We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1520 Garrett Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Butcher House in the Mountains)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Gatlinburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
McDonough, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Definitely a place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The rooms were extremely comfortable and clean. The host couple are both very kind and generous, were more than helpful on suggesting things to do in line with our interests, and made sure that everything was as near perfect as could be.

The breakfasts were out of this world and worth half the price of the stay!

It is also one of the few B&B's in the Gatlinburg area where you can confidently use your phone's GPS program to get there and back to your activities. The mountain roads sometimes don't work that well for other locations in the area, wanting to take you on off-road excursions!

We will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: The two-room suites are very nice and worth the extra few dollars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    5
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
83
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic weekend stay at the Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast. Bob and Shirley were such gracious and helpful hosts- they even stayed up late Friday night when we were running late to check in and showed us around. The room was beautiful, the bed was very comfy, and the view as we had our coffee on the deck the next morning was incredible. Shirley made 2 delicious 3 course breakfasts for us (the strawberry soup and the confetti frittata with polenta and brown sugar bacon were my favorites) and while we ate Bob told us about the history of Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. He was also able to recommend some good trails and let us borrow a book from the library about waterfall trails. We had a great stay and look forward to staying at the Foxtrot again sometime.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Thank you to Shirley & Bob for the most pleasant hospitality! The breakfasts were so wonderful and our overall accomodations were as close to home as you can get. We would highly recommend the Fox Trot to anyone. We even saw our first black bear on the grounds! The location was fantastic, easy to find, and the views are " off the charts Beautiful".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a great trip to Gatlinburg for the Gaither Fest concert series and was not only pleasantly surprised by Gatlinburg and surrounding areas, but the hosts at Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast really made our trip memoriable. Bob and Shirley are gracious hosts who make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Shirley's gourmet breakfasts are stuff of legends, and she quickly adapted her menus as soon as she found out about my dietary restrictions. Each day was a three course adventure into gourmet dining, with a unique twist on some standard breakfast fare. The blueberry french toast was unbelievable, as was just about everything else they served. They had fresh baked cookies and banana bread available throughout the day for snacking, as well as chocolates and fruit in the room. The house is beautifully decorated and our kingsize bedroom was exactly as portrayed on their website. The only thing grander than the house was the magnificant Smoky Mountain view from the back balcony.
The only caution I would give when staying at Foxtrot is to make sure you have a good GPS in your car or phone. The 2 mile windy road from downtown Gatlinburg to Foxtrot can be very tricky if you try to navigate it on your own. We used our GPS both going down to town and coming back up to Foxtrot all 4 days...even after a dozen trips or more up and down the mountain, we still managed to make a wrong turn here and there. It's tricky but well worth it.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms athe Foxtrot. We had the downstairs king bedroom but I understand there are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Foxtrot is an unique experience. It is both a bed n breakfast with it's charm and serene atmosphere but it is also a culinary delight. Breakfast has taken on a whole new meaning for me, with the three course masterpieces Shirley created every morning. I still miss the bread pudding with white chocolate sauce and the eggs cherokee with homemade biscuits. Not only is the food amazing but the level of service that the Bob and Shirley show their guests is impeccable. You feel like you are fine dining in the a.m. Not only sweet and charming, they are also filled with great conversation about history and the area. The Foxtrot has a great library with lots of books on hiking and guides for the park. If you need anything Bob and Shirley will find it for you, and show you how to get there. The rooms are just as charming with local art on the walls and the rich decor. Truly a peaceful night's sleep after a hike in the mountains, stroll down town or driving through the park, the bed is amazing. Would recommend staying at the Foxtrot for a getaway or just to get the breakfast, seriouly that good.

Room Tip: The Roaring Forks room is downstairs and is very cozy and has a very private feel and although facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a great trip and the bed and breakfast couldnt have been better. The view, location, amazing food, kindness, and knowledge was all perfect. They really did absolutely everything they could for us to make us feel at home and have a good trip. We will go back again for sure and cant say enough about this bed and breakfast and about Bob/Shirley.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the Fox Trot B&B. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful! Our room and bath as well as the common areas were cozy, clean and beautifully decorated. Shirley and her assistant were definitely a team and a lot of fun. We felt so welcomed in her home. We made great friends and memories during our stay. We highly recommend staying at the Fox Trot and will definitely plan another stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1520 Garrett Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Butcher House in the Mountains)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the trees at the crest of the mountain, the Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast offers spectacular views of Mt. Leconte and the Great Smoky Mountains. Rooms and suites feature king-sized beds, private baths, plush towels, robes, wireless internet, TV/VCR/DVD, and telephones. A professional chef prepares your multi-course breakfast and afternoon snacks. The Foxtrot is minutes from dining, skiing, hiking, shopping, golf, and other Smoky Mountain activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Foxtrot Hotel Gatlinburg
The Foxtrot b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.