We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
88 River Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
+1 888-240-1358
Website
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #7 of 64 attractions in Gatlinburg
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: ALL NEW! LIMITED ENGAGEMENT! SLIME! See Animals & Creatures and how they use slime, Touch Jellyfish and more in this Innovative & Interactive Exhibit! Marvel at 12-foot sharks, the giant sea turtle, thousands of exotic sea creatures and playful penguins swimming as you enjoy the State-of-the-Art Clear Underwater Tunnels throughout the Aquarium! An Ultimate Underwater Experience without being wet! Explore many unique underwater worlds and the Best Shark Exhibit in the Most Spectacular Underwater Tunnel. Enjoy entertaining dive and feeding shows. Pet horseshoe crabs and stingrays. Enjoy playful penguins swimming, pop up on the penguins' private beach and get nose-to-beak. Fun-Filled family experience and MUCH MORE!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Jasper, IN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Seeing all the fish in the Aquarium was lots of fun, plus the parking was nice because you can park there for the rest of the day and still only be charged a flat rate.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,229
    917
    237
    39
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility, great for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went to the aquarium while on a family vacation with our 7 month old daughter (my brother was there with his 16 month old daughter as well). Both girls were able to enjoy it and there was no cost for either of them. Overall, I'd say its a bit pricey ($25 per adult) but as a one-off it was worth seeing. We really enjoyed the sharks lagoon and the music playing in the background was so relaxing. Our daughter loved the penguins especially the tunnel out into the middle of their enclosure. She got a big kick out of the pods in the kids area the let you go up into the middle of the fish tanks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was probably the highlight of my trip. Only downfall was the screaming children who were visiting from schools. I enjoyed everything about the aquarium. It was amazing to see divers in the shark lagoon. As an adult, I still love to visit a good aquarium and this is probably the best I have been to!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We drove out of our way on way back from Florida to Michigan to visit this aquarium. I went several years and it is still by far one of the best aquariums I've been to. Love the shark tanks, rays, fish-you can even hold a horseshoe crab :) had a great time!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great time and worth the price. Lots of exotic fish! The shark tunnel is informative and amazing. I would recommend to anyone with interest in this kind of thing. I would go again myself!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies to your Saves list