We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel to your Saves list
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
840 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Jackson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“pretty good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

It is true the pictures make everything look a lot bigger at this hotel. The rooms are nice fireplace and all. One thing I couldn't understand is why they put the jacuzzi tub in the room next to two queen beds, hmmm and not in the bathroom?? I would understand if it was a single room out in the open but in the middle of a double room? Do they expect everyone in the room to use it in view of each other lol?? Didn't get to enjoy that amenity. Everything was clean and well kept, kind of pricy. Staff not that friendly. Expected a little more for the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    213
    91
    53
    39
See reviews for
191
233
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Everything online about this hotel make it appear bigger than it is, i think the photos have been stretched. The rooms don't have a place for luggage. There are two uncomfortable chairs made of twigs, so it's not comfortable for sitting in your room at all. The tv is level with the bed so it's impossible to lay in bed and watch it. No cups for coffee or water. And worse of all the room smells like cheap cleaner. The smell is overwhelmingly strong. Small cheap pillows and comforters that smell and are worn. Pillow covers on over sized pillows smell sweaty. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you are interested in hiking this hotel couldn't be closer to the entrance of Smokey Mountain National Park. If you're expecting "Disney Wilderness Lodge" you will be disappointed. However, the hotel has a lodge atmosphere and our room was clean and pleasant. Much to my surprise there was a jetted tub in the room to ease aching muscles from a day of hiking, a gas fireplace for a chilly evening and a balcony with furniture to enjoy happy hour. Included was a free breakfast that was decent. The hotel has a small pool, a lazy river (lots of fun) and fire pits for the evening.

I am not a fan of Gatlinburg but I would recommend the hotel - close to the greatest hiking on the east coast!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the "river."
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We wnt back to the bearskin lodge on the river. Because of the friendly people. And clean large rooms. thanks bearskin lodge for a great second time at your place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We really enjoyed it here. The location is very nice - it's at the end of Gatlinburg nearest the park entrance, but off of the main street. Right next to gas, the park, and within walking distance of pretty much anything there. The continental breakfast was pretty good - waffles, muffins, yogurt, coffee. The view isn't absolutely stellar, but to be honest we didn't feel the need to look out the window with such a comfortable room (bathroom included - to be honest I wanted to take the tub home with me). Staff was helpful, everything was quiet. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The Lodge is very inviting from the outside. The staff member at the desk was very friendly & let us know a few deals we could get that day at some local places if we were interested. It is nice on this inside, but nothing overly grand. When we got to our room, we were surprised by how large it was in comparison to other hotels rooms we have stayed in recently. The room was clean, which is the most important thing to me. You can tell it has been around for a few years though. Each room has a fireplace, we didn't need to use ours as it was in the 80's. We also had a nice small balcony where we could sit and listen to the stream out back. The lodge is off the main road, so we didn't feel like we were in the middle of everything, but we could easily walk to everything.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Nothing like going to sleep with the fire place on and the door open listening to the stream. Location in Gatlinburg is awesome - never have to get back in the car at all. At the very end of Gatlinburg before the national forest, a little out of the really busy side - but a very short walk to many of the best restaraunts. Peddler right next door is great Steak house. Walk straight out the front of the hotel toward the main strip and there is a Winery and a wonderful Mom and Pop Country Store that has great kitchen for quick bites and snacks.
Moonshine distillery is a very short walk and has many flavors and free samples - huge store with all kinds of gifts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Address: 840 River Rd., Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#18 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel On The River
Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee
Bearskin Lodge On The River Gatlinburg Tn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.