We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet resort in beautiful mountain setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Laurel Point Resort to your Saves list
Laurel Point Resort
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   805 Ski Mountain Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quiet resort in beautiful mountain setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a week from 7/13/13 to 7/20/13 as we used points through the timeshare company, RCI, to reserve this week in Gatlinburg. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit which was very comfortable with a full kitchen. The mattress in the 2nd bedroom was a little hard, but the front desk confirmed that the mattresses in Building A, where we were are going to be replaced at some point down the road. There is a huge Jacuzzi in the master bathroom. This was our first time staying here and we had a great time. We may see a bear while staying here as there are lot of black bears in the area and have been known to wander through or on the property we have been told. The resort had a lot of fun activities for guests each day. On the Monday we were there, they invited guests to the office where various vendors from area attractions came with free gifts and tickets to attractions such as Parrot Mountain, Wonderworks, whitewater rafting, ziplining and all of the many area shows they have in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. This was NOT a time share presentation so you know. This was a great opportunity to hear all about the area attractions and shows and it was very informative. We were fortunate to win some free tickets which saved us a lot of money. We did wonderworks and parrot mountain (which is near Dollywood). The indoor swimming pool was nice as well as the hot tub. There are also outside grills if guests want to use and there is also a children's playground near the back of the property. The resort is located on Ski Mountain Road and is close to downtown. In bad weather, you may need all wheel drive to make it up the steep mountain roads leading to the resort. We have all wheel drive and had no issues even with it raining really hard one of the days we were there. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Since the early 80's, our family has owned two weeks in July at this time share resort. Normally, we have been reasonably happy with the resort. So it is with some regret that I write this scathing review.

Bear in mind, the weeks before, during, and after July 4th are the busiest weeks in the summer Gatlinburg resort market. Why would anyone ever schedule onerous and loud projects during peak season , especially when it is not emergency work?

Today, since 8am on a Tuesday, I have had Yellow Tape out in front our unit. Hammers banging away. Drills hammering through concrete. Workmen clanging. All of this is right outside door. The sign on the yellow tape said for residents ot to use the elevator. Let's hope noone is handicapped on the upper floors, since that is the only ADA access to the upper floors.

But that is not all. My unit is at the end of the A building. The C Building was under construction on Sunday, yes, Sunday, all day Sunday. The C & A building are next to one another, and the units under construction were on the end of the building next to A, so we could hear through the wall of our unit saws ripping wood, drills, and I think we even heard a hammer drill or jack hammer. Enjoy a nice relaxing sit in the rocking chair on the balcony.. with all the construction ruckus. Ahhh.. the mountains.

Monday, seven or eight parking spaces in front of A building, most of the parking for those units, were taped off, preventing access and use for most of the day to those units, 4 floors of units.

On other fronts, when I arrived at the resort, I had trouble even accessing the room. I always arrive After Hours, and there is a After Hours lock box service to gain your room key. This year, the 3rd party call center had no record of my arrival, and therefore did not have a key. It turns out, after finding another number to call into the system, that they were able to find a person who works at the resort who had not been at work in several days, who answered the call from her second job. She was able to let me into the lock box, and sure enough my key was in the box. The resort staff simply had not given that information to the answering service. The staff member who was on call that night, July 5th, was not answering her phone. So, it was dumb luck that Kayla answered her phone when she was not even On Call, and she at work at her second job. If she had not answered, I would have had to seek a hotel room elsewhere at 11:45pm with a cooler full of food that would have spoiled by morning in unless the hotel room had a refrigerator.

As for the unit itself, the furnishings in the living room have not been updated in about a decade. The dining room table has a leg that will collapse and send the entire table to the floor. The coffee table has a similar problem, so don't put your feet up on it, or rest anything more than the weight of a magazine. The sliding glass doors are in poor repair, and look to be about 30 years old, and do not securely shut. You can hear the traffic from all those fun loving & adventuresome Harley Davidson riders going by the road, just below the entire stretch of the A & C buildings. Leaving the resort, you are taking you life into your own hands since the driveway is a very steep and access the road from the inside of a blind hairpin turn. There was a fish eye mirror across the street, but since last year, someone has customized it by apparently gun shots. Gives a very homey, Mountain feel.

If you are used to good service when you are traveling, Gatlinburg is NOT the place. It's a have/have not demographic were a very few people own most of the property and businesses, rents are sky high, and wages are very low, and somehow, people just see fit to move away to find better work. Then there are the exchange students that soak up the jobs that locals would have worked, so that all adds up to a train wreck when it comes to hiring qualified management and employees. (I have a cousin who used to manage a corporate restaurant int his market, and he is thankful they have relocated him out of the market since the quality of labor here is very difficult to work with.)

We had been up in the park to photograph the sunset, and came straight down by about 9 or 9:15pm. To see the sunset, you really do have to go up the Park Road to almost to Newfound Gap, or drive over to Pigeon Forge. Kitchens, even in the summer months, shut down right around 9:30 or 10pm in Gatlinburg. So to eat and see the sunset, you really have to time it just right or you'll end up eating at Denny's.

There are several nice looking "featured" restaurants at the gateway to the National Park. We tried them all, and did not succeed in eating a meal. Calhoun's sat us for dinner, and noone spoke to our table for 10 minutes. We got up to leave, and noone stopped us. I had to actually say something to the hostess as we left, because she did not even notice that the table she just ushered in, was on their way out the door. No, it was not crowded, and we were the only people in the lobby as we left. And better still the manager was right there, and said nothing, even though he overheard my letting the hostess know of our departure and why we were leaving. So, we go across the street to the Cherokee Grill. The Host was unable to read the seating chart, honestly said he was new, and needed to find someone to help us. He never returned. So we left. We went to the Park Grill, and by now it is 9:45pm, about an hour after sunset. Their kitchen was already closed. We finally ended up at the Volunteer Pizza place on Ski Mountain Road, not really a sit down joint, but mostly deliveries. Jim and Gina runa legit pizza joint, and at least we had a good pizza with nice, intelligent, normal people.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floors in B or C building. Avoid A building, since you can hear more traffic, and pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were super satisfied with the place when we stayed over the long weekend holiday. Place was huge (2 bedrooms) with kitchenette, huge jacuzzi tub, and even a balcony with breathtaking view of the blue ridge mountains/smoky mountains! we arrived gazing at the huge full moon in a dramatic backdrop of the mountains and same thing on the morning with the hazy peaks greeting us. This is a definite stay-in place if you ever think of visiting the Great Smoky Mountains and also nearby Gatlinburg (which also I am surprised with their main street showcasing all those fabulous dinner shows, fares, and restaurants I almost thought it's the Vegas of the South!)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel staff very friendly, condo was clean and very roomy, although bathrooms were dated. Had problems with hairdryer and jaccuzi tub upon arrival and repairman was there within minutes to fix it. Beautiful view of the mountains from our balcony. Game room had all the essentials (at no extra cost!).
Pool was warm, hot tub clean and relaxing.
Short drive to Gatlinburg but away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Why would anyone stay at the Park Vista or the like when you have this place? Two private rooms, two bathrooms (one with a massive jacuzzi), living room, full kitchen, and balcony or you could go get a room with two doubles down at Fairmont for $50 more. I'm already booked for nine days in April!

I have a few details I would like to share;
1; you can check in late, but only with an outside phone; no 24 hour desk here. If you do check in late, you will still need to meet up with the front office for parking pass, etc. in the morning.
2; The road leading to the hotel is a bit steep and tight; main entrance is a blind spot.
3; You are housekeeping, as you are to take out your own trash, set the A/C, and remove used linens before checking out. I cant remember the specifics, but thats the just of it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Resort was comfortable and close to the ski slopes. It had beautiful views of the snowy mountains. i could see the Tram from my balcony. My kids loved to see it during the day and enjoyed it lit up at night . Decor was average and had all the essentials. Pool and hot tubs were a plus. Easy check in and check out procedures.

Room Tip: A and C building have views of the Ober ski Tram and the snow peeks. Very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory, IN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We go to the smokies every year in the fall and we always stay at Laurel Point Resort. The units are always clean and the new King sized beds are very comfortable. I especially love the quilt set in the master bedroom. The entire master bedroom looks very "warm" and inviting. To top it off, there is a HOT TUB for TWO in the master bath (and a hot tub in the indoor pool house).

We LOVE the view from our balcony. It is very quiet and it is relaxing to look at the mountains and not all of the buildings that are downtown. Since we like to hike in the mountains, play in Townsend, watch the shows in Pigeon Forge and eat in Gatlinburg, it is the PERFECT location for us. It is right on the edge of the Smoky Mountains and only 2 miles from downtown Gatlinburg. To top it off, the staff are very good at helping us get "around" the traffic. That is important because we get to spend more time relaxing and less time sitting in traffic.

The management has been making the resort nicer each year. The indoor pool area, hot tub, sauna, exercise room, and game room are all awesome. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. Also, there is even a place to sit around a campfire and roast marshmallows. My favorite thing is trying to win FREE tickets to some of the shows and attractions. That always helps us hold some of our costs down and that allows us to do more things while we are in the area.

More than anything, the staff are absolutely AWESOME. They ALL seem to really "care" about our comfort and they go above and beyond anything that we expect. They treat us like "family". Also, they are always willing to refer us to the best of everything. We have found some of the most awesome places to visit, play and eat because of the recommendations from the staff. We are still finding new things to do in the area. This year, we ran out of vacation before we ran out of things that we wanted to do. Thankfully, we get to go back next year. We can hardly wait.

Oh, by the way... we have seen bears each of the last 4 years. AWESOME!!!!!!

Room Tip: The top floors have the best views and there are ELEVATORS:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Point Resort

Address: 805 Ski Mountain Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laurel Point Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Laurel Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Point Hotel Gatlinburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.