privacy, a mini kitchen, and larger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Went to gatlinburg for Christmas parade and stayed at mountain heritage and we stayed in room 115 in was very clean the room is dated but it was clean the staff was very nice will back next year meet another couple and they come down from north Carolina evey year and there like the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have always stayed here but this last trip wasnt so pleasant, dead bugs, night stand looked like somebody spilled something all over it, spot on the blanket, room was freezing when we got there, big crack in the door that goes to patio, refrig wouldnt get cold, t.v needs updating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage Inn

Address: 575 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
#28 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Heritage Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mountain Heritage Inn to your Saves list