We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gatlingburg Space Needle Provided Great View of the Smokies and Gatlingburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gatlinburg Space Needle

Gatlinburg Space Needle
115 Historic Nature Trail, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
865-436-4629
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 48 Attractions in Gatlinburg
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Gatlinburg Space Needle is an all steel observation tower served by two elevators with a capacity of 20 persons each. Ride our safe and comfortable glass elevators over 400’ to observation deck for 360° view of the Great Smoky Mountains and the resort city of Gatlinburg. The view is a panorama of beauty without equal year round. Enjoy Higher Learning, an educational experience from the Space Needle’s perspective, with free view finders!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Gatlingburg Space Needle Provided Great View of the Smokies and Gatlingburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went as a family and most of us are very afraid of heights. The ride up and the platform were just fine for us. The views were fantastic, and since we can walk all the way around the needle there were many great views. Also, the telescopes were free to use, no charges to use them! Unusual in the day and age. Of course there was a fee to go up the needle on the elevator, but it was worth it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    152
    68
    20
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great view, fun time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The view from the top was incredible but the whole thing felt so shaky! It was a little bit scary being up there, so we didn't stay for very long but the pictures we got plus the cool views made it totally worth it! Plus there is an arcade right at the base of the tower and they have an olde tyme photo booth. That was an adventure in and of itself!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great View of Gatlinburg and the Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The fee for the Gatlinburg Space Needle actually includes two trips up, so this was a bargain. You ride the elevator to the top and from there you can see all of Gatlinburg and the roads leading in to town. It is a spectacular view and includes information at the top, explaining what you are seeing. I had done this previously during the day which provides a better view. This time was after dark, but the trip up was still worth the time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very affordable view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

$8 for as many times in 24 hours that you want to go up. Not busy when we went at all. Elevator goes up every 4 minutes

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Space Needle - June 2013 Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The view was amazing and the pictures I took were cool but the cost was too high for the ride up compared to how long you really spend up there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gatlinburg Space Needle also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Gatlinburg Space Needle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gatlinburg Space Needle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.