We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Aquarium For Sure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
88 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
+1 888-240-1358
Website
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #7 of 63 attractions in Gatlinburg
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: ALL NEW! LIMITED ENGAGEMENT! SLIME! See Animals & Creatures and how they use slime, Touch Jellyfish and more in this Innovative & Interactive Exhibit! Marvel at 12-foot sharks, the giant sea turtle, thousands of exotic sea creatures and playful penguins swimming as you enjoy the State-of-the-Art Clear Underwater Tunnels throughout the Aquarium! An Ultimate Underwater Experience without being wet! Explore many unique underwater worlds and the Best Shark Exhibit in the Most Spectacular Underwater Tunnel. Enjoy entertaining dive and feeding shows. Pet horseshoe crabs and stingrays. Enjoy playful penguins swimming, pop up on the penguins' private beach and get nose-to-beak. Fun-Filled family experience and MUCH MORE!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Aquarium For Sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was definitly the best aquarium I've been to. Better than the one in Chicago. This is a must see if you are in Gatlinburg!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,218
    910
    235
    39
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to pass time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We came here on a rainy day but we weren't the only ones. The place was packed an we didn't get to see everything. The shark aquarium was pretty awesome. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Lake, WI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well worth the time and money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Visited out of curiosity and was very happy I did. There is a big variety of fish and sea creatures including rays, coral, sharks, eels and penguins. You walk through at your own pace and take as much time as you like to see and watch. The shark tank is amazing. My favorite was the rays. It is a great place to take the family. The price was $25, but it was worth it. There was so much to see. There is also a little snack area, with beverages, sandwiches, and ice cream, and a gift shop. It is not crowded and very well done.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“VERY WELL DONE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

if you have been to gatlinburg before, you know there are lots of different ways to part with your money. when we took the grandkids to the aquarium, i was not expecting much, and was pleasantly surprised!!!!! you can spend 1.5 - 2 hours. we went mid-march, mid-week, right when it opened....the crowd size was comfortable. by the time we were leaving 90 minutes later, it was certainly picking up.
i'm not sure the kids realized it, but we adults were super impressed with the 'slow walk thru the shark tank' (people mover rides thru glass enclosed area).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, even for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Couldn't believe it was $25/adult, but was pleasantly surprised. The underwater shark/ray/turtle exhibit was spectacular. Take in the "reef dive" presentation. Very informative and fun.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.