We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its still ok !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel to your Saves list
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
840 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Murphy, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Its still ok !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I stay at Bearskin every trip to Gatlinburg.. At least once or twice a year..We just got back from a 2 night stay..It is still nice, clean, and the lady at the desk the night we checked in was very helpful .. The free breakfast is still good..No meat but, you can get a waffle or biscuit and gravy thats hot along with the usual cereal, muffins etc.. The lady working it kept it real clean and well stocked..We recommend a room on creek with a in room whirlpool..We really enjoyed it :)... It is a little dated and could use a little TLC but, the location makes all worth while..

Room Tip: On the creek with a in room whirlpool..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    213
    92
    53
    40
See reviews for
193
233
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend get away and had an awesome time. I originally booked a 2 queen room because of the better rate but upon check in asked if they could accommodate me with a king, the front desk attendant was wonderful, not only was she able to get me in a king room at the same rate but upgraded me to a jacuzzi room! The rooms are very clean and comfortable and very spacious. They have a nice breakfast on the 3rd floor with the usual fare and make your own waffles and biscuits and gravy. The location can't be beat either, it's 300 yards from the strip and everything is very walkable which I recommend because of the traffic. I very much enjoyed my stay at the bearskin lodge and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We made a wrong turn in the Great Smokies and ended up in Gatlinburg, TN. This is an amazing location for a variety of reasons, not to mention the proximity of DollyWood. We found a local winery that offered free wine tasting and they directed us to the Bearskin Lodge for the evening. We got a suite which offered a fireplace, jacuzzi and balcony overlooking the river. This could not have been a more romantic or idyllic opportunity to enjoy some down time and renew your "connections" with your spouse or significant other. The rooms are spacious and the amenities are placed so that you aren't tripping over each other. The staff is very accommodating and the proximity to the local eateries make this an ideal location to spend a few days. While one would expect to pay considerably for this luxury, the per night rate was quite reasonable for this type of accommodation. This is certainly a place to spend some quality time.

Room Tip: Go for the best and get the jacuzzi suite with the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a group reservation under one name/charge account that was quickly divided into separate accounts upon arrival in a very accommodating way--which so many facilities are not inclined to do. The staff helped us with so many reservations/tickets for many attractions and were able to obtain discounts for us when available. Our rooms were spacious (two queens beds) and offered gas fireplaces and small balconies on the river. Parking was free--Yay! and covered parking was readily available. The location was perfect--across the street from the entrance to the park, offering a 3 mile jog to and from the ranger station--and also offered walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Traffic in Gatlinburg and to/from neighboring towns is awful so this is very important.

Room Tip: It's so nice to have a fireplace in your room and also two beds for increased room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were looking for a hotel where the slightest opening of a balcony door would allow us to hear the babbling brook, and the promotional materials for Bearskin mentioned that very early. One thing we learned, from our 5th story rooms, the babbling brook was very faint. When we return to the Bearskin--and we certainly will--we'll ask for rooms on the 1st or 2nd story. (The rather generous complimentary breakfast is on the 3rd floor, but that location is easily approached from any level.) The hosts at the desk were very informative about attractions and special events as well as recommended restaurants. I must insert here that the prime reason for selecting Bearskin Lodge is its proximity to Peddler's Steak House right next door. A meal there is as much an element of our Gatlinburg stay as the city itself. After our Friday night meal, we returned to enjoy conversing with other guests, warmed by the provided fire pit inside the swimming pool area out front. In late October, the fire kept us at least warm enough for a brief conversation. As another assistance the hosts provided a catalog of discounts. Gatlinburg has never claimed match the bargains of Pigeon Forge, but for us, ambiance is worth the price. We received one reduction for AAA. There is also one for senior citizens and during check-out we were informed that "repeat customers pay 15% less." We'll remind them of that next time we arrive! All in all a very pleasant place to explore the delights of Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We needed a room for one night while staying in the area. We wanted to stay at the Riverhouse, but they had no rooms available. The hotel and parking area were clean. The parking spaces were a bit narrow. The room was clean and decent enough, no bed bugs. They had a free breakfast, but we did not use that. Price was about $110, for mid October isn't horrible, but in a normal highway hotel in an average town this would have been high. The person that check us in wasn't very friendly, but everyone else was.

The hotel is at the south end of Gatlinburg so convenient to the Park and Obergatlinburg. A bit far for most to walk to the main part of the strip where the chair lift, etc are. It is close to Bennetts BBQ which I always like. As another user mentioned it is a block of the main drag so your city view is of the back of the gas station.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have a balcony. Those rooms were offered to us for $160. They do have some rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in April for our spring break in an effort to do something different than the beach. We had a great time. Friendly hotel staff and clean rooms. Rooms were on the smaller side for a family of four. Heated outdoor pool was open and kids had a blast while we sat poolside with some wine with outdoor fire pit going. Great location as it was a bit away from the main drag, but was close enough to walk to without having all the noise. Great restaurants nearby. Morning breakfast staff were really nice and welcoming. Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a family vacation. Only suggestion would be to not go during the week of the car show, as we missed our reservation for the Dixie Stampede because we were completely deadlocked in traffic. Dixie Stampede was wonderful to work with though and offered us the option of seeing a later show or a refund. We opted for the later show and had a blast!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Address: 840 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.