We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ripley's Moving Theater

Ripley's Moving Theater
904 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN
865-436-9763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 48 Attractions in Gatlinburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the thrill movies you ride now powered by Real D 3D as used in Harry Potter, Transformer, Cars 2 & Many More! Feel Every Bump, Dip & Turn! State-of-the-Art Motion Simulator! Ride the Movie, Feel the Rush!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
crow wv
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So much Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I love these types of rides, 3-d seems so real. I really felt like I was on a sled going down a steep hill...LOL But I will say it does jolt you quite a bit, not sure someone with back troubles should ride.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    63
    56
    33
    42
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“it was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This came with a Groupon package. It's a very bumpy, jerky ride. The graphics were interesting but nothing amazing. The Groupon package was worth it as a whole, but I probably would not buy individually and certainly not for the retail ticket price.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“"It's... SNOWING!!"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We didn't plan on stopping here. But walking by my son wanted to check it out. There was only five of us in the theatre and the staff was nice. The first movie of the "double feature" was a bumpy bamboo roller coaster that was to jolty for my taste. I'm sure my son was comfortable, but the darn chair kept whacking me in the back of the head, and when the bucket chair leans to far back you can't see the 3D threw the glasses anymore.

The 2nd feature was a chase scene using the characters from Happy Feet. It was a lot better, the 3D looked nicer, and the ride actually seemed to being going along with what was happening on screen. There was fake foam snow, along with the shots of water you get in the face like in the 1st movie.

My son enjoyed it, but I could have passed. The most enjoyable part was listening to the reactions of the crazy mom with two kids behind us, "Oh my God were gonna DIEEE...." "He SHOT me in the FACE!!" If she hadn't been in theatre, I probably would have given this place a lower rating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“BE READY FOR THE RIDE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I didn't think this ride would really be so fun. Only thing I will say, when the attendant that works there tell you to take off your, camera, hat, or place your cellphone in a secure place, they mean it. If you have kids under the age of 5, I would ask if it would be suitable for a child that young. I also had a groupon for this attraction

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This Sucks!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Hard to put it any other way. This attrations sucks. 3d was bad, double images and not clear. The ride was very rough. Staff was rude indeed. And most of all is very expensive 50 dollars for a family of 4. I complained after the ride and staff didn't care , just said sorry. I had planned to go to more Ripley's attractions it cancelled those plans after this experience. Save yourself don't go to this attraction!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Moving Theater also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ripley's Moving Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripley's Moving Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.