We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a rip-off!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ober Gatlinburg Ski Resort & Amusement Park

Ober Gatlinburg Ski Resort & Amusement Park
1001 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
+1 865-436-5423
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 50 Activities in Gatlinburg
Type: Trams, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Sports
Activities: Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From downtown Gatlinburg, hop on to the 120 passenger aerial tramway for a ride to this ski area with a 600-foot vertical drop, nine beautiful trails and an amusement park complete with indoor ice skating, wildlife encounter, Alpine Slide, water rides and more.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“What a rip-off!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We paid $40 for a family of 4 to ride the tram to the top of the mountain, then another $30 for a one-minute ride down the alpine slide. The kids wanted to do the maze, which was another $15, and it was way too easy for a 10 year old. Other than that, there was nothing else to do. This place is run-down and way too much money for so little entertainment.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    248
    224
    118
    160
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place if you have kids.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was always something we did when I was kid and we came to Gatlinburg. There is something for everyone. You can go ice skating, ride the alpine slide, shop, or eat. There have been more attractions since the last time I visited so you have even more options. I also suggest taking the tram up has you get to see the city from the air.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Have to agree with all of the negative reviews”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Have to agree with all of the negative reviews, for years (since I was a kid) we have been coming to Gatlinburg / Ober Gatlinburg. Each time I have come in the last 15 years I ask myself "why do I come back here?" This place is run down / broke down - some (not all) very rude, bad mouthed employees. Think Its time to find another family destination to spend our $$$$$

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OctOber snooze fest”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent the $20 to ride the tram up to Ober Gatlinburg after hearing some recommendations for it. The tram goes up for the last time at 9pm and comes back down for the last time at 9:40pm. I mistakenly thought that would mean the rest of Ober Gatlinburg would be open. My husband and I rode the tram up just before 7pm (Note that this is a friday night and everything in gatlinburg is still open) only to find the entire park in the process of closing down. Shops were locking doors, the man at the arcade told us to please leave, the chairlift was off, the zoo exhibit was also closed, the alpine slide was closed. . .you get the picture. The tram was still carting people up to the resort, and leaving them with _nothing_ to do. Oh and the "octOberfest"? It basically amounted to posters everywhere that said Octoberfest! That was it. We tried to leave, but ended up waiting 40 minutes to get on the tram down. In total I would say it was a colossal waste of time and I really regret going. If you decide to go anyway, please be aware that you will pay separately for every single thing you want to do. Tram ride? $10 a person. Alpine slide? ~7 per person. Chair lift to the actual top of the mountain (where the real mountain views are) another ~3 per person.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not bad, could use some improvements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We checked out Ober Gatlinburg today, As many times as we have been to the area, we had never went up the mountain to ober, so today we decided to check it out, We left fairly pleased, Some things that we did enjoy were the scenic views from the parking lot, that overlooks gatlinburg, You can take the Tramway up the mountain from gatlinburg, however, we elected to drive up, I must say, they have a pretty nice little place up their. The Animal habitats, was probably our favorite, they have about 5 bears, 2 of them born this year (Very Cute) the habitats were fairly clean, they could have used a little tidying up, but not bad, dont expect alotta animals here though, a few bears, and some otters, a few birds and some snakes and fish, and thats about it. So dont be expecting the Knoxville Zoo, or you will be disappointed. They have a nice Indoor Ice skating rink, and outside they have a water slide, and some kiddie rides. Back inside, they have a beautiful carousel , and several places to eat, they have many places to just sit and relax, they also have many gift shops, which we thought were pretty pricey, everything up here seemed substantially more expensive than it would have cost in the gift shops down in town. If you drive up, be prepared to pay a 5 dollar parking fee, and remember, alotta things you do inside and out, require an additional fee, so be prepared to spend a few bucks when you go up. Overall, we enjoyed our time at Ober Gatlinburg, and will probably return at some point for some Ice skating. Id Recommend to anyone!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ober Gatlinburg Ski Resort & Amusement Park also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ober Gatlinburg Ski Resort & Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ober Gatlinburg Ski Resort & Amusement Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.