We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful where you sit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gatlinburg Sky Lift

Gatlinburg Sky Lift
765 Parkway, Center of town at traffic light # 7, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
865-436-4307
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 97 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Douglasville, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Be careful where you sit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The day we rode, it was snowing. The ride to the top was peaceful and beautiful. Gatlinburg views below were also beautiful. The ride on the way down was uncomfortable as the attendant did not get all the ice and snow from the seat. We were frozen and soaked when we reached the bottom. We laugh about it now.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    825
    601
    332
    69
    30
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gardendale, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The ride was great it was high enough so we could see everything. There were deer below us that we took pictures of.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Good Views and Deer were out under us. We got some great pictures of them. The ride was wonderful. The chairs would swing from time to time in which I did not like at all...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool, but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We did enjoy the ride up the mountain, very peaceful and the view is amazing. But it is $26 for two adults, and it takes you to a gift shop, where a 12 ounce soda is $2. They do take your picture on the lift and we did buy it and got a frame for it at the gift shop. The picture was decent, but again, kinda pricey (the frame was less expensive and it's a cute frame!:) Probably a one time thing for us.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We were warned...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The price is way over hyped for this ride. Its an awesome scenery, granted, but you'll see a similar effect just riding through the smokeys and stopping at an sight seeing section. If you're more into a natural experience of the smokes rather than the unique variety shows/food and entertainment this might be for you... We did enjoy it, but not for the price.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun but a little pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed the Sky Lift to the top of the mountain. It's a lot of fun, especially on the way back down when you can see below and off into the distance. However, it seems a little expensive ($26) for two of us for no longer than it takes. Was a little disappointed when they give you the option to upgrade your ticket within the hour for a few dollars more and then they won't let you use the upgrade among your group - they wristband you and only that person can use it. But - after you've been up once, there's nothing more to see so not really such a good deal after all!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gatlinburg Sky Lift also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Gatlinburg Sky Lift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gatlinburg Sky Lift, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.