We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price and Location are good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Heritage Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Heritage Inn
Save
You added Mountain Heritage Inn to your Saves list
575 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Alabaster, Alabama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Price and Location are good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Absolutely bare bones but clean and convenient. The only things furnished are soap, toilet tissue and Kleenex which is OK since I always take my own shower gel, shampoo, etc. Take your own coffee maker and coffee if you want coffee in your room. They do have free coffee in the lobby. The lighting is terrible - so dim you cannot see you apply makeup. It is an older motel and very dated but it was very clean. Bed was just OK, heater/ac unit appeared to be relatively new and was quiet. WIFI was furnished and worked really well. Price was great. All in all, it was good for a short stay and we would stay there again. I do think they need to put in some brighter lights, at least above the mirror.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
29
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stay here every year for our anniversary and love it. Its a great location to walk around town and return to your room at night.This time we rented room 101. It is a great room to have,it has a seperate bedroom,couch kitchen,fireplace and balcony.The price was good and the room was clean and comfortable. We have already booked a room for NewYears.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are the nicest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It isn't fancy and it's certainly dated in appearance and functionality compared to modern hotels but for the money it was a perfectly fine place to stay. We spend most of our time in the park or on the strip anyway so the amenities of the hotel are not a high priority. What was missing for the price? There weren't many places to plug-in chargers and appliances conveniently although we didn't suffer because of it. Wifi in the room was inconsistent and spotty. The hot water in the shower was a little unpredictable at times. But everything else was very adequate.

The great part is the location. The main drag in downtown Gatlinburg is an easy walk away and access to the park is wonderfully easy via River Road. No traffic to fight by staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We happened to get a handicapped-accessible room, although we hadn't requested one. There were 2 sinks with mirrors, one outside of the shower area, which was a good thing since the bathroom fan didn't work. The bedroom had a microwave and refrigerator, but lacked any chair that was movable and had no table or desk for eating. There is no breakfast provided. The lighting was poor. There was some noise from neighbors going in and out all night. The location away from the main strip was a plus to us. There were a couple of restaurants fairly close by. The room was clean and the bed was OK. The price was good compared to most in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

This was a perfect place to stay. No bells and whistles (continental breakfast, coffee in room) but VERY neat and clean. Shower was hot, AC worked great and right in the heart of town. All other hotels wanted $125 and up, so the $70 per night was great. This is the way a hotel should be run. I definitely will return and I am telling my friends about it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The family stayed here in Sept. of 1991 fro the first time it was great. Been coming back and forth to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg since then over 217,000 miles and we love The Great Smokey Mountains. We never could remember the name or the location of the MHI but this past wekend we made it a specail thing while in TN to look for it. We found it!!!! I was excited and so was the wife. I couldn't wait to see the small cabin type outside. They were there and it was a welcome sight. The kids have all grow up now so our trips will be the wife and myself, maybe grow kids to, but I just had to stop in and ask about the rates and so on. The people there were friendly and when I explained how we came about them they were glad and welcomed us back. The place was as great now as it was then. This is a must stay and we will!!!! Thanks Mounatin Heritage Inn this is what vacations are about.

Montgomery ALabama

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here again the second weekend in June after picking up my Marine son from Parris Island, SC to take him home on leave. There were 9 of us so we got 3 rooms together on the 2nd floor. This motel has not changed much in the years we have been coming here. There's no breakfast bar (god forbid!), no fitness center (gasp!), and no "work-all-year-just-to-pay-for-my-vacation" high price (thank god!). This is a basic motel, family owned, quiet, and, as far as we have ever seen, clean. We love the place and have not stayed anywhere else in Gatlinburg since we found this place about 15 years ago. It has an outdoor pool with hot tub, free coffee in the office everyday until noon, rocking chairs in the shade outside the office to relax in, an elevator to the upper floors, and a few concession machines. If you need all the "bells and whistles" stay somewhere else and leave this place for folks like me who want to relax but not go broke on vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage Inn

Address: 575 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Heritage Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.