We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1520 Garrett Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Butcher House in the Mountains)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Gatlinburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Perfect Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a great trip and the bed and breakfast couldnt have been better. The view, location, amazing food, kindness, and knowledge was all perfect. They really did absolutely everything they could for us to make us feel at home and have a good trip. We will go back again for sure and cant say enough about this bed and breakfast and about Bob/Shirley.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    5
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
85
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the Fox Trot B&B. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful! Our room and bath as well as the common areas were cozy, clean and beautifully decorated. Shirley and her assistant were definitely a team and a lot of fun. We felt so welcomed in her home. We made great friends and memories during our stay. We highly recommend staying at the Fox Trot and will definitely plan another stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We loved our stay with Bob and Shirley. The view was so beautiful from our room. For a B&B Bob and Shirley go the extra mile to make you comfortable and feel at home. Shirley is a fabolous cook. We love the extra touch of a cooking class. We would highly recommend a stay for anyone needing a getaway.

Room Tip: our room on the second floor had a beautiful view. We could lay in our bed with the bathroom french...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at The Foxtrot in early March 2013. Bob met us in the driveway when we arrived. He gave us the run down of the house, the breakfast schedule, and information about our room (the art is local, moonpies are local, etc). By the time we brought our luggage inside, the bed was turned down and ready to sleep in. The view from the kitchen was AMAZING!!!! We didn't have much of a view from our bedroom, but we didn't mind. Let me tell you, Shirley can cook!!!! We were there for breakfast 2 mornings. We basically didn't eat the rest of the day. The breakfast kept you full!!! Each day was different and it was 3 courses. We had baked grapefruit, apple pancakes (HUGE), and Italian creme burlee one day. It was amazing. Plenty of coffee, tea, juice, and water. Bob is a great story teller. He amused us with the Gatlinburg history as well as stories about how their B&B came about. The only bad part about staying here was the noise. I wouldn't say it was obnoxiously loud. However, once people were up and getting ready for breakfast, you knew it was time to get up. I didn't mind since we didn't want to be late for Shirley's amazing meals! We ended up buying the cookbook they offer too! We read the reviews on here and were quite surprised that people had such a problem with Bob praying before the meals. Who cares? It was short and he didn't preach at us. Anyway, we loved our trip here. We plan on going back when it is nice enough to hike.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This mountain chalet and all of its furnishings are all 1st class. Superbly managed and maintained small B&B. And you could not stay anywhere else where you would have a better view of the Smokey Mountains, a major reason anyone comes to this area. Shirley, is a school trained chef and it shows, the breakfast served each morning is absolutely wonderful, it would be worth going there for the food. If there are any negatives it is true you would not want to be looking for this place after dark due to very steep, very winding and confusing roads to get to the place so wise to arrive before dark. I noticed where one reviewer complained that the table setting was pretentious but that is not at all the case, rather the inn-keepers are attempting and succeeding at giving you the beyond the ordinary experience in everything they do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, LA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Bob and Shirley are very nice and kind. I appreciate the prayers before our gourmet breaksfest. Beautiful views and great food. They go the extra mile to provide outstanding custumer service! I strongly recommend this B&B for anyone needed a getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Wonderful! Clean! Beautifully Holiday Decor! Nice Inn keepers. Awesome food.My husband and I love this place. The Mountain view from the deck and the Lacont Sunrise suite was simply amazing. Very romantic place. We strongly suggest choosing this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1520 Garrett Lane, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Butcher House in the Mountains)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the trees at the crest of the mountain, the Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast offers spectacular views of Mt. Leconte and the Great Smoky Mountains. Rooms and suites feature king-sized beds, private baths, plush towels, robes, wireless internet, TV/VCR/DVD, and telephones. A professional chef prepares your multi-course breakfast and afternoon snacks. The Foxtrot is minutes from dining, skiing, hiking, shopping, golf, and other Smoky Mountain activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Foxtrot Hotel Gatlinburg
The Foxtrot b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.