We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, clean, comfy, decently priced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel to your Saves list
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
840 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Lenox, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location, clean, comfy, decently priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times since they have opened. It's clean, so that's my main issue with hotels. The location is perfect because it is literally only about a quarter of a mile from the actual Smoky Mountain Park entrance, and walking distance from all the shops and restaurants as well. The hotel is on the river, so if you pay a little extra you can have a room with a balcony that looks over the river. It's really nice to have the sound of the river flowing outside your room. There is a free continental breakfast (bagels, cereal, oatmeal, waffles, biscuits/gravy, fruit, muffins etc.) which is always nice when you're on vacation, since you have to spend so much money on eating out typically. The beds are comfy, the room is up to date and modernized, and the price is perfect! Even in the in season, the prices aren't terrible. There is a pool outside, no on site restaurant, no fitness center, no indoor pool, nice little lobby with a fireplace, plenty of parking (which you don't have to pay extra for), and overall just a nice stay. The staff was friendly as well :) I wouldn't even look elsewhere when staying in Gatlinburg. It really is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you don't mind spending a little extra, the balcony rooms over the river are nice :) Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Director of Sales at Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a moment to tell us and others about your experience at Bearskin Lodge. We appreciate guests like you very much! You're right,...the balcony rooms are a nice touch for a vacation in the mountains! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    223
    99
    55
    40
See reviews for
204
253
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Peoria, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here during our winter vacation. We got the weekday rate plus a special winter rate which resulted in a $30/night room rate. The room was spacious, clean and the log trimmed furniture and log cabin theme was a really cool plus. With the red trolley stopping right in front of the lodge that added convienience was a plus. I would probably rate the lodge as 4-1/2 stars if possible. The only thing that is keeping me from giving them 5 stars is the dining area. For a hotel this size it is not large enough. Even on the off season it was pretty crowded at times with not enough seating. I would definately recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in a clean, in town hotel close to attractions and would consider staying there again sometime.

Room Tip: One minor complaint. If you stay in room 201 this room is right above the A/C units. I don't l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just got back from our weekend stay at Bearskin Lodge on the River and I must say we are incredibly impressed. It was definitely one of the nicer hotel rooms we have stayed in. We stayed in a queen suite with a balcony, fireplace and whirlpool tub. It was very clean and very peaceful. Staff was great. Atmosphere was very cabin-like. It was our first time staying here, and we would definitely come back again. We did not utilize the free breakfast and it was way too cold to use their outdoor pool, but overall I am so pleased with this property and I would definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

we stayed in a king room with fireplace and whirlpool tub, loved the balcony,we left the door to the balcony cracked all nite long so we could listen to the river, it was so peaceful. we would stay here again for sure. make sure you try the wild boar saloon they have the best food on the strip

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwood
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for a good breakfast-nope, just the bread, cereal and donuts and coffee! If you are looking for exercise-nope! But the rooms are very clean and the creek provided a nice sound and view, the fireplace was extra nice but was on a 30 minute timer so I had to keep getting up to turn it back on. Nice location, no restaurant inside but there were several down the street. Also the "fresh baked cookies" they provide daily just amounts to approximately 24 and when they are gone, it is so sorry. We were there 3 nights and only able to get cookies 1 time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our family of 5 had a very nice time on a Smokey Mt. Adventure in July of 2011. This lodge was a great find. Comfortable, affordable and a good location for horse back riding, white water rafting, music and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowan, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for three nights and the room was large, bed was very comfy and the river side balcony view was great. I would suggest to stay in room 519-521 as to not have to look at the back of the empty hotel across the river. The staff was very nice especially Jess. The location is excellent for walking and The Peddler restaurant next door is a must (pricey) but worth it. We will stay at the Bearskin again!!

Room Tip: Stay in room 520 or 521
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Director of Sales at Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Bearskin Lodge. Thank you for taking a moment to write a response. Happy Belated Anniversary...and we would love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Address: 840 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#21 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.