We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely crafts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arrowmont School of Arts & Crafts

Arrowmont School of Arts & Crafts
556 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
865-436-5860
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 50 Activities in Gatlinburg
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Everything from furniture making and woodturning to pottery and marbling is taught at this comprehensive 50-year-old arts and crafts school geared to all ages and skill levels.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely crafts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My friend and I watched a weaver...she was fascinating. She patiently answered all of our many questions. We especially liked the stained glass. I enjoyed the knitted hats for children. The jewelry was amazing!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flossmoor, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top Notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Arrowmont is a wonderful place to hone a craft -- in my particular case, metals. The instructors are internationally-known, published artists at the top of their game. It's summer camp for adult artists, a chance to immerse yourself into your art and improve your skills. The food is good, too! I highly recommend the experience. This will be the third consecutive year that I've made the pilgrimage to this 102-year-old institution.

The Arrowcraft shop with its beautiful items for sale is nearby, and together with the school is a welcome relief from the otherwise junky stores and scary and noisy traffic of Downtown Gatlinberg.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
164 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
873 helpful votes 873 helpful votes
“Nice craft guild items but most are too pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The shop has some very nice craft guild items and there are some small and reasonably priced things but most are way over priced. I can't imagine paying $970 for a wooden rocking chair no matter how well it was made. First and last time we'll go in here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldspring, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This shop is fantastic with quality items available. We wish we'd had more money and time to spend!

Gatlinburg is filled with junk but this is a wonderful, worthwhile stop because it benefits the artists who create the beautiful treasures they sell.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Smoky Mountain Crafts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have visited this shop several times over the years and have always found lovely items to purchase!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arrowmont School of Arts & Crafts also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Arrowmont School of Arts & Crafts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrowmont School of Arts & Crafts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.