We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place for a cozy, romantic stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverhouse Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverhouse Motor Lodge
Save
You added Riverhouse Motor Lodge to your Saves list
610 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Caryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“This is the place for a cozy, romantic stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very comfortable rooms with balconies overlooking river. Motor lodge situated under trees and river side. We had a large room with two arm chairs, two queen beds, table with two chairs and a wood burning fireplace. Wood for fireplace is furnished daily. Rooms come with refrigerator and microwave. Rooms very clean and nicely decorated. Exterior entrances. Rooms are quiet with no noise from other customers. WiFi available. Bathrooms very clean. Great water pressure. My only complaint is that in the winter (we were there during some very cold weather) the bathroom is very cold. There is an electric heater in the bathroom, but when turned on produced only luke warm air.
Breakfast consists of homemade doughnuts delivered warm to your room along with choice of tea, coffee or hot chocolate.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room in the middle to maximize view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    51
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
65
104
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Large comfortable rooms with balconies over the trout stream. Our room had a large wood burning fireplace with ample wood and starters inside your room and replenished daily. Fresh coffee OJ doughnuts toast and Jelly delivered to your room promptly every morning. Two large easy chairs and a small breakfast table. The only negative is all reservations must have an upfront deposit of check or money order. Upon check in the remaining reservation must be paid on advance but they will take credit cards. They are very accommodating and helpful

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

An older motel, but very very clean. Updated bathroom sparkled. We had lots of room and we loved having morning coffee on the balcony overlooking a stream. I saw some reviews that didn't like the hotel across the street, but from our room the trees hid it. I would have liked a coffee maker in the room, but it was nice having it delivered to the room along with donuts in the morning. I wish I realized we could order a pot of coffee instead of just a cup earlier in our stay.
It is close to the downtown area, yet away from the crowds. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

LOVED the location of this hotel. It is one street back from the main strip in Gatlinburg, but it feels like you are miles away from everything! Shops & Attractions are a short 5 minute walk away. Aquarium is right down the street to your left, & Uber Gatlinburg is a short walk down the street to your right.

Room was nice. Older hotel, but clean & comfy. Rooms are nice & large...plenty of room for the kids to play. All rooms have a balcony overlooking the river...beautiful view. Pool area was clean. Be sure to take the ramp to the river & take a few pictures there! :)

We had a great stay & will stay here again when we return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

large room with nice art. very cozy. beautiful view of river off personal balcony. river access to see baby fish and ducks. Right in downtown. Clean pool, bathrooms, grounds, etc. Fireplaces in winter. Reasonable costs. 100 per nite. coffee juice hot choc toast and donuts for breakfast. queen beds. stay every year. We LOVE IT. Fridge and micro. rustic. Feels like your deep in the woods, but the street is very close!!!

Room Tip: no fitness area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outside Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were very satisfied with our stay. We were here 1 night in August. It was very dated, but clean and comfortable. The room was large but cozy. the balcony was private, overlooking the river, we watched some people fishing, and saw some birds and chipmunks. Close enough to walk to attractions, and the management was kind enough to let us leave our car in the morning after we checked out and let us walk to some more of the shops and things in the area saving us at least another $5 or more in parking. I absolutely loved that they brought us coffee and donuts in the morning!!! They said Homemade donuts - so I think i expected warm and something more - they did have a great taste and with me, you really can't go wrong with coffee and donuts, and there is a microwave, so I can't complain too much. It was very nice. I would definitely recommend and we would stay there again. A little pricey for what we got, but maybe it's the location.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony. I didn't see an elevator for the 2nd floor, but there was a ramp if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine,Fla.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We arrived in Gatlinburg on a friday afternoon July 27th 2012.We drove down River Road and found the River House Motor Lodge and checked in right away.It is such a welcoming place with it's clean swimming pool and nice air conditioned rooms.The beds are so comfortable and quiet and I love that the shower area is seperate from the dressing area.There's a small microwave and a nice size mini-frig.There was a fireplace which I can imagine would be awesome in the winter time.The best two things about this hotel are it's location which can't be beat (it's a hop skip and a jump to the parkway but yet seems so secluded hidden away in the trees) and the fresh donuts and coffee you can have delivered to your room every morning.My husband and I were so spoiled,we loved it.We have been staying in this hotel for 10 years now and it is still as great as it was when we first found it.It is a little piece of heaven right there in Gatlinburg.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the first floor so you don't have to drag your lugguge up the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
#1 of 86 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 86 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#21 of 86 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.7 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#31 of 86 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse Motor Lodge

Address: 610 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#7 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Riverhouse Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Riverhouse Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverhouse Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.