We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but a goodie!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverhouse at the Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverhouse at the Park
Save
You added Riverhouse at the Park to your Saves list
205 Ski Mtn. Rd., Gatlinburg, TN   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Covington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oldie but a goodie!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We love this hotel! It was so comfy, like being in your grandma's downstairs! Its not "high tech" or "fancy-schmancy", but it is clean and comfortable! And the donuts in the morning...out of this world! It is in a great location to walk to the parkway, but far enough away that it is quiet. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    62
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
104
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We chose this property since it was so close to the entrance of Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We did not walk the trail that actually takes you to the park visitor center, but it looked like it would be a nice hike! It was easy to park, enter and exit from the hotel. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is dated, but we expected that from looking at photos posted on Tripadvisor. Our room was clean and very large, but seemed dark. The shower had great water pressure! There were enough shops and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. We were glad to avoid driving though town everyday. We were out of our room before the doughnuts were ready in the morning. There were always extra doughnuts in the lobby later in the day!

Room Tip: Our room was on the end and overlooked the river and falls. Our room was also closest to the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times over the past 30+ years and keep returning. The rooms are over sized and the location is superb if you are a national park lover. Right on the Park boundary. You can even Take a 2 mile Riverside trail right into the park Just a few steps from the front door.
The rooms could use some updating but they are kept clean. Many have balconies over the river.
Had a laugh reading the reviewer who thinks it is next door to a sewage plant. It is a WATER TREATMENT PLANT NOT SEWAGE. The water intage is from the Little Pigeon as it emerges from the national park.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Had a wonderful time especially the motel made it perfect. It was so quiet and peaceful. We had a lovely view of the river. Great location. Would return again. The service was excellent. The room was very clean. We enjoyed the coffee and doughnuts that they brought to our room.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the third floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had the room with the view of the river and it was wonderful. The room is very big and comfortable. Being near the entrance to the park was a plus to avoid the traffic through town.The staff was helpful and polite. A must place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a room overlooking the river and it was wonderful! The sounds of the rushing water was the perfect lullaby for a great nights sleep. The room was spacious with two loveseats for relaxing. It's just outside the park so it's a perfect location to walk to Sugarlands Visitors Center if you wish or stroll down the streets of Gatlinburg. After a day of hiking, the jetted tub or long hot shower (with the best water pressure around) is the perfect way to conclude a long tiring day. The mattress could have been replaced but all in all we would return in a heartbeat and in fact we have stayed there several times and not been disappointed. Oh yes! Don't forget to order the orange juice and donuts for breakfast...they bring them to your room and are excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harmony, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a very spacious room overlooking the waterfall. Extremely quiet and relaxing. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because the bathroom was always cold since the sink and counter blocked the heat from reaching it. Would still stay again-I would just bring bedroom slippers! Really enjoyed having FRESH homemade donuts delivered TO THE ROOM each morning. Delicious!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverhouse at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse at the Park

Address: 205 Ski Mtn. Rd., Gatlinburg, TN
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#7 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Riverhouse At The Park Hotel Gatlinburg
Riverhouse At The Park Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverhouse at the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.