We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for the money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel to your Saves list
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   840 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay for the money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I just stayed (June 2013) here for a couple days for our anniversary (Friday and Saturday night) and we really enjoyed it. Upon walking in at 8 p.m. we were nicely greeted, quickly processed, and offered free fresh baked cookies that they offer from 4-8 nightly.. Walking into the room it is exactly as shown in the pictures, real nice and cozy decor. I loved the convenience of the hotel to the strip! The only time we used my car was to drive to Pigeon Forge to go ziplining.. but even then trolley was an option. It is right beside the Peddler and a VERY short walk to Bennett's BBQ/Ober lift place. Opening the streamview door all you can hear is gushing water, it was very relaxing and had a decent area to sit and relax. We were able to connect to the wi-fi and it worked well. We saw the pool/lazy river/fire pit area, but didnt use it. It was smaller than most, but who comes to Gatlinburg to swim?? It looked very nice though. But... with the good there must be some not so good. Id say the downfalls for me were 1. The bed- my husband and I woke up sore both nights. Im not sure why. They are comfy when you go to sleep, just not when you wake up. 2.The breakfast- Although what the gravy and biscuit was good, there wasnt much to chose from. The breakfast area was small and not set up well so you constantly bumped into people. 3. For us it didnt bother, but some people wouldnt like the view of a vacant hotel from the patio. Overall I would consider this place again if need be, but will try somewhere else for a better bed. Sadly, with everything being so good..the bed is the deal breaker for me :(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    230
    100
    56
    41
See reviews for
210
269
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Claus, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We really loved the location being almost out of town. It is still walking distance from all good attractions. The trolley stops right out front for those not able to walk far. Great restaurants within a block as well as other shops including the general store. Room is decent size for 4. I am not sure the river view and balcony are worth the extra money as there is no view of the mountains. There is a deserted lodge across the river that is becoming an eye sore. Great staff, amenities. Breakfast is served until 10 am which was better for my teens. I would change the chairs in the rooms to be a little more comfortable. Add a recliner and larger table. The breakfast room is on the 3rd floor and work out room on the 5th. Important to know I think if you get a choice of floors. Pool and lazy river much smaller than I thought it would be but we stayed too busy to swim.

Room Tip: Avoid river view. Breakfast on 3rd floor and work out room on 5th. Pool is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazard, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel was beautiful! The staff are super friendly and the lazy river and pool are as warm as bath water. The beds and pillows were also very comfortable and the kids loved making their own waffles at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had seen Bearskin Lodge from a previous trip to Gatlinburg, and wanted to try it out; I am sure glad we did.
My wife and I, along with her parents stayed in May 2013 for my wife's Birthday. We had a very spacious room with a fireplace and a balcony overlooking the stream. We were on the 3rd floor which was the perfect height for viewing the stream. We left the door to our balcony open for most of the evening and listened to the water, it was great! Glad we had perfect weather to do that too!

Room Tip: 3rd floor stream view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nice large room with balcony overlooking stream. Continental breakfast had everything you would want. Well within walking distance of main street Gatlinburg. Staff was very friendly and helpful with directions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were looking for a nice place to stay by the river but also close to town within walking distance. This was the place! I’m so glad we found it, we stayed for 4 nights and we were on the second floor. Never had any problems with hearing other rooms or people in the hallway. We were on the left end so it was next to the road but with all the activities to do in Gatlinburg you’re too exhausted to notice any noise when you get back. Plus, being on the end you get a river view in the back and a mountain view in the front. We also upgraded the room to the balcony view of the river that also comes with a fireplace and Jacuzzi. Our room was very clean and spacious, and the mini fridge was nice for keeping drinks and snacks cold from the drive or from places we bought from in Gatlinburg. We really could not have found a better place to stay. Our next trip to Gatlinburg will be with the Bearskin Lodge again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna Tn
Level Contributor
96 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights we had a view on the river it sure was nice. They have free breakfast that was good. They have a lazy river and a swimming pool. The room was very clean we stayed in room 216.

Room Tip: Get a riverside view room 216.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Address: 840 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#17 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Despegar.com so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.