We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverhouse Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverhouse Motor Lodge
Save
You added Riverhouse Motor Lodge to your Saves list
610 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
N.E. Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The rooms at the Riverhouse Motor Lodge are roomy, clean and each room has a view of the river. This is one of the few family owned hotels left in Gatlinburg, and is worth checking out. Location is great.... Not right on the main strip, but just a short (1 block) walk.

A+!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    43
    9
    2
    8
See reviews for
51
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I,ve never slept to the sounds of a river roaring by my door, but I got lucky at Riverhouse Motorlodge. We left the door open all night just for the sound & woke up to watch the sun hitting the water on the Pigeon River. Coffee and doughnuts were fresh & hot too. Another plus was the 2 big comfy chairs in which to relax by the fire. I would definitely come back here. P.S. bathroom was newly renovated, clean and nice .

Room Tip: All rooms face the river, so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Returned back to hotel after 20 + years. We travel to Pidgeon Forge - Gatlingburg at least once per year due to close distance. We normally stay at the larger hotels since we generally know what we will be getting and often trips are planned at last minute. This motor lodge was special and we will plan ahead next time and return again.

We were in room 15 near the office, first floor. We chose wood burning fireplace which had a jacuzzi type large tub. Yes, little dated as compared to new hotel but this is what Gatlinburg is all about. (or used to be) Quaint, on the river and very special. Exceptionally clean. Loved that you could park your car right in front of door! We splurged and indulged in the homemade donoughts for breakfast. Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The good reviews here were all correct. Just stayed the weekend with my family and was beyond happy with the hotel. Very clean room .. We had two queen beds and the room had lots of room . If your looking for a quality room without setting the wallet on fire this is the room place for you. All the rooms overlook the water which is relaxing. The continenal breakfast is delivered to the room in about 7 or 8 mintues after you hang up the phone . Also being within walking distance from all the downtown attractions was a plus.I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our first visit to the Riverhouse, but will not be our last. Excellent location and service. Our room had a balcony overlooking the river and a wood fireplace. The fireplace was fully stocked each day. This is an excellent property to relax, enjoy the area and recharge. Continental breakfast delivered to room was also a plus.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Pleasantly surprised with our weekend stay. I normally would stay at the more well known chain hotels. We made a last minute plans to visit Gatlinburg and found the Riverhouse Motor Lodge. The room was large, little outdated, however it was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was recently remodel. Balcony overlooking the river, wood burning fireplace and homemade hot donuts delivered to the room in the morning made the stay very enjoyable. Next visit to Gatlinburg will include a stay at the Riverhouse Lodge.

Room Tip: Every hotel/motel on River Road is call River(something). Make sure you look for River "HOUSE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Walk in check in was fast. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room had rustic cabin-like feel to it. All rooms look out to the river. There are 3 options: no fireplace, gas fireplace or wood burning fireplace. We chose no fireplace. The room was clean and comfortable. Room had fridge and microwave. Did not eat the complimentary continental breakfast. The bathroom was excessively cold. The heater for the bathroom really didn't work too well. Next time we will get a room with a fireplace. Water pressure for the shower was excellent. The location could not be beat! It really made our stay in Gatlinburg great. We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverhouse Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse Motor Lodge

Address: 610 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Riverhouse Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Riverhouse Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverhouse Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.