We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean rooms with a wood burning fireplace-no better location for the Gatlinburg experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverhouse Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverhouse Motor Lodge
Save Saved
You added Riverhouse Motor Lodge to your Saves list
610 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Columbus, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very clean rooms with a wood burning fireplace-no better location for the Gatlinburg experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We just returned home today from a four night stay at this location. First of all, I will tell you that it is a little dated, both inside and out. We travel quite a bit, and I probably would not have initially chosen this hotel if I had searched for one on the internet. The walls are wood paneling, and it really seems to have been frozen in time from the 70's. That being said...we LOVED it. Our extended family has been staying at this hotel every year for a very long time. They insisted that we stay there with them on this visit to Gatlinburg. We were not disappointed!

The rooms all overlook the river and the hotel is tucked away on a street behind the main drag downtown. Our room had a beautiful wood burning fireplace that we used every night. The bathroom is updated and clean. There is a pretty large refrigerator in the room, as well as a microwave and separate dressing area. The carpet looked new and the bedding and towels were very clean and fresh.

A few steps down to the river, and the kids could feed the ducks each day. We could take an easy walk into town to see all the touristy stuff, but return back to the peaceful seclusion of our hotel-it was perfectly located.

Each morning, we were able to dial the office for breakfast, and within a few short minutes, a pot of coffee, cocoa for the kids, donuts and toast were delivered (complimentary) to our room. Great coffee!

The kids and I went for a run each morning, and we were a few short minutes from a nature trail leading into the park. About 21/4 mile run to the Sugarland Nature Center. What a beautiful, peaceful way to start the day.

The staff is very friendly and hard working. Yes, this place is old-fashioned and not in the same league as the Ritz, but they don't claim to be. It really is the only place I can imagine staying again in Gatlinburg. Perfect place for a long weekend in the Smokies!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    43
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
50
81
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Riverhouse front office has a sign that reads something like: "This is a smoke free facility." It is NOT. They have changed to no longer allowing smoking in rooms. So what does that do? While you are sitting on your wonderful balcony enjoying the stream, the Marlboro Man and his wife are chain-smoking on their balcony below you while on the balcony beside you, another couple are smoking only slightly fewer cigarettes -- only because they each sound to be in the process of coughing up their smoke-filled lungs in hacking fits, continually spitting over the railing.
The maids sit outside on the curb and smoke on their breaks -- which is fine. I didn't pay top-dollar to stand in the parking lot. THAT is where smoking should be allowed -- if they are going to allow it -- NOT on the balcony. People just pass through the front parking lot, not try to sit out there and enjoy vacation.
Our room may as well have been located over an open sewer and next door to a garbage landfill in the summer. If you smoke you probably don't understand; if you don't smoke you probably do and have suffered through this.
I understand smokers have rights but so do I and I shouldn't lose mine because of someone else's.
Finally, we love this lodge and have stayed there many times, and will continue to do so. This is just something that needs to be corrected. ALL the good things others have written are TRUE: great staff (they worked with us on a minor room concern and fixed it quickly, very friendly); wonderful location (the best); upgraded bathrooms are really nice; can't beat the breakfast (fast and tasty); wow fireplaces; clean; and that glorious stream outside your balcony (if you can use it).
BUT -- and I can't believe I'm writing this -- it was better when Riverhouse ALLOWED smoking in some rooms. At least then the smokers could stay indoors and just ruin that room. Now Riverhouse has forced them to go outside, and they're going onto the balcony and ruining other people's expensive vacations.
PLEASE ALLOW SMOKING ONLY ON THE FRONT (PARKING LOT) SIDE, IF YOU ARE GOING TO CONTINUE BEING A SMOKING FACILITY.

Room Tip: If you're not a cigarette smoker, be prepared to enjoy the delightful stench of those who are. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautier, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

At first, we were disappointed by the outside. Very old and rustic. However, the location was great, right in the middle of downtown. We could walk across the street and have access to everything we needed. The room was clean and comfortable but a little dated. A delightful balcony right next to the stream. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was updated with plenty of hot water. Had a dressing room with sink outside of the bathroom as well as a sink in the bathroom. Liked that. We did not get a room with a fireplace but may do so next time. Overall, we stayed 2 nights and would stay again as we were pleasantly surprised. Did not take advantage of the morning coffee, donuts but will next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have stayed here for 4 years straight. Great location one street over from the center of town. Easy walking distance from all the attractions. Super clean rooms, comfortable mattresses, wood or gas fireplaces. ( pay extra for the wood room) Awesome fresh made donuts and really good coffee brought straight to your room each morning. Make reservations early.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our first stay at riverhouse motor lodge, it sure wont be our last.The rooms were very clean, the location was great too, you walk out the parking lot entrance and you are at the back entrance to smoky Mountain moonshine. The fresh doughnuts for breakfast were delicious, you call them when you are ready for breakfast and they deliver it to your room, they would have it delivered to our room within minutes. They also have a laundry room which makes it nice when you staying a length of time. The only thing you need to do is buy your laundry detergents elsewhere. The creek is beautiful and so relaxing to sit on the balcony and take it all in. We already made our next reservation to stay again. We are looking forward to our next stay with riverhouse motorlodge. You wont be sorry when you stay here, you too will want to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Best shower I have had for a long time, on the road. Clean, quiet, very relaxing. A little retro in the room, which I appreciate. Great people. Convenient to great restaurants. Variety of rooms, easy access to second floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here for the past several years when we've made trips to the mountains. We enjoyed having a fireplace in the room and a balcony overlooking the river. We always reserved our room ahead of time so we could get our favorite. Last year they called to ask us if we would switch rooms so another family could get 2 rooms together. We agreed to the switch and gave up our favorite room. This year my husband ended up in the hospital and we were unable to make our trip as planned. I called the office 5 days prior to our reservation to see if I could reschedule (because my husband went into the hospital) and they said they would not reschedule or refund our money because we did not call 7 days prior to our reservation. We were gracious enough to work with them over the room change last year but they could care less that one of their regular customers missed the deadline to change a reservation by 2 days. I told them to enjoy our $160 deposit because it would be the last dime they would get from us.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else...these people really don't give a s**t about you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaMetcalf, Manager at Riverhouse Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We always try to please our guests by meeting their requests(certain rooms, location, etc) when at all possible. We had held this guest a certain room since November 2012. We confirmed the cancellation policy at least twice. Problems always arise when this policy cannot be met. Transferring deposits work for the customer, but in this case, still does not solve our problem of rebooking the other 3 nights that had been reserved(they forfeited 1 night deposit only). If we allowed "canceled too late" deposits to be transferred, then our cancellation policy is void. Most of our guests can understand our position; it is unfortunate that some cannot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverhouse Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse Motor Lodge

Address: 610 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Riverhouse Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Riverhouse Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverhouse Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.