We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum

Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum
800 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
865-436-5096
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #40 of 65 attractions in Gatlinburg
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Experience the Odd & Unusual! Explore the NEW Rooms & Exhibits from Around the World! 3 Stories of Over 500 Amazing Exhibits in this Interactive, Family Fun Odditorium. Inspired the Hit TV Show and Internationally Famous!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We purchased a pass for 3 Ripley's attractions. It was pricey. We enjoyed the aquarium and the Oddities museum but we were not impressed with the World Record Museum. Although Ripley's is interesting, I just think it was too expensive. My children had wax hands made in the Oddities Museum and loved it. The young man, Gabe, did a great job and was very friendly.
If you go to the Ripley's Museums, just really do some research. Some are better than others.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    138
    148
    53
    42
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty cool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Learned some interesting things but seemed like the place needed a good cleaning, some rooms smelled like garbage, otherwise it was interesting

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cool but creepy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My nine year old was so excited to go here but once inside both of my children were creeped out. Dark rooms, scary looking things and way too much reading for little ones. I think it was $60 for my family of four and we weren't there 30 minutes because the kids rushed through. Don't think I'll go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wasn't worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had $3.00 off per person coupons, so we decided to visit. My kids did have fun, but I thought the place was not to interesting. There are a couple of funny "surprises" there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“wow, what a joke”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have wanted to visit this place for awhile now. I really enjoy this kind of stuff and I was so disappointed. I thought I would see more real stuff that would shock you and instead it was just a bunch of stories and not a lot to see. I didn't find it exciting/interesting at all. Please don't waste your money.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum to your Saves list