We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away-Rare Bear Villas of Gatlinburg” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas of Gatlinburg

The Villas of Gatlinburg
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Villas of Gatlinburg to your Saves list
The Villas of Gatlinburg
201 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stay away-Rare Bear Villas of Gatlinburg”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

We recently stayed at the "rare bare" at the Villas of Gatlinburg. It was pretty bad. It said it slept 6 people, but two people were supposed to sleep on a sofa bed, that turned out to have food in it, a huge bar that ran through the center of it, and no sheets. Two of the other residents were supposed to sleep on air-matresses. All for $150/night! Also, the cabin was really poorly apportioned, with only 4 plates to use, so we were constantly washing those dishes. The people who answered the phone were really rude too at Villas. Overall, about a D+.

  • Disliked — Dirty, not as described.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    4
    15
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

Reserved a cabin, $45 non refundable reservation fee. OK no problem. Called to cancel 45 days out and I am informed by the snot-nosed kid that I was being charged a $75 cancellation fee. Excuse me? $120 for 2 phone calls? I was never informed of this fee on the phone, never received the policies in the mail stating this fee, and it is NOT listed on the web site. The people are shysters of the highest level. Report to BBB, chanber of commerce, and of course I will dispute my credit card charge.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2007

Do not stay with Villas of Gatlinburg and especially in Indian Sunrise. What a dump!!! The home entertainment center was not hooked up. The thread count on the sheets were very low, like sandpaper. The place had holes in the wall and plaster falling from the cealing. It looked like it had not been cleaned in forever and was very dusty and moldy smelling. The staff was incredibly rude and in desperate need of a TOTAL QUALITY MANAGEMENT seminar. I was told it would be decorated for the holiday season. A couple of very ugly red and green dusty "swags" over some very ugly paintings is not what a normal human being would consider decorated for Christmas. Our small children expected more than this that is for sure.
The jacuzzi had something green living in the bottom of it. Since one party with us was certified in such things as maintenance of pools and whatnot, it was his recommendation that we not use it.


We go every year at Christmas time and next year we will do likewise. However, we will not do business with those people. Deliver what you promote.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

Do not stay at Indian Sunrise #1270 with the villas. The housekeeping and maintence was horrible. We stayed their Feb8-11 and was disgusted with what we saw. The chalet looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in months. There was a thick layer of dust on everything in the livingroom. Their were cob webs in the ceilings and dust on the ceiling fans. You shouldn't have to worry about light bulbs being out but we had 12. Teh flood light bulb outside was broken inside of it, so we couldn't use that. We called and complained but nothing was ever done to come and fix the broken light or toliet and ect. They also have the nerve to leave an envelope for a tip for cleaning. How am i going to leave you a tip when you can't clean in the first place. How rude.

Beware of what you see on their website. The pictures of the cabin on the internet aren't always true. First off the picture show that this cabin has a projection screen tv downstairs but no projection screen tv was there. They replaced it with a different tv. Next they show a gas fireplace. Upon arrival the gas fireplace does not work. We weren't told and no note was left on the fireplace. It's the winter time that we went so it would have ben really nice to use something that they promote on their pictures. They also say they that the two bedrooms have tv's. Yes the do have tv's but the one room can't use a tv because there are no electrical outlets to plug it into. The one bathroom toliet was running constintly. We had to turn the nobe on and off so we didnt have to hear it running. We could have left it running and cost them money but we were kind enough to do that. When looking at the toilet we noticed that they tried to rig it by using a dime. Cheap People. The hot tub looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. There was crap in the bottom on the hot tub and the jets weren't working right. I'm not getting in something that looks like that. Have they even used chemicals on it? Yuck. Beware.

In one bedroom you could tell they just wanted to fix the problem and go. The ceiling had some type of problem that they used a piece of ply wood on and nailed up on the ceiling and then tried to do a paint job over it which was piss poor. There were two areas in that one room that were like that. If this house is supposed to be owrth a half of million according to the villas then they are lying out their ass. You could see where also the owner must have had pictures or fixtures up where they took them down and didnt take nails out or even patch the holes.

When i called and complained to the villas the customer service person continued to say i'm sorry about that. There's nothing we can do about it because its the owner repsonsibility. I see they called and complained. You think that if someone called and complained about light bulbs being out someone would come and fix it but NOPE! The customer service also kept saying i see what i can do about it but they aren't going to do anything about. If they are the broker for the owner then they need to get their owners into shape and say fix it or we cant be your broker anymore. You know " It's easy for someone to say sorry when they already have their money."

Our next vacation to Gatlinburg will not be with the villas. I will find a company that is proactive and shows they care by coming to fix something that's not correct and showing their customers respect.

DO NOT STAY WITH THE VILLAS OF GATLINBURG OR AT THE INDIAN SUNRISE #1270...

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The housekeeping and maintience of the chalet was horrible and gross.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

We never got the chance to stay, so we we have no knowledge whatsoever of cleanliness, or lack thereof.
HOWEVER, we do have knowledge of this company's business practices (and by the way, "Above The Smokies" is located in the same office, I wouldn't trust them either).
I was doing alot of research about where to stay on vacation, and had narrowed my search down to only a few places. "Villas of Gatlinburg" was one of those. My son, who is a minor, thought he would be helping me out by making the reservation for me, so he got my credit card and did so. When I found out, he was punished for it, but when I tried to explain to the company, they said they would charge $120 to cancel!! And that is on top of the $45 they charge to make the reservation!! So we are out $165, and never even stayed! Never even saw the place, except online. The reservation was cancelled in less than one week after it was made, so I doubt if the company had any loss because of it. Go to their site and read their "rules"....they will charge you $100 if you disconnect the tv and forget to reconnect it!!! There are a bunch of strict rules like that which make it difficult for real families made of real people to get out without paying for some sort of "damages". I reported them to the Knoxville BBB, and found that mine was the 20th complaint in 36 months. So, if you want my advice....spend your money elsewhere...there are tons of places to stay up there.

  • Tips/Secrets — Read and ask many questions.........spend your money elewhere!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

We rented the Wolfsong Villa in July 2006. One thing that I noticed is that the price on the website shows one thing, but when you book, they will tell you something different. You have to remind them about the rate that their website shows. Also, on their website, it said if you book three nights, you get free tickets to the aquarium. Well, at check in, the lady at the front desk stated that after you go to the aquarium, bring them the receipt and they will reimburse you.....Never got that far.

As far as the "Wolfsong" is concerned, on the outside, it was just a mess. The hot tub is underneath tons of trees, so there were all kinds of things flying around while we were in it. Oh, and the grill.....basically non-existent! It was an extremely small grill with no cover located in tall grass...Who would want to put meat on that thing?

On the inside, I must admit the cabin did look exactly the way it did on their website. The tv in the living room was nice, but the tv in one of the rooms didn't work at all and the tv in the other room was about to go out at any minute...The quality was very poor.

We went to look for the community pool, but it appeared to be deserted and very creepy looking. We just went ahead and headed to Dollywood's Splash Country.

I mean, for $95 a night, it wasn't too bad, but I won't stay there again. I would much rather have a cabin with a view and one with a private balcony. Anyone could have walked up on the deck while we were in the hot tub.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — View, Hot Tub, Grill, Community Pool
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

Million Dollar Views! This is a new cabin with four bedrooms (3Kings=2 with adjoining bathrooms, 1 with a jacuzzi in the room and full bathroom just outside the door, & 1Queen with adjoining bathroom) and a large loft with a king bed and adjoining bathroom. The cabin information on the website is correct. We were very skeptical about booking with this company after reading the negative reviews. I believe booking this particular (NEW) cabin saved us the "headaches" others experienced. Just make sure you document any existing damage or defects to the company's staff.

  • Liked — Spectacular view of mountains and sky
  • Disliked — Steep and narrow mountain roads and driveways
  • Tips/Secrets — Check the weather forcast. If ice or snow is present and your automobile is not equipped for these conditions, you may not be able to reach your rented cabin properly, nor receive a refund or exchange. Do not approach the bears that roam the area, nor let them approach you. Follow guidelines!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas of Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas of Gatlinburg

Address: 201 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Villas of Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas of Gatlinburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.