We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY WELL DONE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
88 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
+1 888-240-1358
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #4 of 48 Attractions in Gatlinburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ALL NEW! LIMITED ENGAGEMENT! SLIME! See Animals & Creatures and how they use slime, Touch Jellyfish and more in this Innovative & Interactive Exhibit! Marvel at 12-foot sharks, the giant sea turtle, thousands of exotic sea creatures and playful penguins swimming as you enjoy the State-of-the-Art Clear Underwater Tunnels throughout the Aquarium! An Ultimate Underwater Experience without being wet! Explore many unique underwater worlds and the Best Shark Exhibit in the Most Spectacular Underwater Tunnel. Enjoy entertaining dive and feeding shows. Pet horseshoe crabs and stingrays. Enjoy playful penguins swimming, pop up on the penguins' private beach and get nose-to-beak. Fun-Filled family experience and MUCH MORE!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“VERY WELL DONE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

if you have been to gatlinburg before, you know there are lots of different ways to part with your money. when we took the grandkids to the aquarium, i was not expecting much, and was pleasantly surprised!!!!! you can spend 1.5 - 2 hours. we went mid-march, mid-week, right when it opened....the crowd size was comfortable. by the time we were leaving 90 minutes later, it was certainly picking up.
i'm not sure the kids realized it, but we adults were super impressed with the 'slow walk thru the shark tank' (people mover rides thru glass enclosed area).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,926
    1,200
    315
    51
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, even for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Couldn't believe it was $25/adult, but was pleasantly surprised. The underwater shark/ray/turtle exhibit was spectacular. Take in the "reef dive" presentation. Very informative and fun.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun for the whole family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Well worth the headache of the traffic and crowds in Gatlinburg. My son loves fish and could go there each and every day! We love to spend an afternoon at the aquarium!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun But Crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies was a beautiful aquarium but extremely crowded. We visited during the off season and still barely had enough room to move around. Beside being packed like sardines the smell when you first walk in is nauseating. I'm not sure if it goes away farther in or if you simply get used to it. I just hope we didn't leave smelling like the place. Other than being overly crowded and foul smelling there are some really amazing creatures featured. I'm not sure if I would personally consider this the #1 aquarium but it was definately worth checking out just make sure you give yourself plenty of time to wait through the crowds if you actually want to experience it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome for the kids!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Although it was quite expensive, we had a great time here. They took excellent care of the fish and animals here. The aquarium was just amazing!! Lots of great things to see here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.