We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverhouse Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverhouse Motor Lodge
Save
You added Riverhouse Motor Lodge to your Saves list
610 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked our room based on the reviews others had posted and we couldn't have been happier! It's a very easy walk to the main strip in Gatlinburg, even in the rain. The place might look outdated on the outside but our room looked like it had been recently updated and made us feel as if we were in our own little cabin. We had a king room on the first floor which had a mini frig, microwave and jacuzzi tub. Our favorite part of the day was in the mornings sitting on the balcony listening to the river, enjoying our coffee and donuts while feeding the birds, chipmunks and squirrels! Another surprise was how fast breakfast was delivered to your room after ordering, usually in 5 minutes or less! We highly recommend this place and will definitely stay here next time we are in Gatlinburg. The only thing negatives about the room, no soap, lotion, etc like most hotels and we were only given 2 towels, 2 wash clothes and 2 hand towels each day I guess we could have asked for more but we made it work. No big deal for us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in Gatlinburg for one night at the Riverhouse Motor Lodge. The rooms have a cabin feel to them and while our room was a little dated and worn, it was very clean. The Lodge is right on the river and you can hear it from your balcony. It was really nice to be at a place that is within easy walking distance to the downtown places to eat and shop, but because of its location it is still quiet, with a feeling that you are staying in the woods. The doughnuts for breakfast were a nice touch.

For a cabin-like experience it was very good, but do not go expecting a luxury modern room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rgag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

At first I was thrown because the place is dated and I'm used to a more modern hotel feel. It could definitely use some updates; bedding, curtains, carpet, and main sink area with drawers are old. Bathroom is updated with a wonderful shower/Jacuzzi tub. OMG! This is the hidden gem of the room. You walk in to the front bathroom dressing area with refrigerator, microwave, and closet. Going through a small walkway you enter into a huge room with king size bed, fireplace, night stands on each side, a table and two chairs, flat screen tv, and two chaise chairs all that opens up to a beautiful and relaxing view on the river and trees. I was sad that we not able to use the fireplace because its the off season for it. It was low 60s when we got here the first night so it would have been nice. You have to call for shampoo for your room, however it is complementary. Our tub had a plug issue but was fixed in minutes. Breakfast was here in less than 5 minutes of calling! Donuts, coffee, and oj. It was great ate and drank everything! Nice staff too. Would have liked a screen on patio door to hear the stream running all night. Overall this is a great hidden gem. Parking here and walking up the the parkway was great. Two blocks from everything!! Close enough to everything, with great amenities, yet secluded enough to feel like no one is around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digitalfireangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
363 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Painted the color from the seventies-could look newer
Rooms semi updated including baths-should have painted the old paneling and added base
Outdoor amenites in need of upgrading
No screens on the windows or door to enjoy the river noise

Sharing a glass of wine on your patio and hearing and watching the river--PRICELESS......

overall a good value and agreat location for the money....

Room Tip: All rooms are riverside but opt for a king with a wood burning fireplace (Nov. to May) for the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at the Riverhouse since 1973. It is clean and well maintained and the primary staff members have been there for years and are very knowledgeable and helpful. It is quiet with balconies on the river. Nothing like that river sound for a good nights sleep. If desired, your room can have a real wood-burning fire place supplied with all the seasoned hardwood you need. We recommend this motel highly and we are sure that all its amenities will enhance your stay in Gatlinburg. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JLW315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights this past weekend and what we got was about what we expected. We had a 2 queen room and it was a good sized room. The room was clean and the balcony over the river was awesome. It was relaxing to hear the river flowing at night. The room is dated but the bathroom was nicely updated. We usually try to stay at the Park Vista or Garden Inn so the style of the room was certainly not what we are used to, but that's ok. As i said, It was pretty much what we expected and almost fun to step back in time a little. The location is excellent. An easy walk to a lot of the best restaurants and shops. The staff was kind and helpful. The room had a slight smoke odor to it when we arrived and we called the front desk and they assured us it is a non smoking room but it has only been that way for a year. They did offer to send housekeeping in with a fan,etc in the morning to see if they could lighten the odor. We did order the donuts this morning and they came prompt and warm!
Overall this is a nice place to stay as long as you know what to expect. It certainly is one of the nicer family owned hotels in the area. The price and location are good. I don't know if I would stay again or stay more than a night or two but I would recommend it to those who enjoy the smaller locally owned places!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMLTC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.E. Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The rooms at the Riverhouse Motor Lodge are roomy, clean and each room has a view of the river. This is one of the few family owned hotels left in Gatlinburg, and is worth checking out. Location is great.... Not right on the main strip, but just a short (1 block) walk.

A+!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
#1 of 85 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#11 of 85 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 85 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#17 of 85 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse Motor Lodge

Address: 610 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Riverhouse Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Riverhouse Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing