We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel to your Saves list
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
840 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Maplesville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a beautiful property. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Clean room, comfortable bed, nice balcony. The only downside to the hotel is the size of the breakfast room and the breakfast itself. It really left a lot to be desired, so we had to go out for breakfast each morning. Other than that we had a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    213
    93
    54
    40
See reviews for
193
233
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Gburg with her parents and we wanted to stay close to the strip. We settled on this hotel even though there were some bad reviews.
Glad we did! We chose the King on the river with jacuzzi and fireplace. The room was very spacious and had been updated recently. The fireplace in the corner is a very nice touch. I did not care for the 30 minute timer that they placed on it but i do understand why it is on there. It actually will warm the room very well. We thought the bed was quite comfortable and slept nicely. I think the TV would be better mounted on the wall up a bit higher. There are plenty of chairs available to use in the room too.
The balcony is small but nice. There was plenty of room for us to sit out and listen to the river run. The hotel across the river will become an issue at some point I'm sure but it did not bother us or our stay.
The breakfast is the typical continental type you will find in hotels. It was good and sure beat leaving to pay for a busy restaurant. They had some fruit too.
Location was great. It is one road off the main strip so you can leave your car and walk everywhere!
Try it...I think you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

At the very end of "the strip" in Gatlinburg, you'll find the mountainesque Bearskin Lodge located on the river. The winter rates are a bargain. We go for several days in February for our anniversary. Though the lobby is small, the photo ops are plentiful. Many rooms have in-room whirlpool tubs and fireplaces-cozy, & relaxing. The rooms are nice, always clean, & spacious. Breakfast is included. You can walk next door to the Peddler Steakhouse-not to be missed.
Looking forward to our trip next year!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We wanted to do a mini vacation and chose Gatlinburg. I always look at TA before choosing a hotel and this one was #22. The upside...it was clean, a great price and very convenient for walking around town, a little off the main drag, which was great. The downside...service was awful; we had a corner room overlooking the river that also was in direct view of a "Family" hotel sign and hotel that was closed down; and the breakfast area was overcrowded and a cramped little room. The video on the site had to be done by a master to make that place look bigger and much more amazing than real life. There was absolutely no place to sit and relax when you weren't in your room.

Room Tip: If you like the sound/view of water, ask for a room overlooking the river that does not also have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We really liked the place, very comfortable and friendly staff. My children enjoyed the decor, the fresh baked cookies.Now they are going to talk about this vacation and Bear decor with their friends in Mi.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The pictures are extremely misleading. This place feels more like a cramped hotel than a lodge. 1 person working the counter and 4 families waiting in a 5 ft by 10 ft area to be checked in. The room itself was decent size with a little fridge, flat screen tv, but smelled extremely musty and just gross also was given a room with adjoining access when I only need 1 room and the family checking in in front of me who needed 2 rooms were told they could not have adjoining rooms. Front desk and sitting area is really really small. Pool is small. The hallways are cramped constantly filled with huge cleaning carts and trash bags hanging off them. The breakfast area would be decent if there was 8 people in there at a time, but apparently one tiny area serves multiple floors. Very crowded, literally no where to sit was 20-30 people in there on a Thurs morning. Would not stay there again just overall cramped feel to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great time of year to go for Spring Break! Ober Gatlinburg was still open that weekend and the tram to Ober is within walking distance. The Peddler Steakhouse is right next door and they have call ahead seating. The maid staff was very attentive and the free breakfast was reasonable. Better to go to the Pancake Pantry which is fairly reasonable walk (3/4mi) away.
My Wife was suffering from sciatica at the time and one of the Ladies working the front desk allowed us to borrow one of the rocking chairs from the front porch.
Bring stuff to make smores with and ask the staff to turn on the natural-gas fire pits by the swimming pool! Bring your own marshmallow sticks.
We intend to return Either this Fall for the fall color or New Years to see the ball drop from the Space Needle.

Room Tip: Ask for a two queen room with whirlpool bath overlooking the river. Those rooms will have more "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Address: 840 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.